DIY Bushcraft Knife - Upcycling A Metalworking File #2c (Tempered)

in #prepper6 years ago

Hello SteemMeisters,

As stated in the last couple of posts:
https://steemit.com/prepper/@eggmeister/diy-bushcraft-knife-upcycling-a-metalworking-file-2
https://steemit.com/prepper/@eggmeister/diy-bushcraft-knife-upcycling-a-metalworking-file-2b-sneaky-test

I have now tempered the blade in my mum's oven yesterday while I was cooking the Sunday Roast :) The oven was set to just below max (around 225c) and the knife was in for about 50 minutes. The shiny parts of the knife have taken on a golden/champagne tinge now with just a few spots slightly darker.

20180527_120029.jpg
20180527_120038.jpg
20180527_120058.jpg

The golden colour is much darker on the photos than it is in reality.


I've had another go with the cheapo £1.00 grinding stone to even up the blade sharpness as there was a couple of duller portions to the edge. I'm very happy with the progress so far, it appears to be a really comfortable (even without the scales fitted as yet) and purposeful knife.

I'm looking forward to the next stage of the project, watch this space folks :)

Bye for now,

EggMeister.

footer2.png

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post was featured in my Preppers' Curation Day- Weekly Edition 13 today!

Hello @goldendawne,
That's very much appreciated, thank you very much :)

Best regards,
Rob.

wow was it once a file?

Indeed it was NC4OM :)
Just needs a little more work.

I like, I've been doing some upcycling myself this month, ive made a huge list of items some pretty cool too, will get them listed soon. I know you like your outdoors and a buddy offered me some army gor tex pants and jackets, If he drops them in I will let you know and send you a set if you would like for free : )

Hi NC4OM, that's might kind of you but I wouldn't want to do you out of pocket. If you get loads of gear you could do a steemit auction/lottery perhaps?

Sweet idea : ) lets see what comes

Awesome job done! congrats bud

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00