Steemit growth and newbies experience : a lot of people have different opinions and so do I

in #promo-steem7 years ago (edited)

2018-01-03_08.16.27.jpg

They say ideas don't come fully they only Form when you begin to work towards them.


I sometimes wonder why I don't seem to be doing well on this platform for almost a month and half. I sometimes feel like giving up and sometimes I wonder whether its that am not getting the necessary training on how to succeed on steemit or steemit is totally different from what I thought it was.

The first day I came across this platform, the kind of feeling I had inside was un-imaginable. I felt I was a billionaire at the spot and quickly got myself registered I went through the due process as any one here had done. I was given sometime for my account to be approved and ready to use. waiting each day for my account to be approved was like waiting for a decay. Four to five days went by and I still had no clue on the whereabout of my account. And all I was doing this while was, doing a lot of research on how the blockchain system works, how it can really benefit one and above all how to achieve greatly on steemit and where ever I go they keep mentioning 'write good and quality content to get rewarded' so I was very happy at first having in mind that even if I put in a little effort and write good content no matter how small it is I will get noticed for my work.

At first I didn't know that someone’s good morning greetings is far good and quality than someone’s two pages article that took him two days to write. Someone’s Christmas message is far more important and rewarding than a tutorial that took someone almost a week to research on. And when I remember about the first message I saw about steemit it makes me laugh. The day I saw the slogan, ' blog, Upvoted and get rewarded' it was like i was in heaven already. And after I registered I waited like am to die if I don't join this platform at that very moment.

It is true what they say, Ideas don't come fully formed they only Form when you begin working towards them. A good friend of mine once said, not all selling are worth buying and not all that glitters is gold. There was a time he even made me laugh with his saying, ' virtuality is not always a reality'


What is steemit?

I don't really know what is all about, but i hope with time we will find out. Though I can't explain what it is, A lot of people have their own personal opinion that I will like to share with you.

Steemit is a platform where you can only make it big by buying upvotes.

This was what I heard from the first steemian I met on discord. He hold the view that its not possible if you decide to follow the rules.at the time, I didn't understand since I was so new to the platform until I saw someone who mistakenly posted a 'full stop' and it received more than hundred upvotes and over eighty sbd worth for the post.

Another friend too told me that steemit is a community where friends and your own investment gives you more upvotes than your so called ' good and quality content '.

He added that, in his few months on this platform he noticed that many upvotes because they wants to, not because they read and enjoyed your content. Its either you are friends in one way or the other, you are part of the investment team where their slogan is upvote for upvote, comment for comment, and follow for follow or you are just lucky enough to have posted at the right time. Just after I had a conversation with this guy I started monitoring and studying the platform. Not long I met a newbie from Indonesia who had about five post at the time and his latest post was a dtube video and it was the most rewarding post for the first twelve hours with more than one hundred and twenty sbd worth of reward. The video was about thirteen seconds long and I thought it was something quality but short to deserve such a rewarding content until I viewed only to realise that it was a Christmas message which says' hello, I just want to say a merry Christmas and a happy new year, byee!! ' . I checked through and saw a lot of dtube videos related to Christmas, some where more than a minute long and some almost 4-5 minutes long. I checked one of the videos and it was about why and how to celebrate Christmas and at the end he gave his Christmas wishes and yet the video had less than five upvotes and 0.05 sbd worth. It was that moment I realised that his opinion wasn't wrong after all. That sometimes your post get rewarded by luck and not by quality and by who knows you and not your quality contents you put out there.

There was an amusing but interesting opinion of a guy I met on discord.

He was of the view that, steemit was more or less like survival of the fitters. That You will join the community for the rewards but you will never stay for the community sake because no one here seems to care about the other. Even if you talk to people whom you think will help you grow they will never pay hid to what you have to say and which community would you like to stay when no one seem friendly. He told me that when he first joined the platform and was introduced to discord, he wrote to so many people from one discord channel to the other just to seek their attention but no one ever bordered to write back, not even hello just to respond to his messages.

They say, Rome wasn't built in one day so therefore it is a struggle until you get noticed and these they say, takes time to build.


*Does support still exist on the platform? And for how long?*

I know there are a lot of whales on this platform who are still trying their possible best to main the core mandate of the community yet it seem not enough because the community is growing each every day and the ratio between the whales and the newbies is inversely proportional, as a whale keep growing the newbie remains where he is because it is practically becoming impossible to easily get recognise. As I mentioned earlier some still make it a point to read and appreciate good and quality content no matter how small it may be, supporting newbies in whichever way they can and I will like to thank them all. I can neither mention all of them nor mentioned all those I know of but there some I can never forget because I have monitored and seen their impact on newbies in this community and I will like to say a very very big thank you to @ackza @tj4real @kwakumax @ejemai @mcsamm @anaman @surpassingoogle @beanz @jerrybanfield @nanzo-scoop


In fact @surpassingoogle and @ackza has caught my eye a lot. these two guys has all the time in the world to go through your content, upvote, comment and sometimes even Resteem it for more visibility especially when you are a newbie and this wonderful support I think has given a lot of newbies a good start and a solid foundation to grow.

And also @tj4real @kwakumax @ejemai and @jerrybanfield @mcsamm @anaman has done a lot in promoting steemit in so many ways. They have all the time in the world to advice you on the appropriate measures to follow and these guys have travelled thousands of miles just to spread the word and create awareness of the platform. Some have even taking a bold step by creating starch ( steemit hub) in their various vicinities just to promote the community but I still think more can still be done if more devote their time and resources to this great course.


Steemit ghana and our first meet up: a way of promoting steemit ghana.


I was overwhelmed when I heard about the steemit ghana meet up which is scheduled to take place in sunyani on the 6th of January at exactly 2 pm. I know this is a step in the right direction,if not for anyone but for we the newbies it's a kind of support we have been waiting for. Concerns will be raise and i hope and pray that measures Will be put in place to eradicate or at least minimise the problems newbies faces when they join the community.


*Come lets witness how steemit ghana takes a new shape *

If you like it

Sort:  

I'm speechless now.

Hope to see you this saturday.

Stay blessed

yh sure

thanks bruh

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 7200 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.100 Steem or 0.100 Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works. News you will find under the hashtag #resteembotnews.

Please help us grow and use our link to trade #IOTA #BTC #ETH and a lot of more at one of the biggest exchanges. https://www.binance.com/?ref=10230705

@resteem.bot

Congratulations @jaeydallah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting post. I believe with hard work you will get there.........

hopefully we will get to the promise land

your tag is wrong for busy.org because 1 tag is (busy)use need

Bro am not clear or you mean i should have used busy as one of my tags?

You got a 0.86% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @jaeydallah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01