Psychology Addict # 12 | Dealing with Emotions – Personality, Skill or Intelligence?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Emotional-Intelligence.png

Intelligence is a subject that has instigated curiosity for millennia. In the Middle Ages, for example, ‘intelligence’ was the term adopted to differentiate the ‘dull’ students from the ‘bright’ ones. In a more in-depth analysis, Ancient Greek philosophers discussed whether this was an innate ability or the product of learning; as they recognised that abstract thinking differs from individual to individual. But, only with the emergence of psychology as a scientific discipline in the late nineteenth century intelligence began to be systematically studied and measured. Nowadays the most common way of doing this is through tests; such as the WAIS, that scores IQ levels.

In the late 80’s and early 90’s, however, it became evident that standard IQ tests did not predict, as many believed, an accomplished educational and or professional performance. Other factors such as self-control, tenacity as well as empathy seemed to play more of a role in the lives of individuals deemed to be successful. It was around this time when the ‘emotional intelligence’ term was first coined by Peter Salovey and Jonh D. Meyer - two American psychologists. It did not take long until the concepts that define ‘emotional intelligence’ began to be regarded as measurable; thereafter, tests to score EI soon were designed generating an immense lucrative business in the market of job recruitment.

‘Emotional intelligence’ tests evaluate aspects which are subdivided in four categories: Perceiving emotion, using/facilitating emotion, understanding emotion and managing emotion (MSCEIT test).

But, is managing emotions intelligence?

It has been widely agreed upon the fact that ‘emotional intelligence’ relates to the understudying and management not only of one’s own emotions, but those of other people too. What remains a question, nonetheless, is whether this is a capacity resulted from the individual’s personality, a skill that can be learnt or intelligence.

Psychologists have long debated that how someone perceives, controls and manages emotions is largely to do with having traits such as: imaginative, perceptive, outgoing and assertive; personality characteristics that make certain individuals behave and relate to those around them in a particular manner. Greater still is the body of professionals who regard ‘emotional intelligence’ as a skill, a belief that enables them to ‘teach’ how to manage emotion through self-help books, programs and retreats. Finally, the discussions that consider the management of emotions as intelligence disregard aspects like social skills, problem solving in groups, and identifying with others; therefore focusing exclusively on emotional competencies as seen on the MSCEIT test.

Conclusion

This is certainly a debate fated to continue for many years to come with no final conclusion. Conceptualising emotional intelligence as something that can be measured, like the IQ, may lead to a view that simplifies its significance of entailing a complex set of competencies which undoubtedly comprise an important part of human psychological functioning. Still, there is an invaluable lesson to be drawn from this exchange of views: the emphasis it gives to the importance of emotional and social aptitudes in schools, the workplace and life in general. Something we all shall put in practice here on Steemet! 😊

[Original content by Abigail Dantes – 2017]
redline.png

Reference List:

Mayer, J. D., Salovey, P. And Caruso, D. R. (2002) Maeyer –Salovey-Caruso Emotional Intelligence Test (MSCEIT), Toronto, Ontario, Multi-Health Systems, Inc.

Richardson, K. (1998) The Origins of Human Potential: Evolution, Development and Psychology, London, Routledge.

Weschler, D. (1958) The Measurement and Appraisal of Adult Intelligence, 4th edn, Baltimore, MD, The Williams and Wilkins Company.

Image source - 1, 2

Sort:  

Excellent article. Upvoted. I learned a lot. Followed.

You have a new follower!

So do you @tamacvet, I really enjoy reading your posts. They are truly heartfelt!
Thank you :)

Thank you! Well, we'll be seeing each-other then! Looking forward to it!

That's great! 😊

My Daughter is very bright but can also be very emotional. I remember a lady telling me that my daughter has the emotional intelligence of a 3 year old. She's 5. I didn't really know what to say, although I could think of a few things I'd like to say to her now. I wasn't sure what to make of it. I think it's good she shows her emotions & she's also very good at working through them when they arise - if handled the right way.

From your comment I will say that, that lady is a retard :)

Why thank you :)

@kaykunoichi, well ... it looks like your little girl is doing great, in my opinion: there is nothing unusual in her showing her emotions at the age of 5, particularly if she deals with them as they emerge! 🙂

Glad you still have time to make posts ^_^

😘❤️ Thank you for stopping by @trumpman!
Your support means a lot to me! 😊

I have this book of Gardner that a friend lent me some time ago. I should read it I guess. It is exactly about these different forms of intelligence (which is a concept I buy at the 10000% level :)

On multiple intelligences (Gardner)!! That is great :)
Yes, so do I. Intelligence is one of the most fascinating topics in psychology! Including its history: craniometry, the army test, Albert Binet ... they are all worth a read :D. But, I know you don't have the time @lemouth, and this is why I appreciate so much you taking a few minutes of your busy schedule to read what I write! It means a lot to me!
THANK YOU! :))

I really want starting to read the book of Gardner. It is on my desk for more than a year now... I don't even remember the last time I took a book that was not about physics :p

Very interesting read although i feel your intellect is definitely higher than mine :-) I wonder if you read or heard of "molecules of emotion" by Candace b. Pert. This is not really about emotional intelligence but it brought a lot of clarity to me on the subject "What are emotions". I was always astonished by the effect of a Vipassana meditation where bringing total awareness to specific body points could bring out a lot of emotions. The emotional body started to make a bit of sense but still felt quite etherical (now your high IQ posts make me use words i never use :-), i mean not-physical)
Now this book is about the discovery that emotions are a 100% physical phenomenon, quite an eye-opener to me. It must have influence on the knowledge of emotional intelligence but i leave that up to you :-) Much love.

Hey @ bubke 😃. I FULLY agree with the concept that 'emotions are 100% physical phenomenon'. I have not heard of Molecules of Emotion, but it sounds like a book I would be interested in looking into, for sure! As well as Vipassana meditation (I do Yoga on a daily basis - ashtanga ). I trully appreciate you taking the time to read and comment. Thank you so much for all the new info your brought to us! ❤️
All the best!

Interesting article @abigail-dantes. I knew there was such a thing as EI (I had heard about it), but I had never realized it was broken into different measurements. It makes total sense now that I have read it here, so thanks for clarifying it.

Thank you very much for stopping by, reading and commenting @bigpanda :)
I am glad to hear my post brought some new info to you!
All the best :D

I'm an emotional moron, but I blame my parents. lol

Ooohhhh !! LOL.
Well .... for what I can see your heart overflows with kindness! That is another matter altogether :P
Lots of love @geke!

Mais um artigo de muita qualidade! Parabéns!

Obrigada @dyego :)
Que bom vê-lo por aqui!!

Realy good post.i resteem your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64010.25
ETH 3401.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62