Bipolar disorder story continuation - how I teach myself to feel better

in #psychology6 years ago

Hi, guys!

Yesterday I wrote a post about how I teach myself to feel better, and today I want to continue this theme. As I said before my husband is on a business trip at the moment, so I'm at home alone, and I had a really productive day. Damn, I really made a lot!

 Image credit

First of all, I drew a painting I planned for years. Well, not the painting exactly, but I had a huge canvas for something special for over two years. It was standing near the wardrobe, cause there was no other place where it could fit, and time to time it fell down and blocked the door. But I felt like I'm not good enough to draw on such big and expensive canvas, so I waited. Then, all of a sudden I thought... Damn, perhaps I'll never feel good enough if I will think like this! So I just drew Tardis, I wished it for my bedroom, and I love the result. Is it good or bad - that doesn't actually matter. What matters is that I recieved pleasure from the process, and that I, I AM happy with the result.

I also painted a plant pot, and I also posted it today. And also I did a lot of things to make my home more cozy. For example I created a special box for crickets, so they are not visible anymore. I need to have food for my lizards, but that doesn't mean that I have to watch at them while watching movie and having tea on my couch, right?

Yesterday I had a sleepless night. I always know what that means. If I can't sleep even with my pills that mean that (again, despite the pills) my bipolar disorder is switching it's phase. I thought I would turn to hypomanic, but now I understand that I definitely turned to depressive phase. And here I really need tell about how I feel and how I felt earlier.

My depressive episodes before I started therapy were horrible. May be one day I will write something about them, but at the moment I don't want to trigger myself. I love the quote I once read that describes depressive phase: "It feels like everybody you knew died and you already don't cry".

Now I combine medical therapy with my personal researches about what can make me more stable and happy. And you know, I have my results, I really have them. Even if I switch to depressive phase I still an quite stable. About 60% more stable, then I have been before. 

That's a result, it really is. When I'll start my video blog I will make a video about my tips, it will be easier for me to talk about that then to write:)

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Fantastic! 100% upvote from me!

This reminds me about my one of my students. He had a horrible depressive phase. He always bring something that he could use to hurt himself :(

I had a self-harm period, gladly I'm over it

Daily Learn some new from your post. Love to read it.
Great stoy and good writing like your post and upvoted.
enjoy read thus post. that is a good staff.

Happy to hear that my posts are interesting:)

It is amazing how art can help us through emotional barriers and aid us to just deal with life and work through things. I have had a sort of bad time of it these past weeks, having to change my schedule with @winstonalden getting a job, buying a car (which I hate to own) and then two storms that left us without power. During these times that try us, art is always there as a sort of constant buoy to lead me to sanity.

I looked at your last artworks - they are fantastic! I especially love the blue dog:)
Owning a car... Well, I left it to my hubby and bought a bike for myself a few days ago:) Can't wait to test it

You seem to cope well and glad you have a method. All the best an reiki vibes 💯🐒

welcome... i always try to visited your post love u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56