You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Everyone's a Critic ... #ZapFic

Hope to see you both become regulars in the contest. We have a good time and have had the opportunity to help more then a few struggling steemians find a good community to call home.

As for the topic of the whales, @quillfire I can't remember who posted it but the number of whales is pretty much the same as 3 months ago. But there has been an increase in minnows and dolphins which gives me a lot of hope of where things are going.

Honestly I'd love for the largest accounts to all dump 10% of their stake and drive prices down again. Let more of the minnows and dolphins increase their stakes at low prices. A more even distribution of stake will make for a better future of steem.

To me it was funny everyone was complaining about Steemit Inc selling off so many coins...IMO that was the best thing that could have been happening at that time for the blockchain. They owned and still own far to high of a percentage of the coins out there.

Sort:  

I’m famous for interrupting, don’t trip, I do it all the time—it’s just a little more difficult from behind the screen of an illuminated device. 😉

How’s it going @thedarkhorse?! I don’t believe we’ve met. About the first thing, I couldn’t help it, I went and found two three authors I’ll be curating for the competition—keep an eye out for me this afternoon! The second thing, yes’ir, $0.28 and $0.25 cents... back on the 6th and January 9th. Good timing. 👍🏿

Now then, as you were, you two.

Looking forward to seeing your entry when I get to checking the last of them later today.

Don't think we've met either. Have seen you comment on a few posts where I also commented, but don't think we've had the opportunity to interact. Looking forward to getting to know you.

Your timing was great! That was when I wanted to buy, but my hot water heater started leaking. Have had a string of real life issues stop my from adding to my holdings and that hot water heater happened to be the last one right as I had rebuilt up some cash. At least it happened before I bought the STEEM as it's not exactly easy to pull $1000 out to cover an expense like that. Couldn't be without hot water...15 hours was bad enough from the time I had to shut the water off to the house to having hot water again. Naturally it happened at night when there was no way to get it fixed right away.

Agreed—hot water! I don’t have quite the extravaganza, I’m just the luckiest guy I know. Right, Quill? Which, by the way, @quillfire, you sure are being rude just letting us do all of the talking on your page. 👍🏿

We picked up and moved out of the country in January 10th, thedarkhorse, I sold our car on the 6th. Dude paid me in USD + Bitcoin but I had him send the Bitcoin through blocktrades to both my wallet, and my wife’s wallet (6th and 9th).

You know?? All that car ever did for me is good things.

So you sold a car and bought some steem...nice! I actually sold a car for STEEM about six months ago. My timing wasn't the greatest as the price was about 85c then I think, but have had the extra voting power that whole time and confident that the price will go back above $2 so not worried about it.

I've talked to my Wife about just selling everything and moving out of the country. Think it would be fun to go live in different places for 3-6 months each and then move on. She really has no interest. So another thought is to move somewhere with less expensive housing (we live outside of Chicago) and at the same time downsize saving even more. Then travel for a couple months a year. Trying to win her over on this idea...think I'm getting close after this brutal winter in Chicago.

Oh, man! I grew up in LA. I’m 41, my wife is 34, we just left Long Beach, Ca back in January and have been in Costa Rica ever since, we’re Air B&B’ing a different location every 30 days—God is great!

In case I didn’t say it earlier, pleasure to be met, @thedarkhorse. I just entered the competition! 👍🏿

@thedarkhorse,

I'm a Canadian ... that lives in Florida. :-)

@dandays,

You are the luckiest guy in the world ... you should see Dan's wife!!! :-)

You sold a car for crypto ... and so it begins. It may sound crazy, but it's all these seemingly isolated and insignificant transactions (in the grand scheme of things) that will one day "magically metatisize into meaning." A few cryptos (most will go under) will simply "become currencies" by virtue of the fact that people are using them as such. What's the "critical mass" ... I don't know but I suspect it's not as far off as many might think.

Quill

You know what, Quill? On that subject, hear me out right quick, I’ll try to keep this conversation in the field of play.

I’m sure I’m not the only one, but I have several wallets.
Fact:
blockchain.info, cex.io, bittrex.com and kraken.com, all at around the same time, wanted me to update my profile settings to adjust for newly implemented KYC laws. And each of them guaranteed easier, faster transactions and now they’re implementing credit cards again (I have yet to comply).
Fact:
Coinbase’s partner, Shift Card, which is the visa debit card directly attached to my coin base account cancelled their services last week, not update, cancelled—the cards are all void now. I forget the day but around last Monday. BitPay cancelled cash withdrawals from their debit card that’s directly tied to BTC and/or BCH today. Said it’s a “service upgrade” and they apologize for any inconvenience.

I see two things happening:
• For many, myself included, trading back and forth between fiat and crypto just got a little challenging. That means more of us are going to hold which, in return, supply goes down and the value goes up.
• It will force tech companies to familiarize themselves with merchants and swap to an updated technology where Visa debit cards and trading between fiat and crypto isn’t necessary.

What do you think @quillfire?

Loading...

@thedarkhaorse.

In 100% agreement with your assessment re: broadening the ownership profile.

Respecting the Whale Power-Down, take a look at @hendrikdegrote ... the traditional power behind @curie. And, there are plenty of others.

While the number of Whales may be roughly the same ... they're NOT the same Whales. Many of the Old Guard are being replaced by ... who knows.

BTW ... I will definitely check out your contest as anything recommended by @lynncoyle1 or @dandays is automatically of interest.

Quill

1.3 million sitting there in liquid steem...if only he would sell it and drive the price back to 20c. I missed the opportunity to buy more at those prices due to real life and really want someone to push it down again. Need about 2 more week....lol

I remembered what I was thinking about and it was a post that showed total accounts at different levels by @tarazkp.
https://steemit.com/steem/@tarazkp/steem-growth-update-february-200-accounts-with-100k-steem

It really didn't take into account who and at the high end only was focused on 100k sp or higher so many of them would still be in that group as they aren't gone, just lower total SP.

@thedarkhorse,

Interesting ... 1.3 million STEEM sitting completely dormant. Of course, the argument would be that those people are willing to sacrifice potential Curation Awards (Passive Income) in exchange for liquidity (SP takes 13 weeks to liquidate). What this tells me is that there's a lot of uncertainty about whether STEEM will even survive.

This is yet another example of the "negative feedback loops" about which I've written. Imagine if that 1.3 million were converted to SP and used to auto-curate (no work involved) established curators like @curie and @c-squared. That's a lot of extra juice. And, that extra juice would also increase the upvoting value of its recipients. Multiply that out by several months.

A virtuous cycle.

Success breeds success. Failure breeds failure.

The problem is that there are so many "systemic vote-rigging mechanisms" that keep extinguishing the sparks. The effect of the positives keep getting nullified by the effect of the negatives. If reforms were enacted ... and a free and fair marketplace established ... I believe STEEM/Steemit would explode (in a good way).

BTW ... where does one find such stats?

Quill

Not sure where he pulled those stats.

As for steem that isn't powered up....that is actually an important part of the market dynamics. There needs to be liquidity in the markets and people having large amounts sitting there will help avoid any crazy spikes in price that end up harming smaller fish who get serious FMO and buy way to high and then feel cheated as the price comes back down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34