Why Steemit Is Aweome: Met A Fellow Steemian From Germany in Uganda(on Holiday)

in #promo-steem6 years ago

Do you think Steemit can create lasting friendships?
I do not need you to answer that question! I am going to answer it for you with proof.

20180326_143242_HDR.jpg

Yesterday was my best day so far on Steemit as i met a fellow Steemit from Germay @achimmertens .

I have always read posts of guys who meet fellow Steemians from other countries and I always feel envy! I always looked for opportunities for this to happen to me.

It is really interesting to meet a person who shares similar passions with you and am happy it happened to me yesterday.

How Did We Link Up?

I am sure some of you might be wondering how we linked.
As some of you may not know,am an active curator of the Uganda team and I keep checking almost all posts that use tag Uganda.You can check out our posts here
https://steemit.com/created/uganda

We linked up almost a month ago on Steemit when he commented on a post of one of the Ugandans .As i said earlier,i keep reading and voting most of the posts made by Ugandans and also comment and reply to comments.

I did reply to his comment on that post and he hinted on how he will be coming to Uganda for holiday in 2 weeks time.We developed a relationship with his subsequent posts that he talked on detail of his interest and plan on coming to Uganda.

We continued talking by relying to each other's comments back and forth until his time of arrival to Uganda reached.We even linked up on Twitter!

So it so happens that @achimmertens arrived to Uganda last Saturday 24/03/2018 and we were supposed to link up the best day 25/03/2018 which we couldn't as i went to the wrong address!
We linked up finally yesterday and it was a wonderful day for both of us!

What We Talked About

We talked about many things like getting to know each other and the like.You all know what people talk about when they first meet each other(unless you have never met a new person which is weird!).

1. Difference of life in Germany and Uganda.

He said them life here is so different from that in Germany,which is meant so hahaha!
He hinted of how here is so hot compared to Germany(do i really need to give you this details???)!
The weather patterns are different as we have no hope in Uganda of experiencing snow!!! He said though that kids love the snow season that side.

2. Economics

There is obviously a difference in the two as one is a European country and another is an African country! No more explanations needed here i guess!
He said most people there have decent jobs and life is relatively good.In Uganda we have a few jobs or Let me say it point blank! We have high unemployment rates though many people have gone to school(have attained bachelor's degrees).
I also told him of how some people from Uganda have resorted to moving out of the country to Arab countries like Dubai Oman and others.

He also said that in German the cost of living there is a bit high even though they earn a modest salary.

3. Happiness of People

This is something that shocked me a lot,he said People in Uganda are very happy folks and welcoming,so for you all planning on coming...you welcome home.
He said it's a rare scene seeing people freely happy in Germany without the aid of liquor!!
It's fascinating how we Ugandans are contented and happy with what we have and we live happy lives.

4. Steemit in Germany and Uganda.

He said that even in Germany a big number of folks are not yet well versed with crypto as is here in Uganda.The adoption or trust in crypto is all the same all over the world.There is a small number of people who believe and undertand crypto.
I thought that may be i am the only one who faces the resistance of people to crypto or Steemit.He said he also has a had time explaining Steemit to his friends and workmates,the same problem i have here.

However is reading this now,count yourself lucky to be among the first people to believe and noon Steemit as a big number is still out there doubting.Steemit celebrated 2 years a few days ago and you can read that post by Steemit here

We all early adopters here and we need to take advantage of that by establishing ourselves as influencers before we have many people join Steemit.

I also shared with him my Steemit story(which I write about soon)and how Steemit is a savior for Africa.I explained how the money i earn on Steemit 3 times more than the money an average employee earns in Uganda! I will write a post detailing why Steemit is a financial revelation to Africa.

Future plans of Developing Steemit in Uganda.

I love the passion @achimmertens has for helping people and especially the love he has developed for Africa particularly Uganda.He has a similar passionike mine whereby we promote Steemit wherever we are.He has already told all the people(20) he came with for holiday about Steemit and also some employees of Vision For Africa Ngo he is affliated with.

I had even forgotten to mention about the wonderful work Vision For Africa International.You need check out the awesome work this organisation is doing for Uganda.

We talked of how we can promote Steemit to organisation and it's employees,lucky enough he has talked already to many employees and I will be going back to the organisation next week to give them a thorough explanation and potential of Steemit. We brain stormed ideas of how he can help us grow and help the Uganda community through Steemit.He will write about this in his next posts.You can check out his latest post here of his impressions of Uganda.

https://steemit.com/uganda/@achimmertens/visiting-uganda-day-3

We really talked about a lot and I can not exhaust everything here.We talked for over 4 hours, yes four hours.I even met his wonderful family and I was welcomed warmly by them.

Haaa I had forgotten,@achimmertens brought me some gifts and wow the choclate is awesome,thanks for the gifts and very happy as you fullfilled your promise of bringing me the gifts.
20180326_144004.jpg
20180326_144022.jpg

More Pics

20180326_143131.jpg
20180326_190146.jpg
20180326_190047.jpg
20180327_001931.jpg
20180326_143123.jpg

As i conclude,am very happy @achimmertens spared a whopping 4 hours to talk to .Thank you a lot for your time and passion for doing good,am excited I have made and met a new friend all courtesy of Steemit.
I almost forgot,we even shared a meal at the premises of Vision For Africa.
U5dqr3dzzSNM9hcKGuoCTuvSvZBgn8k.gif

Thanks for reading this post til this far!

If you liked this post please upvote and share

Love
Jarau Moses

Sort:  

@jaraumoses I have been following and upvoting for a little while now and I just wanted to bring it to your attention that I really appreciate the work that you do and your passion. I actually named you in my introduction post, which I made the other day. Please check it out. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@mulletwang/hey-steemit-long-time-lurker-first-time-poster-10-of-post-to-random-minnow
If ever I visit Africa I will be sure to try and link up. Please do the same if you ever find yourself in Canada.

-mulletwang

Thanks for always supporting my posts and am sure we shall definately meet sometime to come,will be checking out your blog shortly.

Hi Jarau,
thank you for this wunderful post. Yes I think this is a good frindship!
One sentence to the happiness in Germany: Maybe I have overthrown it a little bit. Not all are unhappy or need alcohol. If adult People meet, they often drink some beer, but it's not allways too much, it's just for enjoying the atmosphere.

Thank you guys for your realy warm welcome!!!

hi @jaraumoses I love the fact you keep it simple , your truly an inspiration to the Uganda community truly may God keep you smiling always your trying to solve the problem of unemployment among the youth
thanks dear i know God has a special reward for you

It is very beautiful to see, how Steemit can even connect people that live far apart each other! ♥
God bless you!

@jaraumoses I envy ur determination towards promoting this magic coin. Am looking up for whatever u do so that I achieve more.
How I wish u go with me when going to preach the coin to the vision for Africa international.
Though we Aldo have decent jobs but they are few. U have to correct that. 😂😂😂

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

beautiful scenery and its cool style really i like ..... by @ tasier22 follow me

Steemit is so great. Without it, I wouldn't have met you too.

I really like to hear about your story to meet steemian friends and you are a kind person, if there is a chance please help me.

You got a 35.89% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @jaraumoses!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46