NARRATIONS & IDEOLOGIES

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)

One of the insights that surprised me most of all

was when, in an interview with Heinz von Förster, I listened to him telling how he first came into contact with the systemically integrative family therapists and how they brought him into a room where there was a viewing window that was only transparent from one side and one could follow the family setting and the therapist unobserved. In relation to the method of circular and open questions from the therapist to the father, for example, who should answer "what his son would probably think of him if he behaved differently towards his mother", Heinz von Förster laughed out loud and said: "Of course the father does not have the slightest clue what the son would think, any more than the son and the mother! But in an effort to find an answer in a cooperative setting, this form of therapy helps to create mental constructs that help solve a family conflict!" Or at least, these are the expressions I remember.

What he was trying to say: You build a story very subtly, you are somehow aware that you are doing it, but you don't say it directly. In order not to shake the general faith.

I don't know how you feel, but maybe you've experienced this before and thought silently your part and didn't ask the person or people in the room that they were just listening to an imaginary story that wasn't even true!

Heinz von Försters anecdote was by far one of the best explanations I had so far heard. Not whether the answer to a question asked in the subjunctive is absolutely true or absolutely wrong, not whether one would have found a final truth, but the fact that life consists of stories.

As long as people can agree that they are involved in the construction of their own stories and that they are willing to co-create with each other, solutions to conflicts can be found. Thus, a story need not be true in order to decide what to do or what not to do, it needs to be accepted as true.

Yuval Noah Harari expresses something similar in this interview (I write from memory and use my own terms of understanding): "The stories that people tell each other and that can be transferred not only to small systems but to much larger systems" than a family, i.e. "at the national level and later at the global level, are the ones that herald change." He ads that it has not yet been decided whether for the better or for the worse, because it is the story and its content itself that creates a common vision. Harari notes that jumping from a tribal culture where something like absolute identification is easy, since you know the hundred people personally, to a national one is quite a challenge. But once this has been achieved, the leap towards global identification would no longer be so difficult.

The reason why it would be better to handle the concept of one truth less inflationarily

is that different people at different times come into contact with different mental constructions and something like a simple concept of truth cannot always be found because there is no willingness to silently admit - like in the example of systemic family therapy - that one is merely constructing a story, i.e. coming up with an ideology. Because this is often confused with a lack of authenticity and awakens a feeling of "lying" and one would like to shout "infamous".

According to Harari, "freedom of the individual" is such a co-created narrative, just like "humanism",

which is not inherent to man, at least not absolute, but man also always has the striving for more and would often take what he desires completely without asking.

For a long time I believed that "ideology" was a term to be understood in a negative way throughout, but one can also regard it positively, because in the word there is the "ideal" which one has decided to commit oneself to as a common narrative. There is nothing wrong with that so long as an ideology is not regarded as evil or destructive, but as useful and helpful. In this broader sense one can speak of a truth content, because one has become aware of this phenomenon and uses it for moving in conflictual spaces in order to reach an agreement.

What Harari says in his talks and books about the present situation is that we are not very much presented with an ideology that is common in large systems, because the importance of religions, for example, has diminished and there would be no difference between a Palestinian, British or Israeli bureaucracy, just as there would be no difference between building weapons or using capital between this countries.

Since there is a lack of really strong visions for the future,

because the rulers often do not dare to touch the really explosive issues, the politicians themselves and thus the people turn to past ideologies, such as nationalism, which can easily be seen in the Trump government and the Brexit of Great Britain. Again, he says that not everything that has to do with nationalism is bad, because one would certainly need a national identity in a global world.

It is a very annoying habit to use either-or questions,

but the most likely thing is that the two aspects that are confronted are always found to be both true and untrue in the same person. Apparently only humans have this contradictoriness, which they can deal with in everyday life without any problems. Depending on the situation they find themselves in, who they talk to and what they try to achieve.

If one begins to pay attention to how quickly people can change from one story to another and let themselves be fruitfully irritated by this in order to use exactly this contradiction in the consultation, an encounter can really become inspiring.

I recently had a client who came to me and talked about the recent separation from her husband.

For a while she seemed very vulnerable, cried, and showed signs of great helplessness. I was careful, however, to "buy" the statements connected with it completely and kept asking questions.

Thereupon she suddenly revealed a different side of herself. She became aggressive and she added strong expressions to her language so that I finally asked her if she wanted to take revenge on her husband and if she thought that he had to be punished. Just as she had previously believed the story of herself as a sad little girl, she now thought she had to act as a revenger. I asked her if she would believe that her husband too would endure the pain of separation and how he might feel after all that had happened. I also told her my impression that she would talk about him as if he were a child, but not her husband, a mature man.

Then, and when I asked her if the concept of revenge still had a living meaning in her culture and upbringing, we talked about this aspect of human coexistence and got a slightly different view of the situation between her husband and herself. Finally, after I questioned that she would want to tell her children that the father would be solely to blame for the "destruction of the family", how she felt as a child when her parents quarreled and whether it helped her that one settled the blame with the other. She answered this with a clear "no" and then became thoughtful.

An ideology that is accepted by almost all people is that children must be protected from their parents' conflicts

and that those parents must be made aware of this when advising people, as in my case. So there is always a little lawyer sitting in my head who thinks of the children or the child who is not currently in the room and who is loved by his parents, but who is not taken into consideration enough because of the confirmation that the client is looking for with me (and others). Not because separating parents would be stupid, but because they get so entangled in their own stories and separation for the better seems so unusual that some narrations are almost superimposed.

Basically, humans don't know themselves very well.

If they did, they would be very surprised that they don't succeed in becoming masters of their own thoughts. Here, too, I would like to repeat Harari's words. He said that when he tried to meditate for the first time and only observed the inhalation and exhalation of his nose, he had not even managed for ten seconds to limit himself to this activity. This would have been like a shock for him, he had never thought before that a supposedly so simple matter was so difficult.

When you think about the fact that insomnia always has something to do with mental restlessness, isn't it really a very surprising thing to see it as normal? We often say to each other: "Oh man, I couldn't sleep last night, I threw myself back and forth in bed and in my head my thoughts were chasing each other". And the other one to whom you tell this nods knowingly.

Hardly anyone asks: "Why, aren't you the master of your mental chamber and why don't you know a method to be able to sleep?"

But maybe more and more people are asking: "Have you ever tried meditation?

Last example about an ideology: UBI (Universal Basic Income)

About ten years ago I was member of a politically active group who supported the idea of a Universal Basic Income.

I worked side by side with the activists for about two years and we organized panel discussions, did public relations work on the street with stands and flyers, we organized two very big events here in Hamburg with the well-known stars of the scene, I even gave a lecture at the adult education centre on the topic in front of senior citizens. In addition, I had my own online blog, where I wrote a lot of articles and also got an active participation of commentators. It gradually became clear to me that I was attached to the ideology of capital and humanism, a kind of "human right to good treatment". Which I will not elaborate on, because capitalism also has good and bad outgrowths, just like the humanist movements.

What gradually became clear to me was that it was only in this political and democratic process of an incipient deep confrontation with a subject that my initial opinion of spontaneous "per basic income" changed over time and that I was able to take on several perspectives. If I had not initiated this process, I would still be running around with only one opinion today and representing it quite thoughtlessly. The process of wrestling, discussing and becoming aware of one's own ignorance taught me a lot.

What I learned was that I can now take an independent position on the subject because I am no longer trapped in the neediness that I cannot live without a general "Yes to UBI" agreement and have to despair about it. I have thus taken away the fear of existence that had haunted me time and again and I thought that my life would no longer be happy if all others were not convinced of the idea of a UBI.

This whole thing brought me much deeper philosophical considerations.

What I want to say is that the representatives of our governments have to make it their goal, that they are interested in a common global vision, that people still need narratives and that they make a difference. They should make it priority No. 1. Not backwards, but forwards and at a moderate pace. Countries need to learn to trust each other and tackle climate change, nuclear threats and technological disruption together. We're not that far from a common narrative, if you think about it.

Meanwhile, as individuals, we too must do our work, knowing ourselves and asking again and again what reality is.


Photo by Reuben Juarez on Unsplash

Sort:  

You know, sometimes it seems really strange, how things come into our lives at precisely a certain moment. Sure, one can argue, it was there anyways and you just realize its existence because you are open for it at that moment...

Anyways, just saw your post and (without whiskey and cigar), I thought it would give me a nice start into the day and something to think about, while I paint. As you know, I find the things you say often thought provoking and inspiring :-) Sometimes a bit beyond my brain capacity, but I have a new trick... pasting the text into a word document, so I can highlight things, clever, eh? 😎

What connects my current situation to your story is this: Over the last two weeks I found myself in the middle of a pretty fierce argument. Here on steemit!! Arrrgh.... It got to the point, that it occupied my every waking moment. Thank god I have sound sleep ;-) I was actually close to the point, that I was going to ask you for help, to keep my sanity. Thing is, as much as I was coming from one side, I slowly started to understand the other side as well!

two aspects that are confronted are always found to be both true and untrue in the same person. Apparently only humans have this contradictoriness, which they can deal with in everyday life without any problems. Depending on the situation they find themselves in, who they talk to and what they try to achieve.

So, what are you going to do, when you find yourself between the trenches all of a sudden?


As you know, besides being a painter myself, I also organize events for my fellow colleagues. Unfortunately, there is a lot of argument and hate between quite a few of them and also between the groups they might belong to. Funny thing is, they are never happy and like you, for what you do for them, they hate you for what you do for someone else....

I often get so frustrated with all the jealousy and arguing, that I want to say: go ahead, shoot each other and leave me alone... But is that the solution?

You talk about a global vision, but how is it supposed to work, when this tiny social network can't exist without abuse and fighting?

Just saw a documentary about Italy yesterday, and how there too is a major nationalist movement on the way. It seems much easier, to gain power for those who want it, by using such strategies and appealing to certain instincts (fear in particular) than trying to reason with people.

I give up 😳

Hope you don't mind my popping in and offering a comment here.
I grew up in the country. Dogs are pretty important in that environment. There was one basic rule that prevailed when dogs were fighting. Don't get between them. You'll definitely get bitten :)
Hope you find a peaceful, neutral plateau on which to coast until the squabbling resides. Anger usually burns hot, and then, if you don't fuel the fire, it burns out.

Haha... so true! Thanks a lot for reminding me of this simple, yet essential piece of wisdom. Consequently, if you did get bit, you will remember it next time!

Normally I do stay out of such things, as you say.. eventually it burns out and then you see, it was nothing but a waste of energy. Slowly refocusing on my art again :-)

Loading...

I can see you working this out as you write--almost the process you describe.
I very much believe we need stories, not only to unite us with common themes but also to help us objectify the irrational drives we so poorly understand.
I think the Greeks did this in drama. They created archetypes that we find useful today to understand human motivation. Fairy tales do this, when they create simple models that teach not only children but the parents who relate the long-cherished stories.
Yes, we all do write the stories of our lives to justify the way we behave. The challenge is, as you explain, to understand that we are sometimes living a story and the reality we must deal with may be at odds with that. If we fail to realize this, we may fail to achieve success with our families and our personal ambitions.
As usual Erika, a thoughtful blog.

Thank you, the Greeks and their dramas are a very good example of a common ideology. Everything, whether it was the myths and gods or what other guiding themes offered us, is something that has given us orientation and security. There was a great strength in these currents and convictions. Today the problem is that on a global level we don't have such a strong narrative yet (and even are afraid to build one) and so everyone seems to be cooking their own soup.

For my part, I have not understood this for a long time and have therefore been involved myself in putting on the blinkers again and, for example, looking at the currency reform with extremely critical eyes. But the basic idea is right for our own example: to unite the European countries and no longer shoot one's breast with guns for a hundred kilometres of territory is real progress.

You know, I think that nationalism is not believed by people in principle on the whole - the louder they shout the weaker it becomes as a narrative.

that we are sometimes living a story and the reality we must deal with may be at odds with that. If we fail to realize this, we may fail to achieve success with our families and our personal ambitions.

I feel very much understood by you:)

I think we do understand each other, at least more than is usual. Misunderstanding is inevitable once there is space between people. It's amazing, given our age difference, our geography and our cultural differences that we can often align so closely in perspective.

Maybe at the heart is an eargerness to open our minds to new ideas and new experiences. Even if something doesn't quiet seem right or familiar, we give it a second look. At least I do. I've been hasty and wrong so many times in the past that now I just slow down and think a bit longer about someone else's ideas.

I always enjoy your blogs. You really let go and tell it like it is (that's an expression I don't hear anymore).

I do respect you. Also I do respect your age, life experience and what you have to give. Also, from what I think is that we have more similarities than differences and we really worked that out. I learn from you and I am so glad that you can talk about your own mistakes in life without sounding guilty about them. Though being in doubt is a quality I appreciate with you and what makes people in general good dialogue partners.

Waiting for your next blog, friend. Like little seeds that take root and help ideas to grow.
Made for you:

sproutgif.gif

Oh, that is so sweet. THANK YOU:)

Now that you talk about ideologies and ideas, I have sometimes thought that ideas could be false even though I have strong reasons to believe in, sometimes it just seems unreal, just an invention, a construct. But then I look at the facts, and I realize that it is impossible for it to be false. Reasons and reality say one thing, the problem is often the lack of self-confidence, which makes us believe more in what others say or think, or in the reasons of others, than in our own reasons.

If the ideas did not exist, the human would have wandered like a madman throughout history, believing in things that don't exist, and acting on the basis of imaginary chimeras. Madness can be like insomnia. But it is not true. The fact that today we speak of ideologies, and not of the truth, is not because we have refuted the existence of a truth, but rather it is born of not trusting ourselves, and to believe that the things we think are only our invention, so we look for confirmation in others.

And I don't criticize it, it is certainly necessary, nowadays it is, however, it is and will continue to be so long as people don't fully trust themselves. When we trust in ourselves, we can therefore trust our fellowmen.

Modern societies are divided, the right looks at the past and what has been lost, tradition, idealism, religion, morals, respect, etc., while the left looks to the future and what has been win, inclusion, integration, opening, etc. Arnold J. Toynbee, the British historian, said that the easiest way to see when a civilization is about to collapse, is when one part of the population thinks of the past, while the other in the future, and both forget about the present. This reminds me of the concept of Wu Wei, which should not only apply to individuals, but also to societies. Again it is a question of self-confidence, of trusting ourselves and therefore our fellowmen, breaking the dichotomy, and knowing that what corresponds now, is not worrying about the future or the past, but the present, and that whenever you trust yourself, there will be no need to worry about other times, because surely at other times you will take the right options, as long as you take the right options now, which are the ones to take. There will also be no need to worry about other circumstances, past or future, scarcity or abundance, nuclear wars or climate change, if the right decisions are made now.

The correct decisions are not a matter of philosophical depth either, really it is mere intuition, it only takes common sense, we, the people, always have the answers in us, this does not mean that we should be individualists or isolationists and not think about the others, surely there will be moments of doubt in which it will be necessary to go to others, however, and this is something that I have always said of modern society, it is a matter of communication.

Modern people tend to believe that by technology they are more connected, my opinion is (not totally, but) different, I believe that people are more connected by nature, and that when they acted, in the past, in a totally intuitive way, they synchronized with each other. Technology unites people on the one hand, because it makes them communicate verbally, but in turn, makes them doubt at times when such communication does not exist, this is because people falsely believe that they are separated, believe that there is a world profoundly external to them, which is only "true" as long as they believe that. The synchrony of society always exists, although in some moments it may be difficult to see it, and it is because, in spite of everything, society is always the same entity, the same and only essence if we can call it to become idealistic or religious, speaking of a collective mind. Although I don't speak of collectivism that would be the opposite, and it is not at all desirable to abandon technology either, which, right now, would be a gigantic mistake, I think.

Reality breaks such apparent dichotomies that don't really exist; individualism-collectivism, technology-nature, freedom-security, good-evil, reason-emotion, etc. Certainly it is necessary to use those words to refer to our day to day, but it is also true that everything that is of one nature also participates in the other. It is not contradictory, but complementary.

I think I have taken many turns to conclude in exactly the same, with different nuances and from a different angle of course, but ultimately, the same.

I see it the way you describe it here again. It is really very difficult for people to trust in themselves and not let the pain win when they think they have been abandoned by all the world and you want the trust of others that you don't have to yourself. This is associated with high risks if one has not yet reached the mental strength needed to be for peace and to provide for new narrations. I know some examples, of which I already gave you some names, which develop a unifying vision and take immensely high risks about it, on the other hand get support just by their discipline and energy.

I thank you for these thoughts which you have expressed in your own way and which are always enriching. In particular this part:

Technology unites people on the one hand, because it makes them communicate verbally, but in turn, makes them doubt at times when such communication does not exist, this is because people falsely believe that they are separated, believe that there is a world profoundly external to them, which is only "true" as long as they believe that.

:) As long as there is patience and trust, all high risks will be avoided. Mental strength is achieved with this two.

You very well know that I agree with you. Maybe you should reread the post of evernoticethat, I think it hits the nail.

I apologize for the late response, sometimes I abuse these things myself.

:) As long as there is patience and trust, all high risks will be avoided. Mental strength is achieved with this two.

You very well know that I agree with you. Maybe you should reread the post of evernoticethat, I think it hits the nail.

I apologize for the late response, sometimes I abuse these things myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94