A Bullet Journal Beginning

in #productivity8 years ago

A Bullet Journal Beginning

I'm a tech person, but have a love affair with the world of analog notebooks.

In fact, I usually cart around three. This is something I have struggled with - justifying the use of so many at a time and trying to fit them all in my bag. What went in each was pretty clear cut - personal musings in my journal; calendar, schedule, and to-dos in my planner; everything else in my everyday notebook. It was the hassle of carting all three around everywhere that complicated things.

Moleskine notebooks

I tried to reduce them in different ways. For example I tried merging the journal and planner into one book. Using a large plain Moleskine notebook, I glued printed calendar pages in for each month and journaled on the remaining pages. This system worked amazingly well, but still left me carting around two notebooks.

I also tried merging the notebook into the journal. It was completely disorganised and made it difficult to refer back to notes I'd made on a particular topic. Adding a new book to my "To Be Read" list required a search party and a packed lunch just to find the correct page.

I then tried going smaller, moving to pocket size Moleskines on the logic that three small notebooks would be easier to cart. The did fit in my bag better, however the lack of page space meant cramped writing and no room to think. Likewise a move to a Midori Traveler's Style notebook allowed all three notebooks in one cover, but I found the page size limiting when taking notes.

I also tried to go digital, moving calendar, to-do lists and notes onto my smartphone. This left me with only my journal still in a notebook. The digital calendar was great and I still use it. I couldn't gel to the to-do list and notebook applications though. Paper and pen kept calling me back to an analog solution.

Stack of notebooks

Then I read about bullet journaling - you can read about it too at Bullet Journal Instructions.

Something clicked. For a start, it has a heavy focus on one of my great loves - lists. It is also quick, simple, organised, and easy to set up. The only requirements are a notebook (any notebook) and a pen.

As luck would have it, #OneBookJuly was also rolling around with a challenge to use only one notebook and one pen for one whole month. With that added kick I made the leap and committed to moving everything (bar the digital calendar) across into a new notebook. Journal, planner, and notes - all in one book, all neatly organised, all searchable via the index pages.

The old and the new

A month later and the system is working really well. Some of the Bullet Journal methods, such as the use of collections, were techniques I already used in some form or other so adapting was quite easy.

I have focused mainly on the daily log, the future log and collections, leaving out the monthly log layout. The first few pages of the notebook are my index and it's been easier than I expected to keep this up to date. I found I prefer to use checkboxes rather than dots for my list items, so have adapted this to fit my style.

One huge benefit I've found with the system is being able to just move to a new page as required - no more leaving blank pages "just in case" and no more waiting to finish one topic before starting another. You just move to a new page and update the index accordingly.

Daily Log

Action

Have you tried bullet journaling? Did it work for you? How did you customise it to fit your needs?

Further reading

Sort:  

I keep a diary and two notebooks, I'd never heard of bullet journaling - I just looked at the link in your post and I am definitely going to give it a shot!

Hi! You have been the first person to outreach to me, and I really appreciate that. I admit I am a weak journaler. But I have a baby on the way, and my Mother kept a journal. It is so precious to me, I haven't read it. But I'd like to keep a record for my children of who I am in my mind. I really like the feel of an analog journal. Any tips for getting in the habit?

Hi @spethoscope! The thing that helped the most to get me into a journaling habit was actually a game. I had to write a journal entry each day - it could be anything: a single word description of my day, a glued in photo, a dot point log, or pages and pages of prose. The challenge was to see how many days in a row I could go without breaking the chain. If I missed a day the chain reset and I'd start again, trying to beat my previous high score. A silly bit of fun, but it really helped me to build the habit.

I like that idea, To have time you have to make time (to journal) ironic that here I am typing when I could be doing just that.. Funny.

Either way, besides that getting into the habit another tough step is overcoming your own critique. I'd be willing to read an article of yours on that subject. I'm sure it makes you a better writer. Any-who thanks!

Glad to see we are several to have an insane relationship with notebooks ;) Moleskine are of course great, but mainstream nowadays. I recommend as well these http://www.lekraft.com/FR/C29/carnets_classic.html (French) or these from Italy http://www.papuro.com/papuro-journals/papuro-milano-journals.html absolutely gorgeous XD

I loved your post! :D I started this year with Bullet Journaling and it has been a magical discover for me. It semplified many things in my life, planning, reflecting, even creativity. And it's helping me to keep my mind healthy, removing what's not necessary. A great method which I'm still learning to use and exloring. If you want to check how I use it and to give me some suggestions I'm going to share my little experience with Bullet Journal here on Steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45