The Law of man has lost meaningful righteousness

in #politics7 years ago

Today someone asked me for investment advice and I put up the standard disclaimer instead. We see them here frequently on Steemit under those tags closely related to bitcoin. They are a sad reality and commentary on what the legal system has become.

There are laws against it??? How can you have laws against advise or suggestions? I had someone ask me yesterday which coins might be good to invest in and I just said what I believed to be the best coins over the next few months. Surely it's only if you are charging something for your advice??

Seems logical, but Stalin once famously said show me the man and I will find the crime. Current statutes, ordinances, procedures, etc have several dependencies and clauses that can trip just about anyone up. Something that might be perfectly fine in one jurisdiction can land you in jail in another.

There was this ridiculous law in New York state back in the 1980’s and there was a trick around it that kept me from paying fines. I used to ride this motorcycle…

Screen Shot 2017-12-08 at 5.04.15 PM.png
(1987 Suzuki GSXR 1100)

I was pulled over almost once a week and harassed by badge wearing extortionists and told that my “yellow” lights were illegal. Then I told them that they aren’t yellow, they’re amber. That’s because the law in NYS allows for amber headlights on motorcycles but not yellow. As soon as they heard that they were probably saying to themselves “damn he knows the way out of that charge, we can’t make any money off this one”. Invariably, every time I said those words they let me go.

I had those on there as a courtesy to other drivers because these lights were incredibly bright. I used to get flashed high beams because other motorists assumed I had my high beams on. These laws don’t really exist in nature though. These are man made fictions designed to create control for the parasitic class and most of these don’t really benefit us or improve our lives.

Screen Shot 2017-12-08 at 5.51.11 PM.png
(Google Images - Wikimedia Commons)

I was listening to senator Al Franken’s resignation speech a couple of days ago. I don’t accept any political spin to the left or right because I consider them all irrelevant. But they all seem to suffer from this delusion that they are there to “make our lives better”. Al Franken said he was sad that he wouldn’t get the chance to finish the important work left undone for the people in the future (I read it as if he had said “he was sad that he wouldn’t get the chance to screw up life for everyone else”). I don’t hate Al Franken. I thought he was pretty funny as a comedian. I have no doubt that he really believes what he said, poor deluded souls many of them are.

Government is a zero sum game. Just as government has no money of its own, so too government has no rights of its own. If government gives special privileges to one group of people, it must then necessarily deny those same privileges to another group of people. In short, government can’t help others without hurting someone else. It seems that government by its very existence violates voluntarist principles. I am not certain this is always the case. But if you know of some exception to this, please let me know in the comments below.

These laws are based upon our consent to be governed. We’re you ever asked if you voluntarily consented to be governed? Most likely not. We are now very nearly in a situation where the people have lost the capacity to govern themselves. We’ve been made dependents due to the extreme power of rulers. I call myself a decentrologist because the most powerful tool I have to free myself and others is my software skills.

Bitcoin has provided an opportunity, but it is a dangerous one. Hopefully we take the road away from a digital panopticon by technical disintermediation of authority in its many forms. I’m not suggesting that government shouldn’t exist at all, but I believe the current system is too broken to be fixed. Most likely western government will collapse under the weight of its own inequity within the next few years. Then maybe something like this can emerge in the new world with the consent of everyone who wants to belong.


Donations (public bitcoin address):
donatebitcoin.png
3FwxQsa7gmQ7c1GXJyvDTqmT6CM3mMEgcv


steemit-footer.png


Sort:  

You make some excellent points. I suspect the panopticon is already here, but given current events, seems to be leaning toward the Russian not the Chinese model.

its a good read. thanks for sharing @zoidsoft

Great post about government over-reach! This article was resteemed and included in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Love the Amber headlights story! It reminds me of other stupid rules about headlights. In Europe most luxury cars automatically sense the amount of light and set brightness accordingly. That's illegal in the USA because the regulations require a bright and less bright seeing that can be manually toggled. So the actual choices are less safe than the best practices...

My car senses the incoming and sets to bright or less bright automatically, but has a manual override to comply with the letter of the law. I never touch the settings at all, because it's safer to trust the technology.

It's really crazy. Why trust the anti lock brakes, accelerator, blinkers, airbags, safety features... but not the headlights?. We can trust them to make cars that stop when they're supposed to, but not headlights that dim when they're supposed to?

I really get the feeling that most new regulations are just there for government revenue enhancement at this point. It's no longer about what's right. Just look at all the insane civil asset forfeiture laws on the books now.

I look at the new useless regulations as a way for government to expand itself, while at the same time create new useless jobs, instead of just handing out basic income which would let people dedicate their time to meaningful activities. And quite frankly I find it repulsive. Another aspect of new regulations is that they can be used to cripple competition and manipulate market shares.

Nice information bro, this post help me and all users. thanks for post this idea.

This post has received gratitude of 2.48 % from @appreciator thanks to: @zoidsoft.

This post has received a 13.12 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @zoidsoft

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 0.96 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @zoidsoft.

This post has received a 1.85 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @zoidsoft. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62797.54
ETH 2442.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68