You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Diagnosis Doesn't Explain Who You Are

in #psychology7 years ago

This is extremely well written! I hope it's okay if I resteem it? I study psychology and I totally agree on your post. I think it is mostly the pharmaceutical companies and the DSM panel that are responsible for making everything a mental disorder (I will probably o a post on this topic when I have more time). Even grief counts as depression now if it lasts more than a few months, even though grieving is a totally natural process. I don't like the whole system of putting labels on people for experiencing symptoms, I think having a continuum of different symptoms would be a far better than trying to fit in people into specific disorders. Just like you said, two people with totally different symptoms can still be diagnosed with the same disorder. I look forward to reading more of your posts! Mia

Sort:  

Of course you can resteem it! Yes I agree with the idea of having a continuum rather than specific disorders, hopefully more people will take a critical look at the way psychological troubles are currently described. Looking forward to reading your post on this topic!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39