Would you let a stranger sleep in your home for $100/month?

in #poverty6 years ago (edited)

My partner is out in the downtown area today. She texted me earlier to tell me she received an odd request from a random woman.

Untitled-1.jpg

The woman asked my partner if she could have a corner to sleep in, on the floor, for 1.5 months, and would pay $100 per month. She said she wouldn't use water or anything, and just wanted a place to stay out of the cold and sleep.

My partner told her that she couldn't make the decision on her own, and that she lived far relative to where the encounter took place downtown. My partner took her email address to contact her.

I declined to accept the offer. I've heard stories of people accepting homeless into their homes as a nice gesture to help someone out. But it can turn into hell. Some people are manipulative and bring legal suits against the person who let them into their home. It can get really twisted, just because you try to help someone out.

What would you do?


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider: Upvoting, Sharing or Reblogging below.
Follow me for more content to come!


My goal is to share knowledge, truth and moral understanding in order to help change the world for the better. If you appreciate and value what I do, please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page.

Sort:  

No. Your home needs to be a place you are secure and can let your guard down. You want to strew your prized possessions about with abandon. I've had boarders before - I like people for short periods but very quickly I find myself wanting my own space again - ymmv. Family and friends I just let them stay. If they stay for a while they'll often contribute in whatever way then can but I don't have expectations. But, with long-term staying with a board/rent changing hands it can get messy fast.

Definitely no. A simple act of kindness could get you in a lot of trouble.

Yup, it's a bad move.

Go out and spend 100$ out of your pocket...even if you get drunk and trowup...it still is a better deal...
Unless you really know who you are helping...it's not worth it...plus,you & ur partner will have fights and arguments..
I have done it before...then I had to clean a lot of shit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tip ;)

I wouldn't, for not only the obvious reasons but also because I wan't my own space. Sometimes it is difficult sharing with a close loved one, can't see it for an acquaintance or stranger.

I have even read stories here in the U.S. that had squatters nest in peoples homes while they were away (the one coming ot mind seems they were off for the military) and when they came back the cops refused to kick them out even though they were never given permission to even trespass as they were.

Yeah it's fucked up how unlawful acts can get covered with the law all of a sudden. Fucked up society we have.

This is a trap.

Especially if there is a man in the house.

$100 is a rent agreement. And, if you do not approach it like you are subletting, than you will end up in all kinds of litigation problems.
Basically, when you try to get rid of her, she just calls the authorities, and you are now having to go through litigation to get her out of the house.

Further, in most states, she just has to claim that she is being sexually molested/harassed, and the guy is removed from the premises, even if he is the owner.

It is a very bad deal. Especially if your state has renter protection laws.

Yeah, that's what I heard happen to others. It's a nightmare.

I have personal experience with that. When I was growing up my mother used to let homeless people (mostly older children like 17-19) stay at the house. While they were always nice to her, they would steal things from around the house and cash from my wallet. One day my Playstation was gone when I got back from school. One of them pawned it for drug money. It took a few bad incidents of that before she stopped letting homeless people stay. Unfortunately, it's too hard to trust people you don't know like that. My heart goes out to them and I would do what I could to help them, but letting them stay with you is a bad idea. I have seen first hand those situations get pretty messy.

Sounds like a move or TV shows I've seen that was similar. Some people just take advantage of nice people... it's sad to see the good ones suffer :/

Not a stranger. I have heard horror stories from people opening their doors to people they really didn't know. They were hard to remove when they outstayed their welcome.

Once I offered to help a neighbor find a place through social services. The couple were unfortunately alcoholics (we had ambulances stop at the house on the regular) and I had two children to care for. She was squatting in our alley between two detached garages telling me that she was kicked out and just pulling weeds. It broke my heart but again, I had to protect my family.

Listen to your gut. If it doesn't feel right, don't do it. There's always another answer.

Yeah, that's the horror stories I've heard before. Fucked up laws we have.

Oh man....
Was she homeless indeed or just going through a difficult situation at the moment?

While on one hand it is a shame not to help people in need, on the other...world has turned into a place for savages. You never know what could have happened if you had accepted the offer.

Possibly nothing...but what if...?

I think it was a wise move

Yeah who knows. People at innocent and take advantage of good people.

If it was a friend in trouble, I wouldn't even ask for the money but since it's someone you don't know it's really suspicious. How do you even get approached by someone like this? Is it someone she knows from work or something?

It was a random woman who talked to her. I added that in the first sentence for clarity now ;)

I would personally stay away.

@krnel, I will not let a stranger live in my house. Only if it is a friend of a friend of mine. Or Steemian :)

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL, or a stranger who's a steemian ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45