Does "Doing Your Best" REALLY Matter?

in #psychology7 years ago

Recently, I was working on a magazine article essentially about "being the best you can be."

Yes, I know that may sound like a trite and overused cliché, but as I plugged along, I kept realizing in just how many ways this can be important.

Pink Flower
This flower is doing its best!

Some might consider the following to be largely "metaphysical woo-woo," but experience tells me that it often holds true is that we attract what we are, both in terms of people, events, actions and things. It's the Law of Attraction and Positive Thinking and various other philosophies. We can also remove the woo-woo and simply look at a very old human truism called "Birds of a feather flock together." Nothing mystical about that...

Think about it, though. When you feel drawn to someone or something, it's often because that person or thing "resonates" with you, on some level, right? We feel a sort of kinship, or affiliation... most of the time based on some form of commonality. We might even say (or think) "Yeah, I get a really good vibe from Bill."

People often forget (or lose sight of) the fact that others are drawn to us, based on the very same kind of energy exchange. Others "experience" you and feel like they want to know more, or know you better, or they relate to what you do or provide.

Or they're mysteriously "put off" by you, and you can't necessarily figure out why.

Now, pause and think about what and whom you generally attract. It may tell you a surprising number of things about who YOU are and what you are projecting to the world.

RedApples
Our apple tree

Although I'm not sure I fully believe this statement, it does provide a point for pausing and contemplating: "We are an average of the five people we spend most time with."

Again, this points back to energetic way we often respond to those around us. Who are we comfortable with? Who are we not comfortable with?

There are few places where this holds more true than in friendships, relationships and dating. And so, when you find yourself pondering why you keep attracting "uninteresting" or "unattractive" people, OR maybe slave away at what you feel like are "substandard jobs," what might be going on? What lies beneath these impressions and assertions?

Are you the person you'd want to date? Are you the employee you'd want working for you? Are you the best friend someone is looking for?

As a former consultant and "work purpose" coach, I used to most often get answers along the lines of "Oh, I'd never thought about it... quite THAT way."

Of course, to some this is "Common Sense 101," although I am often surprised by the highly intelligent individuals who are completely oblivious that they are part of the reasons people respond to them the way they do

LakeView
Apeaceful view across the lake

As much as we humans would like to think that we are all "equal" and don't judge, truth is that we tend to have an internal "barometer" that most often steers us in the direction of "like begets like," even when we feel we are headed down the "opposites attract" road.

So what's the point, here?

Well, it seems like a compelling reason to always try to be your very best, especially if you are hoping to attract the very best. 

But don't misunderstand what I mean by that. I'm not suggesting that you "have to" become a neurosurgeon. Or that you need to start getting plastic surgery to become "pretty." Being "your best" really means making the most of what you already are, not trying to "become" something impossible or out of reach.

In other words, if you're a cab driver, be the best cab driver you can be. Or you may not be a brilliant writer, but you can still present your writing well, and do spell checking, and so on. It's about showing you care, more than it's about actual "ability" or "appearance." 

For example, I may not be a "great writer" but I still get invited to write for many magazines, blogs and web sites... because I always do my best, with every piece of writing... even if it's not "serious." Even if it's just a random rant like this.

Where do YOU stand? Are you making the most of what you are? Do you do your best? Or do you even care? Do you attract the sort of people and things you want, or are hoping for? If not, why do you think that is happening?

(All text and images by the author unless otherwise credited. Original content developed for Steemit)

Sort:  


Hi @denmarkguy, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I think a lot of the 'attraction' etc has to do with attitude and how you feel about yourself.

I'm a naturally positive person. I feel good about myself and have high self esteem and confidence. So, as you suggest, I tend to be around people like that. I also try to extend that feeling to others, so they feel the same way - building them up, not cutting them down.

Being the best you can be, at least for me, is not so much being the best writer I can be, or the best programmer I can be. It's being the best person I can be.

That required ambition, a goal, focus, effort. The payoff is that I'm a better person today than I was yesterday.

And I think that's a good thing. :-)

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.... and agreed, being the best person is definitely of great importance, and when you do that it is also reflected in your actions. To me, it's also a two-way situation, because if I do something really well and can genuinely stand back and feel good about the accomplishment, I also feel better about me on an overall level... so I experience the two having a synergistic "relationship."

Exactly :-)

It becomes a positive spiral. You do better, so you feel better, so you do better.....

It's like anti-depression :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73