Healthy Treats | The Birds have Gone Plum Crazy!

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0038 (2).jpg

Plums are in season!


While visiting the market the other day I just couldn’t resist buying them. They're so good for you, full of vitamins, fiber and antioxidants, definitely another one of natures candies! Of course they’re always delicious simply eating them alone, I love using them during the hot days of summer!


Especially in Sorbet!


DSC_0008 (2j).jpg


Sorbet...


the grandparent of ice cream is thought to be the first “iced” refreshing treat. While our ancestors were using snow to preserve food, it was also used as a refreshing drink. In fact, in Sicily sorbetto was made during the hot summer months using fresh lemon juice mixed with snow from Mt Etna. Even though we’re not using snow, we can still enjoy sorbet. Unlike ice cream sorbet contains no milk or dairy just fresh fruit, water and sweetener!


Sorbet is so simple to make, all it takes is a few minutes of your time along with a few hours of patience!
todaysjourney.jpg

Plum Sorbet!

Just 3 Ingredients

  • Fresh Plums (3)
  • Filtered Water (1 cup)
  • Yacon or Maple Syrup (to taste)

Wash, pit, and chop…


the plums and place them in your blender. Not only are plums full of fiber plums which is great for your digestion, drinking plum juice will help improve the texture of your skin. We all want soft and healthy skin right?
DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Add water and blend...


until the mixture is completely smooth. Taste and if you wish, add sweetener! I find plums are quite sweet so I don’t add additional sweetener. It’s up to you! Pour the blended mixture into a freezer safe container, cover and into the freezer! The
DSC_0012 (2).jpg
>

This is where the patience comes in…..


minion hourglass.jpg

minion photo thanks to pixabay!

This gave me plenty of time to work on another plum treat which I’ll share with you tomorrow!

Meanwhile, 2 hours later…


Time to check on the sorbet! I didn’t want it to freeze too much! But look, not ready yet! I gave it a good stir and back to the freezer for another couple of hours!
DSC_0015 (1) (2).jpg

Patience paid off! Voila!

DSC_0018 (w2).jpg


This is so refreshing right now while we try to beat the August heat! I hope you’ll give sorbet a try and let me know what you think! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Ohh yes this one I am for sure going to try this weekend so easy and I do love plums but as a sorbet, it would be delicious and a nice treat

Thanks for being an active member of SteemUSA !tip

Sorry with SBD not being pain out now I will have to stop the tipping very soon

Yay! I hope you are trying it this weekend, you won't be disappoined ;) It's really tasty, just sweeten it as you need and freeze! So glad you enjoyed, thanks @tattoodjay

I bought some plums today, haven't made it yet, but ate one of the plums and It was good may not need much sweetening, I will try a batch in the morning

I can't wait to hear what you think :) I think your wife will enjoy it with the hot weather we have right now! Be sure to let it freeze just right!! Have a great Sunday @tattoodjay.

Thats why I didnt make any up this afternoon, will make a batch up in the morning so I can check on it and find out just the right amount of time to have it oin the freezer ;)

yummy yum yum! those are some good looking plums XOXO

hehehe, indeed, indeed :) Gotta have those cool treats while we're working on the pavers, ugh! This would be great after a big day of weeding! Perhaps you'll make sorbet, all you need is a blender and fruit oxoxoxoxoxox love you!

I sure will try this when summer hits us, sounds super refreshing! Love your play on words Mrs Bird:)

It is so easy @lizelle and with the heat we've been having we need something to cool off. I'm sure you could try it with lots of different fruits, I'll be experimenting, lol Glad you like the silly plum phrase ;)

I've loved plums my whole life, but I haven't had plum sorbet - yet. Gonna have to make some with your recipe. :) Thanks for posting it!

Yay, well I hope you'll try this! I think you'll love it, with the hot weather its perfect for us! Let me know what you think @free-reign, thanks so much!

That color is stunning! I don't find good plums often, but would love to try this! I've got my eye on pears for this week's market trip. I saw lots last week but we still had plenty of apples from the week before. :)

Well, plums like peaches can be good or bad right? Its pretty hit and miss although for some reason I've had great luck with both this season. I've definitely taken advantage of my luck, lol I love pears too...I looked at those the other day but opted for plums this week. Can't get enough fruit can we? :) Thanks @plantstoplanks!

Plum sorbet!! Omg, so trying this next year when my plums come in!!! If the cockatoos don't get them first. Please do remind me when I'm drowning in plums!

Perfect right? I have to tell you....it's awesome! I hope you'll try it, especially since you have plums at your home!!!!! I can't imagine having that, wow I would fight those birds for them, lol Good luck, I think the cockatoos are mighty birds, lol


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared, truly appreciate your support :)

Wow, those look fantastic! Ah, the delightful fruits of summer!

I know, I know don't you just love it @jayna. Such a sweet blessing, and plums can often dissapoint, this year they've been awesome. So as you can see, I'm taking advantage of a good thing, lol Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed them!

wow something to pretty thaat only with plum - wow

I know, isn't it beautiful? The purple from the skin creates that lovely color, its pretty amazing. I love making treats like this, they're just frozen fruit, but are so satisfying :) A great way to encourage more and more fruit in your day! Thanks @vibesforlife.

You always make very eye catching food posts. Now if I could only find plums here which I doubt lol.

Well thank you @watersnake, I truly appreciate your kind words. Plums are a very common fruit in the US, not sure about other areas. I would imagine you could try other fresh fruits! I'll be experimenting with different fruits, I'll let you know what I find :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83