A Gathering of Gentlemen in a Village Park, Gurgaon, India – Portrait Photography

in #portraitphotography6 years ago (edited)

This dignified gentleman was sitting with his friends at the side of the road behind my condo in Gurgaon, India.

[Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Home is where you sit with friends 

While walking on the narrow lane to the village behind my condo, I came across this man and several of his companions, sitting and chatting in this green patch at the side of the lane. They had brought their chairs and their bidi cigarettes, and had made themselves right at home.   

Many Indians such as these men live in very small 1-room or 2-room homes. In most such homes, there’s hardly enough space for the few essentials – such as a bed and maybe a TV. And there’s definitely no room for a sofa or any chairs.

Room to relax 

Furthermore, their homes are probably flanked on both sides by other homes, and the doors open directly onto the street. Consequently, there is no place in the village where this man and his friends can sit, relax, and chat in peace.    

Fortunately, all they had to do was pick up their chairs and carry them to this perfectly natural park at the edge of the village. In that sense, village life beats city living, any day.

This is my entry in @juliank’s Portrait Photography contest.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 13:56:53
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 512.36/800.00
Total Photos: 58
Total comments: 92
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This man has pleasant appearance.
And his clothes are clean and ironed...

Yes, I noticed that too. One might expect them to have rather shabby or dirty clothes, but this man is proudly dressed in his finery!

An excellent way out from the situation when there is not enough room in the room. I perfectly understand these gentlemen. Good luck to you and Love.

Definitely. We of the developed world's middle class do not realize how fortunate we are just to live in comfortable homes with many different rooms ... let alone all the utilities and high-tech gadgets.

While we live in 8-room homes of 70-100 square meters, these people would be thrilled to live in a 3-room home of 20 sq. m.

What a funny face, half smile half grumpy!

Really!!! I remember that when I first approached these men and asked if I could take their photo, I was a bit hesitant ... because of their grumpy faces. But they turned out to be very friendly and polite.

It just proves the point that the most interesting people have multiple personality traits. ☺ :-(

I am amazed dear how you explained everything here.
first you defined the structure of their home in very negative sense but then, you diverted your words towards positiveness.. Village life is really amazing but living in such a home...is not definitely not..
By the way, you have superb writing skills. @fitinfun told me to follow you if I want to improve my english. Well, she was quite right

Thanks for the compliment. I've spent a long time reading, studying, teaching, and writing, so I've learned a few things about how to write well. It takes diligence and effort.

I hope you too can learn to write well. Read lots, write lots, then rewrite until it sounds better and better.
Good luck, and cheers!

Also, I try to avoid negativity. I'll report facts that some people might interpret to be negative, but that is never my intention. I look for the positive aspects, and prefer to focus on them.

That's very good to hear dear.
Thanks for advice, I will try to follow it completely.

I got the impression that I read the paragraph from the book. You can write beautiful and interesting stories.

Thanks for the praise.

When I joined Steemit, I read a comment somewhere that it was a blogging and publishing platform. I realize that all my posts will be published and permanently recorded on the blockchain ... so I want to make every post clear, readable, interesting, and informative. If, as you say, my writing is also "beautiful," I am thrilled to hear that from you.

Thanks!

I like that you put your soul into every paragraph!
Thank you too.

Home is where you sit with friends.

I really like this way of defining the comfort place...!

A home should not have a specific form or meaning..! It can be anywhere where u can comfy urself..! Nd being with friends is always the best thing to enjoy...!!! 🙌

~ Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

True. Your home can be here, there, or anywhere. So... make yourself at home!

xactly..! :)

The hectic city living might envious of these kind of village lifestyle, or not...

Good point. There's benefits and disadvantages to both. I wrote about only the advantages to village life. ☺

I supposed because you like the village life more?

In my 20s and 30s, I liked city life, but as I grew older, I find that village life can be much more pleasant.

That is true, in fact it's true to me too. I need to be with the nature, it makes me feel peace and calm.

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007 & @boostupvote

Keep it up!
All the best!

Send 0.100 SBD/steem For resteem over 4400+ followers / send 0.200 SBD/steem resteem over 10,500+ Follwers Send your link in memo ! @boostupvote Attached !

An interesting story about the daily life of your compatriots. And a great photo for the contest! I wish you luck. And I really like the warmth and richness of the greenery of your land. We are already tired of the white winter days. My dream is to finally put my warm scarves and coats in the closet, put on a light dress and enjoy the warm weather, the smell of flowers and birds singing. I dream of summer days!

Glad you like the story. Thanks for the compliment and the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47