Stock:  going...going...almost gone!



You might remember my delight on Friday, when I announced I’d made a new batch of marmalade to replenish my rapidly stock which I had bragged about not so long ago. Two things happened - that’ll teach me to brag - the new batch didn’t set quite as it should have. And. We have Dutch friends in the village who moved here from Maastricht and they return from time to time with gifts. Sometimes these gifts include my products. One recipient is a rather well-known fiddling waltz-player. Apparently the marmalade is a hit. So when they went in January, they appeared at the door and virtually depleted my remaining stock - at his request. It was January and citrus is if available, too expensive to start buying in quantities to bottle.

Local customers were ungraciously patient. No marmalade?

Anyhow, at the first opportunity, and when the first of the season’s citrus came off the trees and/or into the shops, I made a batch. That was mid-May and it’s flown off the proverbial shelf and the reason for Friday’s batch. Phew! I had more stock.

Well, that relieve was shortlived: on Saturday, Dutch Friends arrived at the market and made a beeline for my table. Chit-chat out of the way: “We’re going to Maastricht. We need seven jars, ja! One for each day of the week!” Not only did I not have seven jars at the market, but the new batch needed some TLC to make it acceptable. The final quantity for the batch ends up as: seven 500g jars and four smaller ones. So, most of that new batch of stock will, towards the end of next week, be winging its way to Maastricht.

I will have to make more. It will have to wait. Friday’s kitchen agenda is already full!

#powerhousecreatives #teamsouthafrica #palnet #share2steem #ghsc #preserves #homemade #homecooking #mcgregorvillage #countryliving

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa



Photo: Selma




If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn




Let me help with your English writing
Rates depend on the depth of edit required

More about why I am offering this service here

Contact me









 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.fionasfavourites.net/2019/06/10/television-after-school-never/
Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem
Sort:  

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

One day I hope to visit and score a few jars for my next jam party.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha! That would be good. Just give me enough warning so I can be sure to have stock 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I have a friend who did a lot of canning when he was younger. Until he mentioned it, I'd never given it another thought. But after he explained how gratifying it was, I got a little curious.

How many years before you had it "dialed in" and the results became more or less consistent?

Enjoyed your post.

Namaste, JaiChai

@jayichai

How many years before you had it "dialed in" and the results became more or less consistent?

That is the question that I have planned to answer when I write the post about the marmalade. I was just thinking about it yesterday! And here's the thing: I thought I'd written about making marmalade before. Seems not. So, that post is on the "to do" list. Hopefully for @dswigle 's #marketfriday

I can a lot of garden items, but have never been able to get my jellies and jams to set right. My strawberry jams look more like ice cream topping and syrup... so I can totally relate to this post!

Marmalade not on top of my hit parade, that plum jam sounds extra special. Nice to have a market with homemade jars traveling international Fiona, a feather in the cap of the person making jam with consistency problems, consistently tasty!

Some people are just not marmalade lovers - I think it's an acquired taste! The consistency issue is me more than the recipe lol

Hi, @fionasfavourites!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.


Congratulations! Your @share2steem post has been featured in our weekly curation showcase which you can check out at the link below!

Keep up the AWESOME posts!!

https://steemit.com/share2steem/@jaynie/jaynie-1562155962238-the-official-share2steem-curation-showcase---no-25

Mwah! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64630.77
ETH 3189.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56