Tracking Down Pseudoscience - Part 2

in #psychology8 years ago

How many conversations you carry in one particular day? How much information you are being exposed to through your senses?

I would dispassionately assume the word is 'a lot', unless you're living in a cave...

Being able to sort through and filter the non-sense out of the mountains of claims and arguments that come toward you is one invaluable characteristic that you may wish to develop.

Carl Sagan, an astronomer, and Michael Shermer, founder of The Skeptics Society, come to the rescue with their baloney detection kit, which contains a set of ten questions to ask oneself when presented with any claim/argument/information.

I dealt with the first question of the baloney detection kit in a previous post - [How Reliable is Your Source]. Here I'm going to go into the details of questions 2 and 3, leaving the rest of the questions for future posts in this series.


Baloney Detection - Points 2 and 3

Questions 2 and 3 involve the frequency and verifiability of such claims coming from the source. I will be specific so you can understand better.

  • Question 2: Does the source often make similar claims?

I will adopt my line of reasoning from a past post.

Pseudoscientists, quacks and even some of your friends often engage with you with deceptive intentions. They take a claim with some previous scientific support, remove it from the content and concoct their own version of the claim. You fall for it, most often than not.

Let's discuss radiation - one of my past delusions. For a while, I thought that radiation is the mother of all evil, I thought that my phone causes cancer and that my wi-fi router is killing me. Not knowing better, I injected these beliefs into my mind because I was gullible in following some famous quacks preaching about this. I will not give names; not now.

You see, research has shown that high amounts of concentrated radiation may lead to DNA damage through single and double strand breaks (SSBs and DSBs) and other DNA lesions. Think of the victims of Hiroshima or people exposed to high levels of UV, X-rays or gamma-rays.

Radiophobic quacks take this claim out of context, extrapolate it and make it appear that all types of radiation at all levels of exposure will massively impact your health, such as in 'the silent killer in your pocket' (smartphone).

There are many studies that come in support of such 'wild' claims, but most of them lack scientific rigor and more importantly, they lack replicability. You or members of the uneducated public are unfamiliar with the intricacies of good scientific conduit so you may fall for it. I did...

And this leads me to question 3...

  • Question 3: Have the claims been verified by another source?

The strength and validity of an argument/theory increases when various sources fail in proving it wrong (!not right). Plus the verdict on the validity of an argument is never set in stone:

Even though you have dozens of sources having failed to prove it wrong, which makes the argument more valid, there is always the chance that it will be proven wrong. Validity is not set in stone and arguments/theories are never 100% right. They are always up to the test, which is great! Here's an example:

  • Bad argument: All swans are white.

It only takes you one black swan to completely disprove/shatter this argument.

  • Better argument: Most swans are white.

When you do find that black swans, your argument is still valid.


What to do?!

  • whenever being presented with a claim, resist the urge to adopt it (reinforcing herd mentality). Instead, put it to scrutiny by verifying it through various sources.
  • refrain from engaging in black-white/binary thinking: either this or that - and no other way. 'Truth' is nuanced, there are innumerable shades of it.
  • put things/claims into context. There are rare situations when arguments are valid in all contexts.
  • beware of quacks, pseudoscientists, media, friends, who make extraordinary claims with/without deceptive intentions. Extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence.

I'll leave you with an advice from Carl Sagan:

"Try not to get overly attached to a hypothesis just because it’s yours (*or because it looks nice, or because it comes from a friendly face). It’s only a way station in the pursuit of knowledge. Ask yourself why you like the idea. Compare it fairly with the alternatives. See if you can find reasons for rejecting it. If you don’t, others will. "
*emphasis mine


To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi

Credits for Images: [Durova CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons] and [No Author CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons].

#psychology #science #practical


Cristi Vlad, Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

Even the Dalai Lama said if science disproves his belief in reincarnation and other beliefs he will accept it. Maybe he should start with this list 😁

that's a good display of critical thinking :)

Every single point in your "What to Do?!" Section is so important, especially the one about how truth is nuanced. This is something that I've been thinking about (and occasionally writing about) lately.

Great article! :)

thank you! I hope you're familiar with Kahneman's work...

I am not. I suppose that's something I should look into

yes, start with Thinking Fast and Slow

This sounds really interesting. Thanks for the recommendation! It's happening :D

Cheers!

afterall, Kahneman holds a Nobel Prize, which is not like on an ordinary daily todos list :) looking forward for feedback about it.

Its a hefty read but well worth it. Very engaging and not at all dry in my opinion.

well, you could listen to it to make it more enjoyable.

9/11 had complicit cover-up of evidence and deliberate allowance. Do some research. Does this mean it was completely an inside job and there were no real "terrorists"? No. But there were complicit governmental people who were involved. Also, have you even looked into Building 7? Go research that and see the obvious truth in reality at how that was preplanned. Peace.

I guess you didn't read my article.

dont know where that came from..

Well I linked an article in my original comment where I talk about the 9/11 truth movement, so @krnel's response was an attempt to enlighten me. However, I addressed a lot of the things that @krnel is saying in my article.

For single strand break and double strand break, you have an entire DNA base labeled. The break only occurs at the sugar-phosphate linkage. I am sure you were just trying to emphasize one versus two strands, but the break does not knock out an entire base. Just cleaves the backbone bond.

right. I got the illustration from wikimedia as stated, but I guess the point is made.

You should have asked, I could have made you one just like those but with the appropriate locations highlighted!

I might ask for that in a write-up on dna damage and repair.

Let me know what sort of things you need, and I will coordinate my schedule with you so I can make them. :) You are also free to re-use my images from my previous write up on that topic if you find them helpful.

thank you :D that's very kind of you :)

EMF Radiation is harmful in many cases. Radar guns from police are a known health issue. Cell phones for sperm has strong evidence. Cellphone radiation heat in your head has evidence. It's not made up BS. When I put my phone next to my ear, and not touch, if I am using it for too long, my ear starts to have discomfort, a feeling is present. I can feel it. It might be because i have sensitive ears... but it's not pseudo science. Peace.

The energy levels of EMF are extremely low (especially when compared to the energy levels of the particles emitted during radioactive decay). They are not sufficiently high to cause any sort of DNA damage, that much I can confirm. The feeling you have with your "sensitive ears" is in all likelihood just psychosomatic.

Yeah, I wasn't making any claim of DNA damage though.

As for trying to dismiss the effect of a cell phone on sensitive ears as mere "psychosomatics": http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16595330

Maybe your ears are fine, but I have am affected by it to some degree. I have an issue with one ear, with cold air, wind, etc. EMF also seem to affect it, as I stated. Not everyone has the same physical conditions as everyone else.

The cited study lacks an acceptable positive control of users who talked on non cellular (EMF) emitting telephones for similar duration of time. As it is widely known that prolonged exposure to loud noise (like one from talking on a phone) can lead to hearing loss (which was what the cited study was testing for). Not surprisingly the study found that users who talked on the phone less had better hearing. I don't feel their conclusion is justified by the experimental design.

I am sorry you have troublesome ears. Have a great one.

show me the evidence and I'll gladly look in depth.

Sperm reduction: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4074720/
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21799142

Cell phone heat affect
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3538231/
http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=645813

I'm not saying it definitely causes DNA breaking, or definitely causes cancer, or whatever. I'm saying there is evidence that it is harmful. High doses of energy into your brain as heat is not fully understood yet. There are affects of the heat and EMF on sperm, we need to study more the long term effects on the brain.

Your writing is terrific. I appreciate your objective analysis and your tips on evaluating claims to determine their validity. In this day and age, when we are presented with so much junk science and so many questionable claims, it is great for people to have a checklist or toolbox like this.

it happens in most human interactions. think about it!

I agree with your list of What To Do. I think the best point is

refrain from engaging in black-white/binary thinking: either this or that - and no other way. 'Truth' is nuanced, there are innumerable shades of it.

There seems to be a tendency for people to say, you're either with us or against us. Well I am often with parts of the argument and against other parts!

by default, we polarize. if you try not to, you're engaging in critical thinking

Does that mean that black and white do't exist and everything is grey ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34