Survival Items: Lifestraw And Inflatable Solar Lantern - DTube Upload AND Embedded Video - YOU CHOOSE!

in #preppers6 years ago (edited)

DTube Upload...



It's been a while since I've done a video about Preparedness and Survival. Quite a while! Well, I purchased two new handy dandy light weight items to tell you about that you may not have in your Bug Out Bag or even considered. If you go camping or long distance hiking, you would enjoy this video as well!

Embedded Video From YouTube...

Thanks for watching!!!!

Catch me also on:

DTube:

Sort:  

Those are good for when you're on the move and don't have time to kill, but something to keep in mind; once you use it the part between the filter and the mouth piece (on the inside) will be a place for germs to grow and spread. So experts recommend 3 month life whether it's clogged or not; the other thing is when it gets heavier and harder to use, time to throw it away..
All in all good to have for every individual.
I would recommend the sawyer backpacking models for each of you as well, (better filtration, more life, but takes longer) when you get there...
Lastly you need a Sawyer point zero two.. I think it's only about 60 bucks, and you will also need a clean 5 gallon bucket to use it... The Sawyer point zero two takes you down to 0.2 microns, incredible actually, that means not even viruses can pass!
and it's back flush-able which means the filter life is nearer to indefinite.. they use these for whole villages in impoverished Nations..
Clean water for yourselves is good; clean water for a village, that falls under the distinction of Kick Ass!
Keep up the good work SqB!

With the Lifestraws, I'm kinda hoping that with continuous use, the germ collecting issue won't be so bad. You have to blow it out between uses too and don't let it get too cold. We can share one and save the second one too. That's an option to extend the "no fire" option. Once in a safe location I am still worried about a strong heat signature....DRONES. Depending on the reason for the bug out. If it's to hide from the Beast System, drones and more will be a big issue. Yeah, I had a lifestraw/water bottle combo and it's noticeable when it's spent and needs to go. I also have a collapsable (sp?) bucket for collecting rainwater. With that said.........

https://sawyer.com/water-filtration/
CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could have gone this way. I didn't know about this. Even the mini filter filters much more...100,000 gallons. AHHHH OHHH III WAAANTTTTT. I will investigate their site and where I want to buy from. I will more than likely have some Christmas gifts in cash to buy myself something I want or need. I can not thank you enough. I have always assumed I could do a fire in a shelter as long as the light is shielded and smoke is not seen at night. Having surveillance tech everywhere changes my 20 year old plan ALOT!. I am so glad we are all on here to share info. THANKS AGAIN!!!!!!

Hey alright! i forgot you could back flush the life straw!!
Life straw = get home bag,
sawyer mini = bug out bag
sawyer zero point 2 = restarting a community

I am so grateful for my steemit pals. We make a great team!

Great geat, and very sensible to have!
Personally I carry a variety of tiered water filtration/purification systems in my BOB and withing the confines of my abode.

Size IS Everything!

People have to realise and relate to pore sizes when it comes to filtration and assess WHAT they are preparing for and WHAT their potential risks are. The truth is, there are many many viruses and other nasties that can get into our water.... RISK FACTORS!

Polio Virus = 30 nanometers / 0.03 Microns
Rabies = 80 nanometers / 0.08 Microns
VIRUS SIZES.png

EVERY CHOICE IS BETTER THAN NO CHOICE

Those lanterns look pretty good.

Oh Wow! Excellent additional information! Thanks much!!!! I remember this video on your YouTube channel. Together I think we have people thinking about their options.

The lantern is totally cool. Not sure I would use it outside of a cave but I like the option.

Thanks for resteeming!!!

Congratulations @squirrelbait! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

howdy squirrelbait! another great video with tremendous information and more information in the excellent comments!

Thanks there partner. It's a group effort. I really like that lantern. It will be so nice for winter power outages and storm outages come spring. The video doesn't do it justice. Thanks for dropping by!!!!

squirrelbait! you mean you have a lot of power outages up there just in normal storms?

We are part of tornado alley so we get very strong storms. We are flat so LOTS of wind. Don't you?

we get some wind and the electric goes out but it usually just for a few minutes when it does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34