Ulog 168: I'm A Cubital Tunnel Over-Achiever!

Less than three weeks ago I wrote a post about being prepared for a possible surgical procedure that may be entering my life... and today I found out the surgery is necessary; not elective.

office.jpg

As I sat in the orthopaedic surgeon's waiting room, having already braved the four inches of snow on the roads and being under a winter weather warning until the wee hours of tomorrow, my mind kept wandering about what I still needed to do at home to prepare just in case this surgeon informed me that I would indeed need surgery.

  • I still had kitchen cupboards to organize
  • I was right in the middle of a new vegetative cannabis crop
  • I have a shelving unit to re-purpose as a soap curing shelf
  • I have my two dogs
  • I have...

The list goes on, but you see what I'm getting at.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Temporary Relief Given

Until I can get scheduled for surgery, the doctor did give me an injection. Oh boy, nothing I like more than needles... SARCASM.

Let me tell you... this injection HURT!

Right into the wrist (palm side up)!

Apparently I am dealing with two nerve issues in my left arm/elbow and hand.

The nerve in my wrist (carpal tunnel) developed due to the nerve in my elbow getting displaced last year. So the doctor could give me some relief of the pain there; but not in the elbow; there are no injections for that area I guess.

The numbness in my pinkie and ring finger is getting worse. The strength in my left hand is worsening.And finally, the only way to stop the nerve damage is to have the surgery.

So I braved the six inches of snow now on the ground and made it home; all the while thinking I don't want this surgery. I don't deserve this surgery.

Wearing a cubital tunnel brace will not fix this issue. The doctor told me that with my two fingers being completely numb is a sign the problem has gone too far to repair without surgery. If the numbness was intermittent then perhaps the brace, therapy and medical could help.

Go figure... I am a cubital tunnel over-achiever!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

And for those of you who like SNOW!! Six inches and counting...

snow.jpg

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

luvbug.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 comments. Your next target is to reach 13000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I hope all goes well for you. For me it's the dentist I hate going to...

Oh, how did you end up getting this? Lack of exercise, injury? I'm curious about it if it's not indiscretion.

Wishing you all the best with your surgery. The chores can wait, they will be there when you are good and recovered.
thumbs-up.jpg

Congratulations @goldendawne! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

Wow that sucks but I bet it will be wonderful to have the nerve damage stopped and hopefully they can do some repairs? It looks like a good day to get snowed in!

The best of luck to you when you have the surgery!!! 💖

@goldendawne

I have the same love affair with needles as you do. You have my commiserations.

I am sorry to hear that you have to have the surgery. As it so happens I've run into two people in the village who have either just had, or were about to have the surgery. One of the guys, had it on both hands, simultaneously. Couldn't be happier with the result. The other, our neighbour, I've not seen, but am sure I will when they're here next weekend. There, too, it had been delayed until necessary. I'm sure that his and yours will be a success.

Good luck!

Sorry to hear about your need for surgery, and I hope it's successful so everything in your arm is made whole again, and you regain the feeling in your fingers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22