Mini Motivation #17 - What goals should you be quitting on?

in #psychology6 years ago

You're told to set goals. Checked.

You're told to work hard at your goals. Checked.

You're told not to give up. Checked.

But what if you suck at it?

That's where milestones and review dates come in, which is something a lot of people don't do. So if you set a goal to lose 5kgs in 10 weeks, and you designed a diet and workout plan for it. Having a milestone means on a weekly basis, you'll take your weight at least once.

No changes by week 2? Probably too early for the changes to set it.

No changes by week 4? Ok, let's continue with the plan for a while longer.

But if by week 6 and there is no difference in weight, it's time to review the methods. It's not about quitting, it's just that perhaps you need a better plan, that's all.

Now, that may make sense to you, become the analogy is simple.

But what if you've got goals that are more complicated with more external factors? Like building a sustainable business in 6 months, or earning X amount of income on Steemit, or even reviving a failing relationship?

You set the milestones, and you knew you've missed them by a lot. And yet, because it's so personal, you decided to go at it. You tell yourself sensational stories of your heroes where success came in way past the last minute. That's the keyword there - sensational. And because quitting is not sensational.

That's taking the goal too personally.

If indeed you've evaluated your methods, and you've switched methods several times, and you've extended your deadline by a few times, then maybe quitting is an option. Maybe things just don't work out like you want it to be. There's no shame in it, but lots of learning. Take those learnings, and use them in the next endeavour.

My Master once told me, the moment I start myself on a goal, I should write a phrase on a piece of paper, and get someone to post it to myself 6 months later.

What's the phrase?

Is it still worth it?

So, about your goals… is it still worth it?

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3 minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD7, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

I give a lot of thought on your engagement on steem.
I have read a lot of ways to improve my posting here.
The key is consistency
Your approach is necessary for a lot of steemians to adopt and stay focus.
Keep on steemin'

Thanks. Yes, it's a habit I'm trying to build myself as well. So this marks day number 17. Another 4 more days and I'll decide if I'd like to continue the series and the practice. :)

I've made things simpler for myself, based on a principle my father had espoused several decades ago (didn't give it much thought back then due to the arrogance of youth): If something is now better than it once was, I'm doing something right. And therefore should continue with this.

I no longer look for "100% objective achieved"; it's fine if something isn't perfect. I'm grateful for "better". Lower standards, perhaps. But leaves a lot more time and inclination to stop and smell the roses.

Those are some wise words you dad gave you, @cendana287. Agree on smelling the roses too. The journey should always equally, if not more, exciting than the destination.

Have a good day!

Defining a goal with a plan to achieve it is the means to ensure success. The goal is not achieved for no reason. The reasons, the challenge of obstacles and the pursuit of a master plan are the ways to success.
It's the philosophy of life I work hard to do and earn
Thank you for your helpful publication

Good points there. Have a nice day :)

This article reminds me of the restaurant business my family is running. Its been 3 years now, but the business is not going anywhere. My dad love the restaurant very much and wouldn't let it go. When I asked him why, he told me that he enjoys watching and interacting with customers and friends old and new, even though not many came to dine there. So, i think if he thinks that it is worthy as it makes them happy, then it is worthy.

If the business is not making losses, and all expenses are being for, I think it's ok. Since he enjoys running it.

Maybe you can help him with the marketing bit. :)

Thank you. I should do that.

Is it still worth it?

Yes, that's the defining question for every decision that we make. If doing something isn't worthy anymore, and it doesn't matter to you what the outcome is - why bother doing it? If it does matter to you, then do it and do it right. Not just for the sake of doing it, because you don't know what else to do.

Well said there brother!

Some people like me has less goal, oni small goal like finish some task or go to travel, but how to find your real life big goal ?

Wow, that's a big question there, @glennkong, and I wouldn't want to be the one prescribing it to you.

Instead, a few questions that can help is:

  1. Legacy Question - When you're gone, what do you want to be known for?
  2. Purpose Question - What's something that launches you out of bed each day?
  3. Talent Question - What can I do on my worst day, but still better than others on their best day?
  4. Passion Question - What would you do well in, even if it's for free?

This one works for me as well "try and try, and if it didnt'work... quit" nice blog post @maverickfoo

Time is a commodity ;)

I love your "Is it still worth it?" phase. My version will be "why i started this?" I always plan and write it down either on physical paper or in Google Keep on things / goals that i want to achieve this year / resolution / etc.
So i put in detail roughly how i want to achieve, time frame to achieve it, what are the things i need in order to achieve this and that. Sometimes i just didnt achieve what i planned, and there are times i feel like quitting this goal / resolution like "oh well, maybe this isn't for me this time and lets do other stuff" kind of feeling.
What keep me going and back on track is this phase "why i started this?" and i like it very much till to the point i'm using it to my daily life (work + personal). I always ask myself "why i started this?" whenever i hit roadblock along the way. Most of the time the end result motivates me to keep going and never give up.

Thanks for sharing Maverick!

Nice! I think that's a good question because it forces you to focus on the purpose, the Why.

I like good your sharing. So @wefayss will give you 0.01 SBD :)

I would like to share with you a poem which I always read when I felt like quitting. Hope it's useful for you as it has for me.IMG_20180131_130230.png

Wow, thanks for sharing. Yes, indeed it's inspiring.

However, what if you're not making any progress in the endeavor? Should there be a time limit before pulling the plug? :)

When you already put your heart to achieving it, then there will be no time limit because deep inside you already have that burning desire to achieve it, something like a faith that you know you will achieve it but its just a matter of how determined are you. It may take 5 years, 10 years or 20 years..that's why they have all those motivational quotes to push you through the challenges that you may face along the way. How far are you willing to go or sacrifice to achieve your goal? That is entirely up to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56