Sort:  

Hey Caroline! I'm so glad you came back as I'm really enjoying your posts to the fullest, makes things easier for me so much.

Hi! Thank you so much for your comment, really good to hear it makes things easier for you. I hope to finish my new post soon, let me know what you think of it!

Great! Looking forward to! What you think - could I book consultations with you via steemit chat and pay you in steem?

I haven't done that before, haven't used Steemit Chat before either but will sign up for it and let's give it a try! I'll register on the chat as Carolinemarie.

This is extremely well written! I hope it's okay if I resteem it? I study psychology and I totally agree on your post. I think it is mostly the pharmaceutical companies and the DSM panel that are responsible for making everything a mental disorder (I will probably o a post on this topic when I have more time). Even grief counts as depression now if it lasts more than a few months, even though grieving is a totally natural process. I don't like the whole system of putting labels on people for experiencing symptoms, I think having a continuum of different symptoms would be a far better than trying to fit in people into specific disorders. Just like you said, two people with totally different symptoms can still be diagnosed with the same disorder. I look forward to reading more of your posts! Mia

Of course you can resteem it! Yes I agree with the idea of having a continuum rather than specific disorders, hopefully more people will take a critical look at the way psychological troubles are currently described. Looking forward to reading your post on this topic!

Thank you, Caroline for being what all psychologists (and not only) should be in the first place, a human being. Labeling people and assuming the labels we receive is just a limitation of our real potential and ability to accept and work with ourselves.

Thank you, your comment means a lot to me! I hope the focus will shift from people's labels to people's own abilities.

I completely agree, people are way too easily labelled as having this or that wrong with them. in my opinion most problems are caused by our mental conditioning, this causes people to exhibit certain behaviours where they then get labelled as having this or that disorder.

Thank you! Interesting point. Can you explain what you mean by 'mental conditioning'? Just curious!

Yes, the mental condotioning that i refer to is all of our thoughts, beliefs and what society has thought us. For example, society teaches children growing up that they have to look a certain way or be a certain size to be beautiful so if someone isnt similar to what they see on tv, they might think that they are ugly.

I love this! "Treat the cause and not the symptom" is practically a mantra for me, something that has meaning to be with not only physical and emotional health, but now I see myself applying it to other parts of my life as well. Following :)

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @carolinemarie! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

great post!!!
doctor should treat the patient not the disease!!
follow me!!
trust me i'm a doctor!
https://steemit.com/@himal

Thanks doctor!

you are welcome!

I have followed you!
Follow me if you like posts regarding , health, psychology medicine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38