You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Psychology of the Steem Follower

in #psychology6 years ago

In the beginning, which was July 2017, I followed a bunch of people who I thought might be faucets. I don't remember why I thought that. After a few weeks I got tired of all the crap in my feed, so I had a long hard look at my followees. I got rid of the inactive ones, and the ones who don't write in English, and the ones who can't write their way out of a wet paper bag, and the ones who resteemed a lot of crap even though they would occasionally resteem a post of mine or drop me a few cents because it wasn't worth the aggro. Ah, that's better.

I'm paying no attention to your list because I ... well I am not. You do things your way, I do them mine.

I follow a few dolphins and whales not because they are dolphins or whales but because they are somehow entertaining and/or informative. In fact, that is the main reason I follow anyone. Most of the time I find that out by talking to people, in comments or discord.

I follow Dan because he may have a solution to some of steemit's problems in the works. I don't follow Ned because he doesn't.

I follow you (finally remembered to just now) for the same reasons as I issued you a ticket - you've got something. Not sure I want it, so don't come too close, but ...

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Sort:  

Followed you back not because I'm a 'Follow you, Follow me' kind of guy, its simply because you make me laugh! That's good enough reason for me.

I do need to ask though, was the initial rejection solely based on 'your too new to the platform' or because some of my earlier articles didn't cut the mustard or something else or a combination of all these?

I'll try to answer your questions seriously -- since it's clear my other half won't.

A lot of the initial hesitation really was because of how new you are on Steemit. We've had some real disappointments in that regard -- people who did good work and seemed like good candidates who kind of "ran out of steam" -- so to speak -- a month or so later.

I realize some of this is because people arrive here with inflated expectations -- and quickly get their "enthusiasm balloon" popped by the harsh reality of "what life is like here." Also people who are good at what they do usually know it ... and they aren't prepared to be ignored into oblivion -- which happens on Steemit, as I'm sure you know.

Also, many very new people just don't have their "sea legs" yet. They don't know how to behave and they can cause trouble without really meaning to. But this place is not like your usual social media platform -- and it takes a while to learn that.

New people also sometimes spend a while floundering around trying to find their focus, the posting schedule that works for them, the circles where they want to travel, etc. As curator for the group I was the one who put the "3 month minimum" rule in place. It can take me between five and eight hours a day to do the group post (that's at least a serious part-time job in the real world) ... and I don't have time to mess around. I want to work with people who know what they're doing and support ones who at least show some persistence in sticking around.

On the other side of the scale, your persistence paid off for you. Your ability to keep your sense of humor did, too. The fact that you speak and write well in English was a BIG plus. (Yeah, I know. It's your mother tongue. Big deal. -- But trust me, that's not always a given. Oh damn, now I sound like that docta-guy with his high-falutin claims.) The fact that you have a recognizable "style" also helped. And another big plus was that you didn't cop-an-attitude when you didn't get your way right away.

In this regard, life on Steemit is not much different from life in the real world. Only I've learned for some reason, when some people get to hide behind the anonymity of their computer online their manners go right out the window. Then they don't understand why others don't think that's just grand.

Ok, now stop asking questions. I feel compelled to answer the serious ones. And I already get slammed regularly for my "wall of text" comments. Don't feed the habit. My really-into-the-subject comments run longer than most people's posts.

The-STEEM-Engine

Wow, another long response, and this article thread seems to go on forever now. I wasn't really expecting an answer but thanks for doing it. I thought it might have been me being new, but then again I have never written before so I thought it could have been that too.

As far as new articles go, I wont submit all of them to @thesteemengine because I do smaller ones which I really don't consider worthy. If anything my interest in Steemit is going beyond the normal and I need to step away from it as I am neglecting other factors in my life.

Thank you too for doing all this, I can see its a lot of work and I have submitted an auto-vote for @thesteemengine as I know it is for a worthy cause.

I did however have to get rid of the maniac guy on my little picture as he was scaring people away. I was going to keep him, but well... it just didn't work out. If you are really interested then have a look Here

Trade secrets.

I make you laugh? Seriously? That is NOT what I've been aiming for. I need to be way, way meaner.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Ha! Im laughing again :)

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.29$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46