Call Me A Baby Whales, Not A Minnow: Being New At A Place Could Be Frustrating | A Must Read

in #promo-steem6 years ago


Image source

Being a newly joined member in a community could be so frustrating sometimes. To be sincere, it is not always easy to mingle with the old members. Some people get intimidated and leave due to how some of their friends who have been there before them take them. Well, not at everywhere or every community. But I'm sure you can reason with me when steemit is focused on. To be successful on Steemit, you need to socialize yourself and interact with the minnows, the dolphins and most especially, the whales, as I'm always told by my little brother, @teekingtv who introduced me to this great platform. But not every whale or dolphin is accommodating and knows how to welcome the minnows. And this happens to be one of the challenges minnows face as they join steemit.

Some minnows feels somehow bad for being regarded as being inferior to others. Well it may sound funny, but as a minnow I can tell you I understand how this feels. Did I mention I'm not facing this challenge? Trust me I am. I will give you an example with a real life scenario.

Ok guys, there's this Whatsapp group I got added to through a friend. It has to do with sharing of ideas among Nigerian steemians and rendering of necessary help to the newbies (minnows). Many of the members are dolphins at least and so just watching them chat and talk about Steemit makes me more interested in it. To be candid, they're doing so well on it that even a Yahoo boy (internet scammer) would leave scamming just to earn legit rewards. Of course, hustlers are just concerned about making money after all. But despite this, there's a way they treat minnows and if you're not understanding enough, you would see it insulting and might end up leaving the group and stop trying to interact with elders in the game. Imagine you ask them to help check on a post to see if it's okay and they ignore you, that could be so frustrating.

Many minnows don't even know how to do a task that's as simple as using correct tags for their contents. Even so there are several tutorials one could read right here on Steemit to get started so well, there are challenges you face that request immediate help of an experienced steemian.


Source

My advice to the dolphins and whales in the building

  • Regardless of how busy you might be, try to attend to the minnows that contact you for some help. The truth is minnows get pissed off easily.
  • When you see a minnow's post that isn't good enough, be kind to drop comment that provides solution and also ensure a that such minnow doesn't make such mistake again.
  • We have some that already promote steemit and support minnows, I hope this continues.


Source

My little advice to my fellow minnows

  • Despite that i'm also new here, I know one thing for sure; miracle doesn't pay here on Steemit, hard work does. You're not yet being noticed because your contents aren't worth it yet. Work harder on your contents.
  • Continue to socialize yourself with the elders in the game. Remember, interaction will make you grow faster.
  • Don't ever think of giving up, instead, think of ways to hit the limelight.
  • Dedicate lots of time to explore the platform. You have everything you need to learn to become a whale in no time.
  • Remember, your goal is to be successful on this platform no matter what you face.


Source

Minnows don't give up, you're getting there.

This post is based on what I've learnt so far on this great platform, everything might not be totally true when it comes to what other minnows have experienced. I just hope it helps someone even if it's just a bit.

It is my hope that I see some experienced steemians leave some comments that can add more values to this post.


Thanks so much for stopping by.
Happy steem!


You may also check my previous post:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95