What is the real value of money and how it relates to Maslow's hierarchy of needs

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Some people have an attitude that “money can’t buy happiness”, while other tend to advocate that “building a career and earning a lot of money should be a top priority since fun and leisure will always be there”. I believe that both of them are very wrong.

Let’s first tackle the first group. When we are hungry and we eat, we feel happiness. When we are cold and we put on our warm jacket or go inside our warm home, we feel happiness. When we can enjoy our hobbies (in my case the Argentinian Tango), we feel happiness. When we travel to an interesting destination of our choice, we most usually feel happiness. When we can feed, warm, and educate our child, we most usually feel happiness. These all cost money. Sure, you can’t go into a grocery shop or a pharmacy and buy three kilograms/pounds of happiness, but we most definitely can and do purchase things and services that make ourselves and our loved ones happy.

As per the second group: no, fun and leisure will not always be there. We have a limited time on this planet and we should not spend all or almost all of it chasing careers and money. Moreover, many activities can only be enjoyed at a young and middle age.

Now that we have (hopefully) written off these extremes, let’s talk about where the optimum is. I believe that, if our basic needs are not met, money can bring us much more happiness than if our basic needs are met. If someone who is penniless, homeless, hungry, dirty, sick, and unemployed receives $10,000 – enough to eat, go to a doctor, by a medicine, rent an apartment, take a bath, buy decent clothes, and look for a job – he will feel much more happiness and his life will objectively improve much more than if a millionaire receives a billion dollars. Thus, I would say that the value of money (from our personal point of view) should decrease exponentially with the amount of money that we already have.

I think that my opinion about the value of money is somewhat confirmed by Maslow's hierarchy of needs. The theory argues that until our physiological needs are met, they are our priority. Once/if they are met, our safety needs become a priority, etc.

Of course, it’s not all so black and white and the exact order might depend on the culture, but the underlying idea is widely accepted by the experts. Obviously, money can buy most of our physiological and safety needs, while it can help much less with our love and belonging, esteem, and self-actualization needs.

Thus, I would like to conclude this article with: give earning money a high priority until your physiological and safety needs are decently met, but after that, focus on enjoying life.

Please let me know:

  • How much valuable is money for you?
  • What are your priorities in life? No lying! : )
  • What do you think about Maslow's hierarchy of needs?

If you liked this post, then you would probably also like my recent article: Controlling dreams – how I managed to overcome my repeating nightmares.

Have a wonderful day, week, and life!

Disclaimer: I don't own any rights to the images used in this article. I just found them online and wanted to share them with you.

Sort:  

@lifenbeauty, I absolutely agree with you!

However I also think that the way you get the money is very important - if you earn money doing what you love, that money has much greater value than if you earn it doing something that is not any close to your real passion. So, if I earn writing an article about something I truly believe in, I feel very positive emotions about the money I get. And if I earn lots of money doing some boring statistical work, I feel negative emotions towards it, and I think like 'okay, it is just money'. :D

My priorities: having a nice family, doing what I love and having enough free time for hobbies, and having just enough - nice place to live, money for a nice life but not luxury. And of course if I would earn more, it would make me feel more powerful and probably happy about some things I could buy that I do not really need, but I think it is just an extra in life.

Maslow's hierarchy of needs is nice, but not absolutely universal. If we think about Nikola Tesla, for example, we can not implement it. Also many people don't really think about third, fourth, or fifth level. Some also skip some levels etc.

Some interesting thoughts about how the way we obtain money influenced its value. I can agree that it adds a layer of our perception and appreciation of the money obtained. : )

Nice priorities. It's hard for me to believe that some people don't really think about the third level, but, yes, the Tesla example proves that it can be skipped.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment, @katarinamiliv! : )

Personally I have never sought happiness as such, and I really care less about happiness than other things that I consider much more important, I do not know why, but for me happiness has never been a goal.

How much valuable is money for you?

The money for me is a means, depending on how much I need what I am going to buy with him, I will need the money proportionally. However, I think we all feel certain confidence and security to have a reserve of more or less large capital, as to meet basic needs and emergency.

What are your priorities in life? No lying! : )

Both the family and the objectives that I have set.

What do you think about Maslow's hierarchy of needs?

I think it's relatively accurate.

I believe that we all, consciously or unconsciously, have the goal of being happy. Maybe you're just achieving that goal through other goals; for example, taking care of the, or establishing a family and achieving other objectives you have set?

P.S. I like the new, historical feel of your profile and cover images. : )

Oh thank you very much! Yes, I think I needed a small change, I will try to do some different things.


It is likely that you achieve this goal through other things, as you say, however, when it is time to choose my priorities, happiness itself does not occupy a main position, but the duty or responsibilities are usually first for my.

I disagree with Maslow. I know people and myself included who would give EVERYTHING up for LOVE. Or maybe the hierarchy of needs is correct in terms of pain and importance but the purpose of our lives was never intended to be striving to get money or things or to take care of ourselves. Rather we should seek FIRST the LOVE and meaningful relationships and trust that the other things will get taken care of. Most rich folks have all of these EXCEPT love which is actually the only thing that lasts through this life.

Maslow doesn't say anything about money. It is just that in our society, we usually need money to get these things.

@lifenbeauty Love can be a way to guarantee that physiological needs are met. If we live in community, or pool our resources, we can meet many needs simultaneously and spend minimal effort pursuing money.

I agree. Unity and Community also leads to Immunity. We are so much stronger together than alone. I wrote this about unity between man and woman:
https://steemit.com/life/@cryptosphere/path-to-world-peace-man-and-woman-lion-and-lamb-fire-and-water-protestant-and-catholic-masons-and-monks

Good point, @soleil-research, thanks for expanding my thoughts! : )

Thank you for the comment, @cryptosphere. I agree that our purpose is not to strive to get money and things. That said, please note that if you give up literally everything (including air, water, and food) for love you will not get love because you will die

Maslow's hierarchy of needs should be considered rather literally - under physiological and safety needs, he is not talking about dining in expensive restaurants and owning a mansion with pool and security guards. : )

I totally agree with your opinion.
Good solution @lifenbeauty

This post received a free Upvote. Get your free Upvote NOW! Just follow @freeupvote

i always think that without money you can't think you as a happy man. So earn money and lead a happy life!!!!!!!!

its a real truth

Excellent post about important theory of management . Upvoted and resteemed.

I agree with Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs. I also believe that a certain amount of money can buy the things that bring happiness whether it be materials or experiences.

Thank you for the comment, @inthekno! : )

@lifenbeuty visit my blog if you have a time please and support me in this steemit i focus in psychology article

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70992.50
ETH 3860.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52