Positivity Breeds Positivity Challenge Day 9: Growing all over

People often say that teachers are the problems with the school system.
There's so much I'd like to say about that, but not much would be positive,
so I'll just keep it to myself.

What I will point out, is the fact that many teachers go above and beyond
what is asked of them to make school a more pleasant place for their students.
It may have been my first year at a new school, but I 'd like to think I left a
positive mark already.

There are a lot of drab places around the school.

KIMG0559.JPG
Yes, students should be looking
at their books and notes, but what about outside of school? Shouldn't students
have something nice to look at, something nice to greet them as they arrive to school in
the morning, to pick their spirits up? KIMG0560.JPG

After talking to other teachers and students, I asked could I start a garden of sorts that students
could help with. I was given permission-but no budget :-( but I made the of the situation and
did what I could.

After school, before going home, I spent a bit of time organizing, digging and planting.
I wasn't able to be there much of the summer to water the plants, but we did get some growth!
A few red-velvet sunflowers popped up!
KIMG0562.JPG

A few mid-sized yellows popped up!KIMG0561.JPG

The 14 foot mammoths, didn't grow as tall as I'd hoped they would have, but we still have a few more
weeks of time for them to grow. I hope that I will be able to get a few students to join me this fall to continue on.
Also, by showing the admins that I can get something going from nothing, maybe next year I'll be able to get funding.

Sort:  

I love it! I think the nature outside of a school (or lack there of) has a huge impact on students. We just had a nature play space installed at our school and it's amazing, the kids love it and it just adds to the overall feel of the place. Keep at it, looks great :)

You are wonderful and that school is very lucky to have you. upped and steemed

Congratulations @anthonyphillips! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @anthonyphillips! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49