Positivity Challenge #4 - Steeming about my visual impairment helps me cope with my impairment!

in #positivity8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

If you already follow me, you know by now that I am visually impaired. I keep saying it so new readers can understand what I write about. My last few posts were about answering your questions about things you are interested in coming from a visually impaired person like me. Due to Stargardt’s Disease my central vision faded away (when I was between the age of 10 and 14) and by now I have a vision of about 5%.   

            

In line with the positivity challenge number 4 I want to thank you all for asking me those questions and showing me that you liked reading it. I really appreciate it! It also gives me the confidence and courage to go on being myself and keeping a positive attitude! An attitude that I like to share with you :)   

By writing about my experiences and thoughts I like to give you more insight in what it is like to have a visual impairment but I also want to share with you that life can be just as full and fun without good eye sight. I like spreading the positivity around although living by this positive attitude is not always easier said than done. There are still times I feel anxious or frustrated, and those days are okay to have. As long as the happy days are in the majority (and they are).   

I felt that writing on Steemit about my life has helped me so much! Not only thinking my thoughts but actually writing them down helps me cope with my impairment even more. I think I am already in a good place but in those times that I am afraid of doing something, holding myself back, anxious of putting myself out there, needing to ask for help, I think of what I write about and what I’ve already accomplished. Then it’s like I’ve been inspired by myself haha. Is that weird to say? It’s not meant narcissistically or something, absolutely not, but when I’m feeling down I try to think of the times that I was strong and positive and then I realize that I can be that person also on the bad days because I AM that person!    

So again, thank you! (And I also thank myself a little bit too hihi).

Please, feel free to share your thoughts ^^

@boosje123

Sort:  

You are amazing and nothing short of inspirational.

You are def that person. You inspire me to be more positive :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61