Ulog 169: Snow Flies... Store Shelves Empty Out

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

The other day after my doctor's appointment, I had to stop at the a pharmacy to pick up a prescription and while there I walked around to purchase a few grocery items I needed on the homestead.

As I strolled down the bread aisle, I took notice to the empty shelves. At the time I was there it was almost lunch time (not first thing in the morning) and the bread shelves were pretty bare. Luckily I didn't need any bread.

But I also noticed the bottled water area in the store was slim pickings too.

bread.jpg

Seeing some food shortages may bring to mind that economist, fear-mongering websites and a plethora of others view this as a nationwide epidemic due to the flooding in the US's Midwest region as well as trade tariffs with countries abroad.

But in reality this is specific to my area in Michigan; and perhaps other Midwest states. Late Sunday evening the National Weather Service issued various winter weather alerts, advisories and warnings as winter's wrath came barreling down on us.

But this got me thinking...



With the natural disasters (hurricanes, wild fires) happening and people being so unprepared, what would happen to the people rushing to a store to stock-up on pantry items if a nationwide catastrophe occurred?

While I don't know how accurate the number is, I have always heard that most people only have enough food and water in their pantry to go three to seven days without a trip to the store for more. Have you always heard that too?

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Could You Survive More Than A Week?

I remember back in 2007, when I lived more rural a blizzard came in and we were snow bound on my little 5-acres for four days before a county snow truck and plow came to remove the snow allowing us to go to town.

Luckily I have always been a preparer, had a full pantry, two freezers full and enough toilet paper to outlast the entire winter season.

But what about the people who didn't?

Unless you were almost completely self-reliant and self-sufficient, you would eventually run out of food, supplies and water. Most people make trips to their local grocery store two to three times per week. I go maybe once a week. I am by no means self-reliant or self- sufficient, but I do have a pantry of non-perishables to last for a few months (minimum), bottled water for our household for about a month and the ways and means of making fulfilling meals that I don't panic too much.

But after seeing the grocery store's shelves bare, I am on a determined mission to add more to my pantry. Whether more bottled water, more canned or dry goods and even, yes, more toilet paper.

My parents always taught me to be prepared; and with winter here, now is the time to put that teaching into full force. Granted, I should have been doing this all along, but the last few months I have been too pre-occupied for my own good.

But that is changing... effective today.

I have an order coming to the homestead with extra TP, more gallons of bottled spring water and some extras that I saw my pantry was lacking.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

luvbug.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

.

Sort:  

We didn't stock up on much of anything, but we got hit a lot less than the South East portion of the state did. We have a bunch of stuff in our freezer that we could ration for as long as we needed to. Water might be a problem if the city water stopped flowing. Power would potentially be the biggest thing. Especially now that we moved our trailer back to my parents house for the Winter. If that were still on property we would be fine. I once read a story about an EMP knocking out the power grid in the US and that really got me thinking about what my plan would be should something like that ever happen.

Were you effected by the big blackout of 2003? I remember it effected about 8 states and millions and millions of people? I know my parents, who lived in the Metro D area were, whereas we were too far north and luckily had power.
The power was out for some for like four days.

Yes, I think that does sound familiar. I am not sure where I would have been living at that time though. You've got me counting on my fingers now :)

Yes, I always chuckle when people flock to the stores to buy up those items. I dont even need those. Bread, we either make or do without, (gluten free here), water, we have a hand pump well, TP, well, we use family cloth, and milk, we have goats, so no need to stock up on that either. I just make sure we have plenty of canned goods and dry beans/rice stored up in the event we lose power for an extended time. Last time that happened, we made a fire outside and were eating good anyway. :D

Oh yes!! You are living the way I am aiming for. I miss raising chickens for eggs, meat.
We are not on a well, but wish we were.

I bet! I remember being on city water and it was frustrating having to pay for every bit of water we consumed, not to mention not having control over the chemicals in the water.

Nice.

In Lak'ech, JaiChai

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

This is very interesting question to pose - not only on your side of the world... but everywhere! My brother in London has been telling us for YEARS to start stockpiling canned foods and dry goods that keep, for MULTIPLE reasons locally and politically related, climate related etc. - but what happens, nobody does it. I think I may just take heed of your reminder and his advice. Human beings are all too quick to shrug things off and then they stand with a loss for words when things do in fact fall to pieces and reserves as required.

Nothing more disconcerting than empty shelves.

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Join the curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering here.

You have been curated 249 BTCMYK in your Steem Engine Account. You can see your new coins at https://steem-engine.com

Enjoy!

Snow fall

Posted using Partiko Android

Could You Survive More Than A Week?

Yes, I can, even longer if needed. I've been raised when times were tough and I know not to take everything for granted. I'm ready for most of the situations, although no hurricanes, no earthquakes, no storms or flooding is in my area.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.902 which ranks you at #1286 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 103 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It's likely that lots of people think that areas that aren't prone to hurricanes or earthquakes are fine as far as having access to supplies needed to live go. Snow and ice is hardly looked at in the same way as flooding, though both can cut us off from resupplying the necessary items to survive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68498.38
ETH 3905.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66