You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The "Feel-Good" Pleasure-Trap Focus

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

To go out side our comfort zones should be on our daily 'to do list'. I think it's a pretty complex state of awareness that is none the less possible to achieve.

One of the things I try to do is observe my emotions. This is made possible through daily practice of Vipassana meditation. It's a practice I highly recommend as it boost awareness and also calms the mind.

Sort:  

I am curious about what you mean observing emotions while you meditation.

I have meditated for about 7 months now (mostly mindfulness meditation and some guided Vipassana meditations) but I don't know if I correctly know how to observe my emotions. What I think I am doing when I am observing my emotions is paying attention to the physiological changes in my body that come from an emotion while "letting go" of any thoughts that are popping into my head. For instance, when I am feeling frustration, I focus on the feeling of frustration which often gathers around my eyes.

Any advice on how to correctly observe your emotions in the Vipassana practice?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52