The Artist Imprint Series- Prologue – Shades of Iridescence

in #prose6 years ago (edited)

Forward

This is the beginning of the Steemit Collaborative Fiction Series entitled - Artist Imprint Shades of Iridescence

The music chosen for the Prologue (listen while your read)

Prologue

One this day of New Beginnings
My first walk in Central Park of which I am sure there will be many.

My journal entry will read
Hello, world,
I am Karen
A recent graduate of Parsons School of Design
My studies of fashion design began in Paris and I finished my degree in Parson’s New York.
And after a long hot summer back home in Austin, Texas I have returned to New York to pursue a career in writing about the art of fashion or to write poetry, I don’t know maybe both. I wonder which one will help people the most?

In this big old world
Where I sometimes sense,
Feel…
So small
Where sometimes it’s easy to get lost in it all.
Yet I will choose,
And quickly I’m learning
That it’s our choices that determine our destiny.
And if we don’t move with a quickness, we will lose
Our footing,
In life, in a world
Which will just walk on by.
And when I look at myself from another shade,
Another view
Which I rarely care to take time to do.
I venture to one of the back rooms of me
And there I see underlying uncertainties
I see so much that seems odd and unclear
I feel somedays, that some left me out of the game that’s being played
All around me
And still, I wonder, through it all
With a knowing that my relentless spirit will lead me to truths
That will make sense of these intriguing yet perplexing mysteries.

I choose,
To follow my passion along with my instincts
And in this world, I will move up and have the courage to hold my head up
And look people in their eyes.
I will rise as the Artist, Writer, Poet that I am.
I dare to take a stand
And leave my artist imprint
Yes, the people of tomorrow will know that I was here.
And if it’s not to write our gifts on life or leave an imprint or work in a way that will leave the world in a better place.

Then for what reason do we come here?
I know I was born at this time to do something good,
That will build bridges to the future
Upon which many others will walk and create and sprinkle their gifts, and giving.
Leaving their imprint
As a calling card, as bread crumbs, for others to follow and do the same.

From where I now stand,
As I am once again,
At the beginning.
I don’t know what all my tomorrows will bring
But I do know,
I will stay on this course I have chosen.
I have a knowing that what I write will be far-reaching
Because I’ve got something to say.

Cover Art Painting -

Full Moon Mardi Gras

  • a collaborative courtesy of @inksanity
    Central Park image- Photography by Vivienne Gucwa
Sort:  

What a beautiful musing. It goes well with the image. I didn't know you went to Parsons. Not that I did, but I used to work near there. I see how that cultivated the artist in you in general, across modalities.

My favorite line from above is:
"I know I was born at this time to do something good,
That will build bridges to the future
Upon which many others will walk and create and sprinkle their gifts, and giving."

Indeed, this.

Thanks for reading @indigoocean No, I did not go to Parsons, this is a collaborative fiction series that I am launching today. The main character Karen went to Parsons School of Design. However, I did live in Brooklyn New (Bushwick) many years ago.

I dare to take a stand
And leave my artist imprint
Yes, the people of tomorrow will know that I was here.

This is so inspiring.

There she is! Welcome brave, young Karen @rensoul17 :) Wishing you a safe journey being and becoming and good to hear from you, at the beginning of it.

Fine, evocative work, @inksanity, the stuff dreams are made of!

Chapter One will be posted by 3 PM tomorrow. Thanks for stopping by @yahialababidi.

✨🙏🏼💫

Digging the tone you're setting here with the music. And I like your character's open-mind dialogue here, letting us know her anticipations.

Oh wow...wonderful. What an honor to have my art along side your soulful writing. Thank you for allowing me to be a part of this project.

That it’s our choices that determine our destiny.

Very true! I am so proud of this @rensoul17! I am so sorry if it took me a while to respond to this post, because I have so much going on in my personal life. Know that I will support you from day one until the last.
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53