Dedicated to a model and a dying patient who both deeply inspired me. 💭

in #portraitphotography7 years ago (edited)

Introduction


This post is dedicated to two people that have inspired me in two 100% different scenarios. One is a model, the second one is a cancer patient I had the honor to talk to these last few weeks in the Oncology department.💭
I invite you to skip the second part if you only want to experience joy tonight.

Angel


When being born with such a face, one might wonder, What is life like? People will just always be staring at you to be inspired. Whether it's a song, movie, or in this case a photograph. The first time I saw Angle, I knew immediately that I wanted to shoot with her. And after asking her, so it happened. Such a face can be both a burden and a blessing in that regard.💥 Enough attention for sure, but maybe just too much.

I wanted to grasp her dark, almost scary, facial features and decided to shoot it in Black and white to convey that goal better. 🖤


5d6b4014-919d-4383-95df-d594f3425ba4.jpeg

Den Haag, The Netherlands: Canon FD 50mm @ 1.8 on my Sony A7II.


For me “Angel” is just the perfect name for such a beautiful being. I had to think back on my shoot with her when looking back on people that inspired me the last years. She was one of them. I am writing this sitting here in the Hospital for my final hours of this weeks mayhem at the oncology department.


The necessity to put thing into perspective

2017-03-18 14_22_21-DSC06550-01.jpeg  -  FastStone Image Viewer 6.2-01.jpeg


A lot has happened emotionally for me. Including having to let go an enormously strong patient of just 33 with an infaust prognoses. He is going to spend his last days amongst the people that he loves at home. This man inspired me so much by the way he stayed so strong after having heard his tumors were spread all over his body a few weeks ago.

This is what makes the medicine internships so valuable. Being able to learn from the insane ability for people to adopt and trying with whole my heart to help them with grasping the challenges that come with being diagnosed with such a desousterous disease. from the anger, to the injustice, and a ton more emotions, to finally arrive at the stage of acceptance. Acceptance even when there are two kids and a wife waiting for you to come home.

This man learned me a lot about the human psyche. Even to the fact, that leaving a young family behind when leaving this earth, can be seen as a possible positive. The end of all suffering both for him and his family.

I want you to try to put your own burdens into perspective with how much worse things can be. I know this sounds melodramatic and a bit cliche, but:

Enjoy the great moments while they last. Try to live now, not tomorrow or yesterday. now. close down Steemit every now and then to enjoy the magnificent people living amongst you. Also, dont be hesitant in verbalizing these thoughts a bit more. 💭

That was one direct quote from somebody that will not be with us anymore in a couple days.

I feel honored.

detail concerning patient privacy are changed in order to preserve it

Excuse me for the emotional tone of this post. It just felt right by the way both Angle and this 33-year-old man inspired me in two completely different situations. Both are engraved in memory.

PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg


As always thanks for your time, I hope you enjoyed this. Feedback is always appreciated!

"Emotions are there to be expressed, not to be suppressed and bottled up. I do photography in order to take my mind away from the dilemma's I encounter during my medical internships."


If you want to receive a notification whenever I start a LIVE editing broadcast please fill in the field below

>>Register for email notifications when I go LIVE <<

thi-js. Out.

Up-vote, re-steem and follow

PSX_20171229_160240-02.jpeg

Sort:  

Well done my friend, portrait is just stunning

Thanks for dropping by Ruslan! I think you could create something great with a face like Angle's


t.

A picture full of meaning and also a post full of humanity and very well told ...

There is so much more than the surface of a decent picture. Its insane to be allowed to see it.


t.

You really know how to make a dramatic portrait!
I would love if you could give me advice on this one:
https://steemit.com/bescouted/@marinauzelac/portrait-taxi-driver-hommage-b-and-w-or-color
Cheers!

Will get back at you soon! Tnx for the kind words M.


t.

Very intense expression, I kind of feel like she is looking through me. Also, slightly happy about the fact that I'm not looking at this at night, home alone and in the dark^^

Exactly that is what I wanted this picture to convey. Its so great that you described it like I successfully did so. Thank you!


t.

omg model and expression !

He @victorbz, I only can agree ☺
She true looks magnificent.


t.

with my big pleasure

So easy to forget how precious life is when we live it every day. Only when we're close to the edge, or someone who is, do I think we really understand. Thanks for sharing :)

It's true, it can be hard to put things intro perspective and we must actively try to do just that.

As a hobby even

gr from Amsterdam


t.

This portrait is sublime in more ways than one. Even if it was not accompanied by his text, I would have retained it by the power it releases. This young woman has a look that seems lost. The choice of portrait from above is always complicated, but I think it works well here.

I have to agree that the angle doesnt work that good most of the time! I just noticed when she looked down that she looked super interesting, almost scary. That is why I indeed decided to use that angle.

Thanks for your elaborate comment. appreciate it!


t.

amazing picture! it talks by itself...
gonna follow you!

appreciate your comment! You are welcome to do so !


t.

Awesome click !! really captures the emotions ..

What emotions did you yourself feel when seeing this?


t.

Thank you for sharing such a tender part of your experience. The honor is all ours for your willingness to let us in. Having just shared a truly vulnerable post myself just last week, I can say that your patient's quote hits close to home. It's good for the soul to speak up every now and then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66