Healthy Eats | Pick your Spice! It’s Chipotle Magic!

DSC_0058 (2).jpg

Ready to spice up your weekend?


I love working with spices and I’ve found every culture has their own method to “spice” things up! There seems to be one common vegetable used all over the world! Peppers!


What makes them so spicy?

chilipepper.png

photo thanks to pixabay


Better known as pungency (hot or spicy) is that feeling you get when eating. You know the feeling, your mouth is hot, hot, hot! Most often this sensation is triggered by the presence of Capsaicin in your mouth. Take a bite of your favorite spicy food and that capsaicin binds with receptors in your mouth sending a message to your brain signaling …. Fire! From the mild Sweet Pepper to the hot jalapeno, all are native to Mexico and vary from sweet to dangerously hot. Did you know it wasn’t until Christopher Columbus sailed in 1492 during the Columbian Exchange that the Chili Pepper spread to Africa, Asia and Europe.


Hats off to Christopher!

christopher-columbus.jpg

photo thanks to pixabay


I have to laugh when I think about how I used to be afraid of spice. Now I’m a bit over the top about it! I’m slowly winning Mr. Bird over to my side! Tonight was such an occasion!


I’m in the mood for Chipotle!


I love Chipotle spice as a marinade as well as a dressing for salads. Let’s start by marinating chicken!


Chipotle Chicken!

  • Organic Chicken Breasts
  • Red or white onion (qty 1)
  • Garlic (2 cloves)
  • Adobo Sauce (2 tbsp.)
  • Ancho Chili powder (2 tbsp.)
  • Olive Oil (2 tbsp.)
  • Cumin (2 tsp)
  • Oregano (2 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1 tsp)

Dice the onion and garlic


DSC_0013 (2l).jpg

Grab your blender…


and add all of the ingredients to the blender bowl.
DSC_0017 (2e).jpg

Blend until smooth!


Beautiful isn’t it? Hot enough? Taste and see if you need more spice!
DSC_0018 (2p).jpg

Marinate the chicken...


at least 4 hours, preferably overnight! Notice I had enough for another marinate another night?
DSC_0022 (2).jpg

While we’re on a roll, how about Chipotle Salad dressing!

I love making my own dressings. I know the ingredients are fresh and healthy!

Chipotle Dressing

  • Birds Coconut Yogurt (1/2 cup)
  • Mayonnaise (4 tbsp.)
  • Garlic Cloves (qty 2 diced)
  • Onion (1/2 chopped)
  • Fresh Lime Juice (1 tsp)
  • Sea Salt (1/2 tsp)
  • Adobo Sauce (1 tbsp.)
  • Chipotle Powder (3/4 tsp)

So simple…


back to the blender and blend until smooth. Taste and add spice as you need. If it’s a bit too thick, feel free to add a bit of water to thin.
DSC_0024 (2).jpg

Perfect! Now into the fridge, ready for my next salad!


DSC_0027 (2).jpg

Ready for dinner? Grill those chicken breasts.


DSC_0036 (2).jpg

I roasted both Sweet and poblano peppers, onions, minced garlic with a dash of Olive Oil, salt and pepper.


DSC_0035 (2).jpg

Slice the chicken, grab your favorite tortilla shell and layer up!


DSC_0039 (2).jpg

Enjoy! What’s your favorite spice?

DSC_0040 (2).jpg

The Chipotle was a hit! Topped with plain yogurt and your favorite salsa, you can’t go wrong. Thanks for stopping by today.

And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

My Wife used to love spicing everything up I was very plain myself but she got me in to trying a little spice but not to much LOl

Thanks for being an Active Member of SteemUSA !tip

Have a great week ahead :)

Ah ha! I love it, so your wife eased you into it as well. I have to say I think my husband is enjoying it now. (or else he figures hot is the way he'll have to eat it, lol) I keep telling him "spicy" is good for the metabolism! He likes hearing that :)

Unfortunately with her IC, my wife can not have many spices now so its back to the way I used to cook just the very basic things added, Salt Garlic Parsely Rosemary and Thyme
she does miss her spices that she loved but they give her bad flares

It's almost lunchtime and now my tummy is growling, everything looks sooo delicious!
Well done on the curie my friend:)

Thank you @lizelle, the curie was a sweet surprise. I certainly wasn't expecting it. How are you feeling these days? Everything okay from the fall? I know you're so busy with the B&B I hope you've had time to rest and heal :) Be well my friend!

I still have some discomfort especially if I've been on my feet too long, still taking it easy!
Thank you for your concern my friend, appreciate it:)

Posted using Partiko Android

This looks amazing. Neat step by step. Everything looks yummy.
I'd have it all, except the chipotle (I'd put just a little bit).
In all my years in the States, surrounded by mexican friends, I was unable to develop the taste for spicy food. I love mexican cuisine (from the funny names to all the display), but the spicy part just drives me nuts.

Oh my goodness, Mexican cuisine is really one of my favorites @hlezama. I love all of it. I have to say my love for spicy has grown over the years. My daughter kids me because 15 years ago no way would I have the spice I have now. Granted I was cooking for kids so I couldn't do spicy off the charts, lol Now that it's just Mr. Bird and I, I can do what I want ...as I said, it's growing on him :) I look forward to hearing about your meal! Thanks my friend!

Hi birdsinparadise,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thank you @curie! What an amazing surprise today! I am so glad you enjoyed my post today!

MMmmmmm. That looks truly fantastic! If you open a restaurant, I will come!

hehehe, you are too sweet @jayna :) You really know how to bring a smile to my face, thank you! Cooking for family is quite enough for me, lol So glad you enjoyed it!

Ha ha. But aren’t you at least a little intrigued by the idea?

this looks so yum, a very well deserved curie :)

Thank you @vibesforlife! The curie was certainly a big surprise :) I wanted to share with you all, glad you enjoyed it! Have a great week!

I love Chipotle, there's even a few Chipotle restaurants in San Antonio @birdsinparadise. Your's really looks inviting. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @wonderwop! You know sometimes you just have that craving, this week it was Chipotle. Unfortunately we have not had any luck with finding a decent restaurant, so I make my own! This way I can adjust the "heat" the way I like! Glad you enjoyed! I'm sure you have some fabulous choices in San Antonio :0

Making marinades seems so complicated ... I usually use pre-made, purchased mixes.

Oh no @amalinavia, they're really easy! Plus if you make a double batch you can store it for another meal :) You probably alreay have the spices! I understand though, sometimes it's difficult to spare a free moment in our busy lives! Be well my friend!

Congratulations @birdsinparadise! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 40000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

From here I can taste that spectacular dish, I want to try it haha ​​it would be something wonderful for me!

hehe, love it when you can taste it through the computer...call it taste-vision :) I hope you'll try it @iamsaray! It was delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59631.75
ETH 2622.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41