[INTERACTIVE MIND GAME] This Association Game Will Improve Your Mental Performance And Get You Into A Flow State!

in #psychology7 years ago

monkey.jpg

So there's this mind game that I love to play...

I call it a mind game because it's extremely beneficial for warming up, improving, and accelerating your mental and creative faculties.

I love it because it's super simple to learn, you can play it anywhere, and it's even better when you play it with a few friends.


In the short video below I say a quick hello and introduce the meaning behind the game!


So what is the game?

It's called the word association game and the purpose of the game lies within the name: you associate words!

Here's how it works:

First, one person will say a word, then the second person will respond by saying the first word that comes to their mind that is associated with the first word.

For instance, if I said the word "boat", you might then say the word "water", and then I would then associate off of the word "water" by saying "fish", and then you might associate off of "fish" by saying something like "shark."

And that's all there is to it!


Want to play it with me right now? Watch the video below and we'll try it together!


Thanks for playing with me if you did!

What did you think? Was it hard? Easy? Were you able to let your mind flow or did you catch yourself trying to think too much?

There's a myriad of beneficial side effects from playing this game... here's just a few:

  • Proactive Listening: you will experienced highly focused listening in order to respond
  • Present Moment Consciousness: you will be fully engaged in the moment in order to play effectively
  • Connecting Ideas: you will improve your pattern recognition and idea association skills
  • Awakens the Mind: you'll feel mentally stimulated and ready to perform more intensive processing tasks.
  • Increases Neural Connections: you'll explore your subconscious mind.
  • Flow State: you'll activate your stream of consciousness and remove unnecessary mental censors and filters.
  • Ice Breaker: you can learn a lot about another if you play this with them for just a few minutes.
  • Connection: if you're playing with another person, you'll feel more connected to them after playing!

laughter.jpg

The next time you grab a coffee or tea with a friend, ask them to play this game with you... you'll be happy you did!



Thanks for stopping by! If you found this post valuable, let me know with an upvote!

Ignite-Your-Soul.png

Follow my blog to get more daily content like this!


Featured Posts

These Three Words Will Instantly Change How You Perceive Your Life

muppets.jpg

[INTERACTIVE INSPIRATION EXPERIMENT] Could You Feel Better In Two Minutes? Find Out Now!

nwwwww.jpg

This Is How My Unsettling New Year's Situation Set Me Free

freedom111.jpg

All photo credits can be found by clicking on the photo

Sort:  

Yeah! I like it! I had a math teacher in school who played this game with us. Thinking back now, I can remember how we all actively participated every time. I'll definitely recommend this post for resteeming with @steemiteducation in the morning !
Good job and love the video's!
Who doesn't want a stripper pole anyways? ;)

@bdmomuae awesome that you've done it before. Definitely a great way to spark engagement. I appreciate your thorough investigation of this post. And yes, stripper poles are always useful ;-)

Oh and I'd love it if you shared this on your blog - thank you!

I heard of this game (or something similar) from watching Big Brother live feeds. It is pretty fun! My siblings and I would play it to pass the time on road trips, until it drove our parents to the brink of insanity 😬. Very fun nonetheless.

Hahaha thats the best way to play :P

What a fun, universal way to start to build a collaborative relationship. I will certainly use this as a fun little mental warm up/getting to know you activity for cognitive/language rehabilitation.

Thanks for the great breakdown of the associated benefits to the activity, helped me make a few more connections to clients that can benefit!

Yes! I know a lot of therapists and psychologists who use this, especially as a nice warm up for clients. Gets the mind in motion ;-) Thanks for stopping by!

Seems like a great game to play in order to get to know someone. Anything to stimulate the mind is always great!

Yes totally agree. Thanks for reading @fahrenheit1984!

Nice article. Its a good way to open communication in a new group. It also can be a good way to break through in a group planning session when you get stuck brainstorming.

Yeah totally agree. I've never tried it when you're stuck brainstorming but I'm fairly certain it would be super helpful. Sometimes when things get too serious the best antidote is more fun.

This is cool. I've done this long time ago too. Kudos!!!!

Very cool. I have not heard of that game, but now I bet you I will be playing with my family all the time now because I know my sons will love it.

Love the videos @axios
I don't know if your girlfriend is here on steemit but there is a girl @polebirtd here on steemit who does the posts on pole dancing, she is awesome. Anyways just a thought.

So glad you like it @joalvarez!

Ah that sounds great, she actually just joined steemit so I will pass on the word! Thank you!

Its a really cool game, and its benefits great, as one gains so much without realizing it.

Yes exactly, super simple, low commitment, high reward!

Great stuff. My personal experience is that this exercise mostly helps in
Present Moment Consciousness
Connecting Ideas
Awakens the Mind

It's also a good Ice Breaker. Keep posting. Good luck!

True dat! Appreciate the feedback. Thanks for stopping over @vimukthi!

Pleasure to be around :-)

thank you for posting this @axios, it is a great help! Keep on steeming posts! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50