Selling Psychedelics to Society

photo-1484589065579-248aad0d8b13.jpg
For a psychonaut, discussing the experiences that he or she has had is often difficult. There are a number of reasons for this but one is more disheartening the others. Describing the experience is difficult but this can be overcome with the cleaver use of language. Getting other people to listen, on the other hand, can be quite challenging. The general population has been conditioned to fear and mistrust psychedelic drugs and to view their users as unreliable. Many people, blinded by propaganda, will dismiss the lessons of the inner consciousness. They will judge the psychonaut. They will call the traveler of the mind and soul a criminal. They will, ultimately, miss a valuable message if they can not be made to see the trippy truth. There is hope, however. The world is changing and our voices can reach more people than ever before. Psychedelics are creeping back into popular culture and if we act now we may be able to change the public opinion about these useful substances and, with a little time and a lot of work, we may see a world where people are free to travel the mind without fear of judgment or repercussion.

Thanks to the decades of anti-drug propaganda and people's seeming unwillingness to question authority, a returning psychonaut will often find it difficult to share the revelations he or she had while tripping. For years, people have been told that these are dangerous drugs with dangerous users. When one admits to using these substances, he or she starts out as a criminal in the mind of whomever he or she is conversing with. Questing authority is difficult for many people. Their world view relies on the idea that the authorities can be trusted and have their best interest at heart. To them, these lies taste like truth. It is easy to judge these misguided individuals harshly but this is the wrong approach. If a psychonaut wishes to win the hearts and change the minds of others, he or she must understand the root of the issue before it can be addressed.

photo-1518489979617-2693e50ddf3a.jpg

Questions and their answers are frightening to the ignorant and poison to propagandists. When a user tells someone that he or she has seen the truth and that we all have been lied to about these drugs, it is upsetting to many people. The lies of the authorities are designed to make people feel secure and righteous. When you tell them that you have asked scary questions about these substances and received frightening answers about the society which bans them, their security is replaced with uncertainty and their righteousness evaporates. Fear is what turns people away from the words of the psychonaut. This fear is the is the disease spread by propaganda and truth is its cure.

Knowing that fear is the source of resistance, one can now navigate around it. We can design our rhetoric to put their minds at ease. We can let them know that being fooled by the lies doesn't make them stupid and spare their pride. We can tell them that they are the victims of the propaganda and we are here to show them the truth. Once the fear is overcome, they will be more receptive to the our message. When people hear about the value of psychedelics they without the influence of propaganda clouding their minds they will come around. We all have stress, depression, and mental fatigue at times and psychedelics can improve these things. We all have questions about the nature of existence and of the "self" and psychedelics can help people find answers to these questions. We can all become more enlightened from examining things under the strange light of a psychedelic experience. These and all the many other benefits of psychedelic usage can be sold to society, if we try.

photo-1504873977246-a857185bf4dc.jpg

Right now there is a unique opportunity for those of us who would like to see the normalization and eventual legalization of, at least, some psychedelic substances. Tripping seems to be more popular than it has been at any other point in my lifetime. Society is warming to the idea of psychedelic drugs as a relatively harmless pastime and that makes our job easier. There is less fear to overcome. The lies have grown feeble. At the same time, technology has increased the reach of our voices. If you, like me, believe that psychedelics can make the world a better place, speak out on the subject if you can or support people who you think will push the cause effectively. We have seen (in the United States) the idea of legal cannabis go from being unthinkable to teetering on the edge of reality in less than a generation. With some work on our part we can, hopefully, make similar progress on psychedelics.

Peace.

All the images in this post were sourced from the free image website, unsplash.com.

Sort:  

I wish I knew how to write like you do. You present truth and dispel lies so well that I don't think anyone could argue with what you say. Whenever I do have something to write about, I tend to overthink everything and spend too long figuring out what I'm trying to say and figuring out how to word things. (I've been writing this comment for at least 5 minutes now lol). But I guess I just need to keep trying.

Thank you. It takes a little bit of time and a lot of practice. I was terrible at it until spent a couple years taking lit classes and being forced to produce content for some rather strict professors. What I post here can take me anywhere from two to five hours depending on if I can get into a good rhythm and how much restructuring I need to do. I often find that what I am writing and what I think I am writing are a little different and need to be brought in line with each other and that eats up some time. Then it is a matter of polishing and proof reading which is where I struggle the most because I tend to be blind to my own mistakes.

If you keep at it you will get a little better every time you write. I watch a lot of stand-up comedy and a lot of interviews of stand-up comics and they universally say that they sucked for five or ten years before they really found their voice and I think writing is similar except we have the benefit of not having to do this in front of a drunken audience lol.

Once you find your voice everything else is pretty easy to iron out. One can work on how he or she presents information. I used to write a lot of research papers there are a number of ways to use sources that people don't realize. The instinct is to find things that agree with your point but if your case is strong that isn't all that helpful. Finding something to argue against or something to frame an argument can be more effective. Using "visual" wording is helpful and will really class things up too. I could say "she found a penny on the sidewalk" but it is better to say "walking down a sidewalk, she bent over and picked up a penny." Both statements say the same thing but one is more "visual" than the other.

I have always seen writing as more of a skill than a talent which is great because skills can be learned and improved.

Loading...

That was one I never got around to doing. I had the choice once between that and mescaline cactus and I chose the cactus which was fun but it tasted like the way nail polish remover smells lol. Mushrooms were always my favorite.

I tried Ayahuasca during my travels in Brazil but it wasn't a spiritual experience for me, unlike the rest. I guess I felt like just tripping on mushrooms lol. There's also the Santo Daime. Then the San Pedro cactus which I have tried too, but I was scared to take too much because I heard people getting crazy for a week lol. I'm already fine being naturally crazy.

Haha san pedro was what I had and the trip did last a long time but not weeks lol. I had to go to a college class still tripping a little bit the day after and I was super paranoid that the professor would notice.

From what I understand, psilocybin is very close to DMT so it isn't stange to hear that the trips feel the same. LSD is a little different but it always felt more harsh on the body. That could just be me though. I tried morning glory seeds once but they didn't really work. Bufo Alvarius venom is supposed to be really good but I could never find it and I am not going to wander around the desert looking for a toad to "milk" plus I can't imagine that the toad would enjoy it lol.

I could never find it and I am not going to wander around the desert looking for a toad to "milk" plus I can't imagine that the toad would enjoy it lol.

Now I am imagining someone wandering around the desert and looking for a toad to milk lol.

Haha. Yeah thats how they do it. They wait until it rains so the toads come out then they catch them and press on their venom glands and a little bit leaks out. Then they dry it and smoke it. It is supposed to feel like smoking DMT but with an extra body high. I think the main drug in it is 5-MeO-DMT but it also has bufotenine which is psychoactive too.

Awww poor toad 😔...Lol.

It feels a little wrong for sure. At least with mushrooms you don't have to manhandle anything lol.

Everything was fine until I got left here on Earth lol

Good one, brother! :)
Namaste from Bulgaria!
~ ~ ~
Integration & Grounding
Peace, love & Light
fluoo-mandala-portal~+.jpg

Thank you and awesome picture.

If you, like me, believe that psychedelics can make the world a better place, speak out on the subject if you can or support people who you think will push the cause effectively.

This is the call to action that I needed to see today. The best way to help ensure that a societal acceptance of psychedelic substances as a therapeutic tool is achieved in my lifetime is to get busy. Thank you for another great read!

No problem and thank you for reading.

druge is very hurmfull for humanself,
thamks

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @artisticscreech!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Your post very helpful. I like it. Your post is attracting me. Hope you will be with this way. Thank you ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48