The 2016 Porcupine Freedom Festival

in #porcfest8 years ago

porcfestdf0f2.jpg

For almost three years, I've been trying to convince @corinnestokes to take a trip to PorcFest. Finally, in June of this year, we rounded up the kids (we have three), and made the ~20 hour drive (split over four days) to Roger's Campground in Lancaster, NH for the Free State Project's 13th Annual Porcupine Freedom Festival.

The Drive

mapefdad.png

The drive, though long, had an amazing view.

drive1bc684.png

drive2eedb0.png

drive3dde70.png

My friends describe PorcFest as a glimpse into another world where people respect eachother on a level seldom experienced anywhere else. I finally understand what they mean.

I'll never forget going through this bridge because it seemed like I was entering through a portal where the other side would lead to freedom and a voluntary society I had only previously imagined. I was not disappointed.

bridge89cc5.png

The Campsite

When we finally arrived, the venue was incredible. It's a week long camping event with most everything outside. Though it rained one of the days, for the most part the weather was beautiful.

panaramdcb1f.png

I liked how the registration involved getting a bracelet and a magnet for the car (the featured image for this post). Even the kids got snap on bracelets and magnet pins which said something along the lines of "free range child" so parents would know the kids had permission to be wandering around without supervision.

bracelet37672.png

We set up camp, and the first morning I actually tried to get some work done. That morning it was pretty damn cold, compared to the south.

workingd989d.png

As the week went on, I attended some excellent lectures, met some amazing people, and the kids had a ton of fun. It's hard to describe what it's like meeting people at PorcFest. You can jump write into very deep philosophical discussions about government, authority, economics, or psychology. In some ways, you feel like you're hanging out with a bunch of adults, for the first time every, and they are all completely awake whereas everyone else up to that point has been asleep. You feel at home.

The Kids

Our kids also had an amazing time making new friends and wearing themselves out.

kids_playing56ba7.png

sleeping_kiddo5ec85.png

The kids' activities were fantastic all week and the two oldest built their own checkers game they still play with today. There were so many cool things for them to do.

checkers94b5c.png

My son spent most of the week running around with some new friends, hitting the pool, and, on one occasion, getting into trouble. I won't embarrass him here, but I will say he and two buddies had to do some trash cleanup at the campsite on Sunday morning.

The Lectures

The lectures were fantastic, and I don't plan on summarizing them all here, but I will highlight a few things which stand out in my memory.

Hearing Lyn Ulbricht in person tell the story of her son Ross and how completely screwed up the United States Justice system is really got me fired up. The things done to Ross make me sick. Visit https://freeross.org to learn more.

Lyn_Ulbricht16166.png

One of the neatest highlights was meeting Bernard von NotHaus, the inventor of the Liberty Dollar.

Bernard_von_NotHausefb05.png

If you're not familiar with his story or that of the Liberty Dollar, I highly recommend learning about it. During his talk at ProcFest, he told a wonderful story about how he learned Satoshi Nakamoto had been influenced by his work when creating Bitcoin. He brought with him a case showing all the various Liberty Dollars which he created.

liberty_dollard81dd.png

The always well dressed Jeffrey Tucker gave an amazing series of lectures. In one, he quoted a very old economics textbook about the eugenics program of those in power at the time who planned to use economic models and minimum wage systems to eliminate "undesirables" and prevent the "mongrelization of the races." It was eye-opening and a bit sickening to see what the original intentions were of the failed government social programs we have today.

Jefferey_Tucker3b9e6.png

I didn't even realize my friend @kenj took this picture until he tweeted it later (all other photos are from my phone--sorry, I'm not a photographer like my wife). I was having a fun discussion about the emergent properties of large groups of human beings, something, IMO, the liberty movement should address if we want to be taken more seriously by intellectuals and culture shapers / policy makers.

Jefferey_and_Luke7427e.png

Hanging with Larken Rose

I didn't get a picture with @larkenrose at "his rock" at PorcFest (though you can find videos and pictures of him there from 2015). Hanging with him for almost a whole day was probably the top highlight for me. We had so many interesting conversations ranging from free will, determinism, artificial intelligence, simulation hypothesis, quantum theory, religion, parenting, education, emergent properties, and so much more. Of course, we talked about the standard Voluntaryism stuff too. Many people throw around the "guru" term too loosely, but I feel it's completely justified regarding Larken Rose. He is a guru, and someone I was privileged to hang out with and even get to know a bit.

Are you coming to New Hampshire?

My post on PorcFest wouldn't be complete without including a blurry picture of the porcupine made of wood and sticks which was submitted to the flames on the last night of the event.

burn694d8.png

There's so much more I could talk about ranging from the great friends we made, to spending bitcoin every day at Agora Valley for food and beer, to my bottomless mug of root beer, to my first ever inhalation of a certain vaporized plant substance, to interesting philosophical debates, to the results of free-range parenting for a week... but I'll end it here and just say, if you have a chance to attend PorcFest, I highly recommend going. Hopefully it won't take you three years to convince your spouse. :)

LukeStokes01712.png

Sort:  

Great stuff, Luke! Really enjoyed reading this as I have been curious about PorcFest for a long time now. Keep up the good work, and thanks for letting us in to your slice of life!

Glad you enjoyed it! I already asked on Facebook, but I'm curious, is there something similar in Japan? I think there should be PorcFests in every city. Eventually, it should just become how everyone lives. Well, the freedom part, maybe not the tents. :)

Great post! My wife and I were there too! PorcFest is my favorite event every year, and every PorcFest is life-changing for me.

Thanks Mike. I really, really enjoyed it. I've heard that same comment ("life-changing") from many people. It really is a great event.

Ack! I didn't even think about checking out some of the covered bridges while we were driving up there. Excellent pics.

Tony! Glad to see you posting here. :) I'm looking forward to some Center for a Stateless Society content in the future.

Great post! I think I can convince my boyfriend to do it instantly considering we love these type of festivals!

Nice. Yeah, it's not really a tough sell, IMO. :)

We had a blast. I hope we can go back again some day.

This is just awesome to see!
I'd actually did a report/speech on the Free State Project a looooong time ago, back when they were still in the planning stages. I'm stoked to see they've continued and having the porcfest!

Did they ever relocate a group of people to a low population state? I've not followed for a long time.

Yes, they reached their initial goal and many of the people I talked to there did actually move to New Hampshire.

Awesome! I'll have to keep them on my radar again.
It's been so long, last time I'd followed they were looking towards Delaware!

Thanks for bringing the Free State Project back to my attention again.

While I didn't attend this year, PorcFest 2015 was one of the most transformative experiences of my life. I'm so glad I moved to NH for the Free State Project... hope to see you and @corinnestokes back here soon! Holler if you're ever near Manchester :)

Thank you! I hope she'll be up for going again. Maybe she'll build enough relationships on Steemit to want to visit all those people IRL at the next PorcFest. :)

Porcupines & Freedom! :)

I do like Jeffrey Tucker, and he gives awesome speeches. I see you have the photographey eye in your first 5 pictures.
I had a thought at the end of your post, and that is even thou I have brought many things with BTC while out, I have never done Pissed-drunk. ^_^ I will have to have worthless fiat on me that.

I see you have the photographey eye in your first 5 pictures.

Thanks :)

ha! i got a photo credit :) thanks Luke, glad you enjoyed it. Maybe in the future we will all ride up together

Thanks Ken! Sorry I'll miss tomorrow's meet up. Hopefully in the future we can get a whole caravan driving up together. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54