Suspicious Poloniex now also offlinesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poloniex7 years ago (edited)

poloniex.jpg

After suddenly and covertly changing the terms of conditions of Poloniex user today, it now seems that Poloniex is completely offline.

Poloniex offline.PNG

Reviewed by itself this news might not be taken as alarming, but given the rumors of insolvency this week that were described in the column below, it is concerning investors.
https://steemit.com/poloniex/@attalis/fears-of-poloniex-insolvency

Today's changes in terms and conditions were strange to say the least. Newsite Merkle noted today:

"The biggest change of all was made to Poloniex’s Arbitration section of the ToS. There have been quite a few rumors circulating regarding the potential insolvency of the Poloniex exchange. According to the new terms, all users trading on the platform waive their right to participate in a class action lawsuit or class-wide arbitration."

This together with the events of last week do not sit well with many investors.

Stay tuned for more updates when available.

Sources:
https://themerkle.com/poloniex-updates-terms-and-conditions-with-some-interesting-changes/

Sort:  

For every Bitcoin held, there was assigned one Bitcoin Cash too. Maybe they took all and are now flying to Cayman Islands? :P

They are the logical islands of choice ;-)

remember guys, do not(!) store coins on exchanges for longer than you need to.

Might be FUD but it is still down. I read somewhere it has to do with weather conditions. Will keep trying. Luckily i got my coins out of there before the fork!

Please let me know your experiences guys. When were you able to trade last? Do you have funds left there?

no position from me there luckily

Pulled out weeks ago. Same gut feeling I had on Zecco ('member them?) before 08 in stock market - pulled out then too and saved my ass. Been looking through your posts and am impressed by newsworthy posts I feel I should have heard about like your post 4 days ago on the BTC ETF.

Thank you. appreciate your comment!

I have a small position there, not much as i moved my funds away from Poloniex, still very annoying.

My only input on BCN is about 300$ and it's all "under maintenance" at Polo. I earlier had a couple of other coins at Polo as well. When the problems with BCN became obvious I sold them off. It's a sad story, I kind of liked Polo's charts, volume and other information it gave about Crypto market in general. But with the experiences like this I think it is / it has been time to move on.

At least the page let me me sign in at the moment. I can see my deposit page and my BCN is still "Temporarily Disabled" just like they have been ever since I bought them months ago. So nothing new on that sense :-(

Exchange page came back after loading a while...

great news. I checked and i can log in now too. Still gonna make sure everything is out of there till the last dime

Hopefully you're in the process of pulling all of your funds out... if not, you should be.

The site is back up and functional...at least functional enough to transfer my current holdings to a wallet successfully.

So glad i bolted from polo weeks ago! Still sad that btc-e has $200 usd of mine...but it could be waaaay worse!

Yeah you are relatively lucky as I am probably. Still hoping it's nothing though!

You do not want to face the wrath of my bunghole!!

Would you like a spatula? For your bunghole?

never leave your money on an exchange :) great post!

no se alarmen socios, por ahy escucho que el mismo que robaron la plataforma de me-coin, es un socio de poloniex, pero eso no es verdad. otros dicen que le robaron, pero yo creo que es que esta aumentando los servidores, por que no esta aguantando la cantidad de volumen. estan cambiando para mejorar.saludos para todos

gracias por esto. lo no sabia. Saludos a ti tambien!

Thanks for posting this article. Linking since mine is similar. I want to get a feel for what everyone is doing next so I can come up with a strategy to put some crypto against the trend.

https://steemit.com/poloniex/@realestatecoach/poloniex-down-or-what-to-do-when-it-is-up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60938.63
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67