The Power Of Believing In Yourself, As Taught By My Grandmother

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6420.JPG
"If you believe it, you shall bring it to fruition." Those are the words of my grandmother who way before the book, "The Secret" came out and affirmations were popularized, always believed that hard work and trusting your own words as if what you wished for was already happening, could bring anything and all you wanted into your life.

My grandmother became a widow, and single mother, at the young age of 18. Being a single mother was frowned upon then and in her culture. But she knew she didn't want to remarry and instead of handing the thousands of hectares of tobacco plantations to her defunct husbands family as it was traditionally done, she decided to farm the land herself.
IMG_6459.JPG
My Grandmother

She knew she didn't have the start up to keep bringing in workers from Virginia to Mexico so she took it upon herself to go to the "Sierra Madre" and hire Huichol and Kora Indians from Nayarit to work "alongside her not for her" as she always said. They knew about the earth, crop rotations, blessing the soil and working hard and lovingly with their hands. She paid them well, offered them living quarters and till today they are mostly all considered friends and family to us.

People mocked my grandmother, told her nothing good could come of an unmarried woman with children trying to do a mans job. To which she would always respond, "I'm already 20 times richer than you" (which she wasn't at the time).

The thing is, even when the last cent had been spent on her helpers and in the land and all she had left to eat was scraps and she believed her words. When people tried to bring her down, she kept her chin up. And most importantly, she would repeat to herself that her children and her would do well in life.

Within 6 years my grandmother had made a name for herself and was one of the biggest suppliers of Tobacco. She later got together with an Italian accountant, my grandfather, but kept to her word and never married again. The land has since passed on to her children, my mother and her sister and 2 brothers. But the most important thing she passed down to all of us was, "Believe in the power of your own words, always remind yourself what you want in life and pretend it's already yours, and don't let anyone's negativity ever make you think any different."
IMG_6458.JPG
And that is one of the many reasons I forever will love and miss her.

I want to leave you all with a positive affirmation to carry with you throughout the week.

I am open to receiving and earning all the money that universe has to offer. Any money I spend comes back to me three-fold. This is what I am entitled to. So mote it be.

What is one lesson you learned from others in your family?

all content and images are my property, please ask before borrowing

Sort:  

Wow, what a lady! Is her nickname Wonderwoman?

Haha thank you, it might as well should have been. She was a tough one and that's where I get my stubbornness from that's for sure. :)

Thank you for the affirmation. I'd love to read more posts from you about them... As for one thing I learned from my family... gosh there are so many. The first one that came to mind was from my grandfather and about the role animals play in your life (especially) for food. As a farmer he would always tell me about the care and love you give to animals that will provide food for your family, "why would you ever treat an animal cruelly, when it is giving it's life and it's life force for you to live?"... words to live by. Consume animal or not with gratitude and kindness.

Your grandfather sounds like an amazing and intelligent man! So true! Why would you ingest meat that was treated cruelly, then you ingest all the negative energy, makes so much sense!☺️

I follow you bro.please follow me @shahaalam

I'd take your grandmothers teachings over 'the secret' any day! ;)

Thank you! Life experience counts so much more!

Wow! She was really a great Lady @ artedellavita, so much courage and perseverance!
Huge respect to her!
@progressivechef

Thank you friend, I miss her sommuch but I always pull from the strength she left us with!

Nice.please follow me .i follow you

Your grandmother was a strong beautiful woman and she's beautiful to🌻

Thank you friend, there was so much I learned from her, she was a great conversationalist <3

Great story. My grandma always said to work hard and save money. That worked well for me. There were times in my life that I forgot that and got into a lot of debt. To get out of my debt I just worked hard, paid off debt and saved money to get out of it.

I think the older generations had sommuch more strength and wisdom then ours!

Wow! What a powerful woman and story! Loved it. Your grandmother was quite the woman and overcame many obstacles. Times were a lot different then. Loved this post. Thanks so much for sharing. I am so inspired. Have a wonderful day. Tess :)

Aww friend thank you! Times were certainly a lot different. I had my son as a teenager and I remember her telling everyone- she's not the first or the last young girl to have a child, that's not an impediment for not going to college, that should motivate her for doing it better!

A beautiful story. Thank you for sharing. I guess if you get down to it, that is the entire premise of 'the secret'. Not my favorite book, but all wisdom is gained in drops, and this one provided a few drops.
Have a great day!

I so agree with you! We should always be ready to catch these drops when life rains them upon us.
Thank you and I'm glad to see you back today friend!

My Opa was my greatest giver of advice, he seemed codgy at the time, 'I'll feel sorry for you when I've got time' he'd say with a chuckle sitting in his chair for hours on end. He's spent his life farming and mining and raising seven kids, and enjoyed doing a lot of nothing in retirement. 'And I don't have any time' 😆 No ones gonna feel sorry for you, and if you feel sorry for yourself, you'll waste a lot of time. Not quite as inspiring as your grandmother, but very few are.

Your Opa seems quite inspiring to me, those words hold a lot of truth! Plus he had an awesomely talented grandson so I salute him for that :)

Yeah, my cousin is pretty great😝

Silly goose lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68606.74
ETH 3912.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64