You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is the real value of money and how it relates to Maslow's hierarchy of needs

in #psychology7 years ago

@lifenbeauty, I absolutely agree with you!

However I also think that the way you get the money is very important - if you earn money doing what you love, that money has much greater value than if you earn it doing something that is not any close to your real passion. So, if I earn writing an article about something I truly believe in, I feel very positive emotions about the money I get. And if I earn lots of money doing some boring statistical work, I feel negative emotions towards it, and I think like 'okay, it is just money'. :D

My priorities: having a nice family, doing what I love and having enough free time for hobbies, and having just enough - nice place to live, money for a nice life but not luxury. And of course if I would earn more, it would make me feel more powerful and probably happy about some things I could buy that I do not really need, but I think it is just an extra in life.

Maslow's hierarchy of needs is nice, but not absolutely universal. If we think about Nikola Tesla, for example, we can not implement it. Also many people don't really think about third, fourth, or fifth level. Some also skip some levels etc.

Sort:  

Some interesting thoughts about how the way we obtain money influenced its value. I can agree that it adds a layer of our perception and appreciation of the money obtained. : )

Nice priorities. It's hard for me to believe that some people don't really think about the third level, but, yes, the Tesla example proves that it can be skipped.

Thank you for the thoughtful comment, @katarinamiliv! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68245.80
ETH 2509.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52