The Power Of Having A Positive Mind

in #popcontest7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

So I grow up in the slums of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, and life wasn't easy at times living in an extended family where sometimes rations for the day where really limited. Just had enough to get by.

I realised at an early age, that I wasn't as fortunate and that life seemed very unfair sometimes.

But there was a solid virtue that lingered within, that existed in my family, that rub very strongly on me growing up. It was about integrity and being kind hearted and positive regardless of circumstance.

My mothers mum, late grand mother, was from a family belonging to wise clan and my late grandpa Sari, was from a warrior tribe, also a former World War II veteran, fought in the war in PNG, South Pacific. And so growing up with this two strong rather conflicting characters, was truly an amazing experience for me.

Grandma had a character of extreme humility and kindness, while Grandpa well, let's just say I enjoyed the war stories very much, but not when he got angry. I guess, effects of the war sometimes made him very violent at times, it was scary when he got mad. 😲

Regardless, grandpa and grandma were both strong willed and full of integrity, and kind hearted when it come to helping others and just staying positive when things seemed very bleak at times.

The wise and warrior characters, I adopted unknowingly from my grannies, was quite confusing for me during my teenage years. I displayed violent behaviour at times when I mingled with the wrong peers, and got myself into alot fights that was life threatening for me.

While at the same time, I only bullied the bullies in school. As I totally disagreed with bullies picking on innocent folks. I felt a strong need towards doing good, but displayed a bit of warrior like behaviour in the process, in what I thought was a fight for justice. But actually, I really didn't know how to control this two seemingly varying characters as an individual, it was so confusing for me in my teen years.

Until then, later in life, is when I really gained self control and developed this characters into a strong willed and cheerful personality. And get called nicknames like "Happy Buddah" or "Mr Smiley" 😁😁..Lol.

I can only be thankful to my beloved late grand parents for moulding me early. Rest In Peace!!

Adopting a positive mindset, as a result had truly transformed my life, I started achieving my short-term goals, made my way through to University against all odds.

Scored myself promotions and special career awards and eventually, getting a well paid job. All this, I can't deny, but attribute to a positive mindset, that has brought me this far in my 33 years of life.

In think there is one thing left to achieve and that is going completely decentralized. Because I believe much of the struggle I have gone through, and all of us for that matter, is a result of a fraudelant Fiat banking system. Not that I am blaming it all on the system entirely, but it's just wrong to benefit of everyone else.

The end game for me is to see my lovely kids grow up in a world they can enjoy life more and I'm sure you would want the same for your loved ones as well.

For me, I'll do what I do best and put positive vibes out to the cosmos, because that's what has really brought me this far. Happy New Year, and yes 2018 will be a positive year for all of us.

I believe in having a positive mindset, but I am just one person, come on. I also believe in a collective positive mindset, that is very powerful and can literally change our reality.

See what happened when we all collectively wished 2018 to be a great year. Steem suddenly picked up. All I am saying is keep putting that positive vibes out. Steem will hit 10K before you know it.

"Smile first and the Unverse will smile back at you" - gsari

Sort:  

I agree with you, being positive is really important, you can get so far by having a positive mindset. You can be a much happier person if yoi don't keep thinking about the negativity in life

I use negativity as a driving force to do positive things. Best year yet to you as well. Cheers

It is good to see people like you on Steemit. There is too much negative in the world today. I hope you have the best year yet. Thank you for posting this reminder to stay positive.

Thanks @givonwayne. The best year yet to you as well. Cheers

Great post and entry into my #popcontest @gsari ! A great saying at the end "Smile and the Universe Smiles with You !! " Well done ! upped and resteemed , Good Luck my friend in all that you do !👌👍💕✌

Your very welcome ! my guest judge is going have a tough time this week !! 😊👍✌💕

Haha!😁 I guess, I joined the contest, when things have gotten abit creative in popcontext. Should be a good contest..🎉✌😁. Good idea starting this comp, it really got people putting effort in sharing good positive posts. Great stuff. I guess, it matters to smile first and the universe smiling with you. Keep smiling...Cheers

I support you with my resteem service


Your post has been resteemed to my 3300 followers

Resteem a post for free here

Power Resteem Service - The powerhouse for free resteems, paid resteems, random resteems

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

The power of the mind can't be underestimated. Think positive and positive things will happen :)

I hope 2018 is an amazing year for you.

Thanks @somecoolname for dropping by. Oh yeah, 2018 will be rocking year. ✌😁

Good sharing! I believe that everything happens for a reason. It's meant to make you a better person. Although it's hard to keep a positive spirit during hard times, have faith that rainbow always come after storm! Cheers!!

Yep, I would'nt have been the person I am now if it were'nt for lifes experiences. I do also believe there is a reason behind everything, or else everything wouldn't make sense. Thanks for sharing, Cheers!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need a boost? Click me

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57899.97
ETH 3059.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29