Showing Empathy And Concern

in #popcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for #popcontest by @karenmckersie. Thank you for such opportunity!

My husband told me few days ago that our son who is now 2.5 years old showed him concern by going very near to his face and ask: Are you okay? I was amazed and yet didn't fully believe him until today. Our son, Levi was playing on the bed with me near him when he accidentally pushed a toy bear off the bed and he said, "Oh no, Tenderheart(the name of that bear)! " Next thing I knew, he quickly came down the bed and went to the bear. He touched Tenderheart and asked, "Tenderheart, are you okay?" AWWWWWWW...I was there to witness the whole incident this time. HE HAS LEARNT TO SHOW CONCERN AND EMPATHY!

IMG_20180124_165051.jpg

Okay, maybe it sounds just like anything we would learn as we grow up. To me, it is an important thing to learn, very important indeed. It is the very attitude when we would consider others as important as ourselves, maybe sometimes more important too, the ability to show understanding and put ourselves into other's shoes.

IMG_20180124_163823.jpg
Image Source: Merriam Webster Online Dictionary

Why was I so excited when Levi showed it? Because he has been pushing some of his peers away when he felt his security is "compromised" and hasn't been too nice. However I know he is learning and he is young. To see him exhibit a little bit of empathy, that is very touching for me as his mom.

Are you okay?

How Do We Learn about Empathy?

people-2582878_1280.jpg
Image Source: Pixabay

Honestly, I can't exactly remember how did I learn that. Maybe it was from my parents. I was also thinking how did Levi learn it. He was out in the room playing by himself while I quickly used the ladies when I heard some louder sound. The first thing I asked him was: Are you okay? Then I got it, he could have learnt it from me though I'm not the kindest person in the world 😛 Children picks up and loves to mimic what the parents or adults around them, hence they are like sponges at this phase to absorb ANYTHING (GOOD AND BAD). We can also learn this attribute from educational teaching, from school or faith values of any religion or relationships.

I do remember when I felt a strong empathy for the first time. It was when I was 7 years old, I saw an old woman walking by the roadside when I was in the car. I felt my heart swelling and it made me want to cry, which I couldn't comprehend back then why. It made me feel like I wanted to help her or I didn't like it seeing her "suffering". Since then, I realize I have a soft heart for the elderly(maybe also because I was raised and taken care by my grandparents when my parents were at work) . I have visited old folks home to pray with them and I would be the one ended up crying when they were not. I have learnt that I may have a sensitive heart, a heart that can feel emotions from others easily. Perhaps it is the discernment of hearts.

Treat others as you want them to treat you. This is what the Law and the Prophets are all about. Matthew 7:12 (CEV)

Challenges of Learning Empathy

teddy-teddy-bear-association-ill-42230.jpeg
Image Source: Pexels

As I grow up, I tried to practise this empathy on as many people as I can. I don't succeed all the time as I also had to learn to manage mood-swings. Because I'm sensitive, to one extreme it can be sensitive to others' needs but to another it can be me being sensitive to others' words or motives too. ( Here is a good post about how to handle offense!) Sometimes, I could feel helpless that even if I sense something and want to help,
I do not have the means to do it, such as the financial ability or what can I do to help the elderly feel better? I have felt disappointed by betrayals, thinking why others can't put themselves in my shoes when I try my best to put myself in theirs. The hurts have made me shun off the heart of empathy and became defensive.

This took a turn when God came in to show me that my sensitive heart can be used by Him to let others feel His heart for them. When this is "activated", I would know because my heart would feel differently, suddenly it is much bigger and it is as if beating with a stronger heartbeat. Gradually, I opened up this part of me again as I learn that being kind and empathetic is a powerful thing to do. I don't do it because I have to, but because I can. Maybe some of you are like me too, hurt by betrayals of closed ones before but when a greater empathy sets in, all the hurts may fade away, eventually if not immediately . It is okay to acknowledge hurts but do not let hurts lead you. There is a greater good, and you and I are meant for that! 💪

When a greater empathy sets in, all the hurts may fade away, eventually if not immediately.

Let's Put Ourselves in Others' Shoes

photo-1461532257246-777de18cd58b.jpeg
Image Source: Unsplash

Especially when I'm tired and sleep-deprived, that is the honestly the hardest time for me to be empathetic. I am usually quite harsh when I'm in that state. Now, I will try my best to remind myself that if I don't try to exercise faith to be empathetic, someone may still have to go home depressed and we never know what could happen to that person. Sometimes, we may undermine our words and actions. It can be just that one small thing to do to turn someone's lives around. It is not us being noble but perhaps it is just us using a capacity that is set within us to encourage and pick up. I want to see my children be a sensitive and not selfish generation, even in the midst of this self-centered world which has conspiracy. We are not being naive to be nice and exploited, but we be empathetic because we can. You and I can make this world a better place, by pushing ourselves a bit more than what we can usually do. There are so much good in us that the world is waiting to receive!

Lastly, today I want to encourage all of us including myself to try our best to be empathetic and play our parts in the society, in the world! The Force is strong within us, people! I still relapse into being a "cold-blooded" human being most of the time, but empathy is one of my life goals Hehehehe.

I think we all have empathy. We may not have enough courage to display it. ~Maya Angelou

Source

Great day ahead, everyone!

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif


APP.png

Sort:  

First, your son looks so lovely! Such a bright, young and empathetic kid. Second, thanks for sharing on this topic of empathy which I personally feel is not being highlighted enough. Most people often confused between empathy and sympathy which are 2 completely different things. And one can only show empathy by being genuine

Hey @karinzdailygrind thank you for the compliment for my son! :) yeah empathy and sympathy are totally two different attributes. The first can be shown in both positive and negative situations while sympathy comes when something bad might have happened and maybe pity is involved. Oh well that's another topic for another day, haha! 😂

Thanks for your post. What do think is the difference between empathy and compassion?

Hi @mineopoly :) I think compassion is something even stronger, to feel as the person feels while empathy gives understanding and lending a helping hand etc. To me, they are two sides of a same coin, the coin called altruism. So actually, my post may have stated both, but more on empathy. I think people with stronger emotions can exercise compassion more, whereas anyone and everyone (including my 2-yr-old who may not know what compassion is to feel as others do) can show empathy, even if one want to deem him or herself the "non-emotional" type. This is just merely my opinion, can be wrong Hehe.

Thanks for taking your time to respond. There is an innocence in the young kids that is like gold.

Wow ! Great post @happycrazycon ! Empathy is a powerful thing ! I like this part you said ( "I don't do it because I have to, but because I can." ) Thanks so much for sharing this with us in my #popcontest ! upped and resteemed ! Good luck !👍👌✌💕😀

Hey @karenmckersie. Thanks for noticing my post in such a short time! :)

Your welcome !😀

How much more effective would our communication be when we master that true meaning of empathy you so gracefully explained? I'm sure this will make a huge difference not only in communication, but also in the bonding and connection we have among each other.

Hey @nuridin :) thank you for dropping by and your kind reply. Yeah the idea is to connect more effectively!

@happycrazycon,

Enjoyed your post.

Salutations. JaiChai here. Pleasure to make your acquaintance

RE: Your Post

Empathy and kindness is the only way.

May you and yours be well and loving life today.

Upvoted and calling on @originalworks and @Steem-untalented upvotes for your post.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by happycrazycon from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It's always good to be empathetic. Great post!

Thanks for dropping by @nicuzaharie! :)

So beautifully written! It's true that children are the reflection of their role models, and it's such a special moment to see when what we have sown into our children's lives grow. We can't help but beam with joy, and I believe that's how the Father feels for all His children too, He'll jump for joy and shout "that's my son/daughter right there!" Lots of love to all of you and especially to the charming Levi, may he live his life just like his name, staying connected to the source of love :)

Thank you for dropping by and leaving your beautiful comment too! :) @Alimamasstory indeed, it is a joy to see him starting off something like this in his life!

Such a sweet boy. He definitely learns it from both of you. Keep it up, mom. My daughter was like that when she was at that age. Now she would write a card to cheer someone up or pray for them everyday till they are okay. It's amazing to see it. Makes me feel like I don't deserve the credit of teaching her those values.

Thanks for your compliments @coloriniship! :) wow, your girl is something, encouraging others at her age is a result of your parenting, I'm sure! These are going to be her core values, you must be doing something right. I'm sure she encouraged you all the way during your recovery and what a blessing you have right there! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45