introduceyourself

in #post6 years ago

My name is Olawale but people call me Holar. I’m 18 and I live in Ibadan which is the capital of Oyo State, Nigeria and the largest city in West Africa. Actually, I come from another region in Oyo state – Oke Ogun (the food basket of Oyo State). My parents are in another part of the country- Sagamu, where I lived and attended Elementary and Secondary Schools for sixteen years before moving to Ibadan to further more on my studies. My parents have five children who consist of two sons and three daughters. I am the Arole i.e. the first son of the family, as it is called in my native language - Yoruba. My elder sister graduated from the University of Ibadan three years ago. She married last year and she is blessed with a child. The remaining two sisters I have are still in Secondary School. My brother who was given birth to after I was born has graduated from Secondary School and aiming to gain admission into a university of his choice. My daddy used to work for Africa Portland Cement Limited, owned by Larfarge Group of Companies before he retired as an Engineer two years ago. My mother was a trader during her life. She died three years ago. What a great woman, who was so hardworking and loved by people! May her gentle soul rest in peace (Ameen).

I am a student of Accountancy in The Polytechnic of Ibadan. I am in my second year of study in the prestigious Institution. Also, I’m undergoing my professional Accounting examinations under the umbrella of Institute of Chartered Accountant of Nigeria (ICAN). In 2015, I was inducted has a member of Accounting Technicians of West Africa (ATSWA) under the umbrella of Accounting Technicians Body of West Africa (ATSBWA). The love I have for any business and commercial courses started when I was in J.S.S three in my secondary school days. During these days, I used to stay at my mother’s shop. I was enticed by the way she does business. I learnt from her how to take risk in business. In fact, she was a risk seeker. Whenever she goes out or travelled, I would be the one at the shop and I will account for every inventories sold and bought when she returns. She always credits my accountability. Today am grateful to Almighty God that I chose the right course.

Operating computer system first appeared in my life when I was six. Then I used to operate my daddy’s computer. At first I was just playing computer games, but some time later, I noticed that I could do a lot more things with the computer and I had to learn how to use the computer for a variety of tasks, for example, graphics designing.

Now, I can do any graphic works, be it logo design, branding and lot more. I’m a freelancer and I have my own site on the internet. This work has got me exposed to so many things and meeting of different people of intellect. In order to broaden my horizon, am undergoing a course on how to use accounting packages to do accounting works and solve accounting errors. I hope that in the future I will get a job as an Accountant and I progress to a higher level in my graphics work.

My favorite sport is football. I love the game of football, it is a fun game to watch and play. The game is also a physical game to play; I love to be physical. That’s probably why I like it; also, football brings people together. My love for the sport is one of the biggest reasons I love football. All my life I’ve been playing football, from the backyard to secondary school. Football was the first sport I ever played. There would be days when there was nothing to do, so my friends and I would just go to the field and play football all day long; in some instances we would stay out there till evening. Football has also provided me with a lot of memories that I will never forget; one memory is winning the inter class competition in my junior year in secondary school. That is something I will never forget. My favorite intellectual game is chess, but I have never played it professionally. I love watching other sports like tennis, racing and golf.

Music is one of the most important and powerful things in my life.Listening to and playing different tunes helps me to de-stress, relax and it can also get me motivated in difficult times. I love listening to music while on my way to school, as I feel it helps me to prepare for the day that waits. I think it is like the memoirs to my life as it has been there throughout everything with me. When I was younger, I didn’t have the great love for musical as I do now. I mainly listened to whatever was playing in the background or what my parents were listening to. I didn’t have much of a care for musical compositions. There was sometimes a little bit of pop music thrown into the mix here and there, but that’s really all I liked back then.

.
Reading is one of the most important aspects of my life and I’m one of those people who can’t understand why someone would hate reading, not only is it fun, but it can take you away from all of your problems and help you come across new things. I read because it brings me pleasure and because I don’t want stop learning. Reading has given me a lot of hills to climb. Recently I have been reading a lot of literature on African culture. With a book, I can travel anywhere I want, do anything I want, and talk to anyone I want. A book has the power to cause our minds to long for more information and want to read more..
.

Everyone has his or her likings and disliking. I hate violence. It does not solve any problem. Violence is an act of the beast. It is better to use love and non-violence. Then I hate falsehood. A man tells many lies and tries to prove that he is following the right path.Falsehood leads to evil. I love truth and non-falsehood. I hate selfishness also. Selfishness also leads to evil. It creates hatred against other people.I hate money-mindedness also. We should earn through our own efforts. We should not have an eye on others' wealth. I hate arrogance also. I want to live a humble life. Arrogance turns man into a beast. Humility is a good habit.
I hate all these because they will make us do wrong things. We shall follow a wrong path if we have a liking for any of these. I want to lead a good life. Therefore, I  want to follow the path of goodness and not evil.
Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @holar.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Thanks! I do appreciate your concern and am ready to learn from you.

Congratulations @holar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78