Daily prep: Prepping is insurance against unforeseen circumstancessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #prep7 years ago (edited)

I don't believe in real zombies. I do believe that many people are zombies though. They are unaware or unwilling to observe the world around them. They haven't experienced hard times yet. They don't believe that it could happen to them. I lived through the Great recession. I have a wife and 4 children and I had a hard time paying bills, buying food, and finding work. I was a contractor and the other contractors I did work for went out of business. It was sink or swim. The experience taught me that I have to be able to rely more on myself . There may come a time when there will be no where else to turn.

Preppers aren't crazy. Some of them are very passionate, but you can never have too much insurance right? If you want to get into it, you will have to sacrifice a little bit of time, space around the house, and money that you would otherwise use for pleasure, but you don't have to drop everything in life and stop talking to your friends. I don't want anyone to know that I prep because I don't want anyone coming to my house to take what I have worked, prepared, and sacrificed for. I want to share a little bit of what I have learned and what I prefer in my preps to help you get started.

In future articles I will share strategies, tactics, and personal preferences as to my own preparations to give you ideas on how to start your own SHTF insurance program. There is no right way to do it, but some things are better than others. Sometimes you will read something that you had not thought of and I like it when light bulbs go off in a persons heads. Pretty soon you will have a knack for it and develop an instinct for it. Later!!
20170727_175501-min.jpg

Sort:  

I'll be interested in seeing what you post about prepping. It's always interesting to see other people's perspective on this subject.

Thanks. I know everyone has different ideas and I just want to make simple posts from my perspective because some people get overwhelmed by large projects when they are un-learned. Take it step by step.

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment reqruiting post.

Congratulations @dredd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

No, most preppers are NOT crazy. We are prepared.
We expect the worst, plan for the worst and are ready for the worst.

Passion is a good word, I agree. But it goes beyond passion- at least for me. It's the contentment of knowing my family and home will be safe, secure and can handle any downfall that occurs.
We are ready to survive then thrive; all the while protecting ourselves.

I have talked to my friends and family a little and some are preppers, but most people just change the subject. I told someone close to me that I will feed their kids, but not them if it comes to it. I said it in a fun way, but to make a point.

I wish I had seen this earlier to share! Grrr! Oh well! It is what it is! I agree with you There is not one specific way to do it. Do what is best for your family. Hopefully people learn from your experience of living through the recession without preps so they can be prepared should anything happen to them in the future. Insurance is a fantastic analogy! We purchase insurance for vehicles, homes and other property, we keep a spare tire to ensure we have a backup should we get a flat. Why is it so hard to see other areas that we need to have "insurance" for? Job loss, injury, major natural disaster, or whatever may come...we all need water, food, medicine, and so much more! So why not have it on hand? Makes sense to me!

Thanks for the post! Sorry I didn't see it sooner!

Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74