You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shame and fear of who we have been. Why?

in #psychology8 years ago

My mother used to be so strict with me. Being the oldest child, I've come to realize that I "broke them in" and made the path a little easier for my younger siblings. I have very vivid memories of my mother insisting I didn't wear makeup until I was 18...and forget about red nail polish. That was for hookers. But one day I forgot to wash my face before I came home from school (i'd bought a little eye-shadow and liner). When mom saw me she was just staring...and I thought, okay, I'm gonna get belted. Turns out she actually complimented my makeup because I didn't cake it on. It was very subtle. Now, I know this is very different than showing skin, especially when it's culturally ingrained - but at some point you all have to cut the umbilical cord (it goes both ways between parent and child).
One conversation I had with my father when my kids were young and I seemed to be doing everything wrong by the words coming out of his mouth. I'd had enough so I told him that I loved him but they're MY KIDS (insert my house, my clothes, my whatever...) I also told him his only responsibility was to love them because he already did his job raising me. Well, he didn't like those words at first but he chewed on them and accepted it. And believe me when I say I was scared to death of his rejection, but I had to be willing to let him go in order to forge my own path. And you know, he made the choice to stay in my life the way I was developing it.
I guess what I'm trying to say is: Be yourself. Your parents' reaction is on them and it would be their decision to remove themselves from your life. The risk is being ostracized - but the reward may be acceptance of the real you. Risk v. Reward. Only you can decide the next step.
ps - I love your beautiful soul.

Sort:  

You have an incredible ability to put me at ease. Thank you for this. It is difficult not to shoulder their burdens, but these issues are theirs, and you're right--I can choose to not let them be mine. I find that with every pain comes beauty.

In my case, I felt like I was drowning and the only way for me to survive was to be willing to cut them out of my life. I was at a point where I felt like I had to. And I was lucky and blessed that they were not willing to let me go...but that was when I was allowed to make the rules. But that willingness to let go...that, for me was bottom-line survival for my well-being.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67