US Second Amendment Thoughts

in #politics6 years ago

steemit118.jpg

I understand the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution affirms the rights of citizens to keep and bear arms and am not here to say whether or not that right should be amended in any way whatsoever. Guns are an inherent part of American culture and many Second Amendment advocates affirm that this Amendment alone has helped preserved the relative stability of the United States as well as preventing authoritarian characters to control our political system.

steemit117.jpg

But... there isn’t anything in the second amendment that limits the lethality or composition of bullets. What I mean is what if cops stopped carrying lethal bullets and strictly rubber rounds? What if a law was passed tomorrow banning all metal based calibers of bullet, except hunting calibers, and gun manufacturers were required to produce guns that fit non-lethal rounds only? There are already a few options available on the market.

steemit120.jpg

steemit121.jpg

I understand lethal rounds will still exist BUT over time as people shoot them off there will be less of them.

I’ve just never heard that side of the discussion; regulating the composition of ammo. I am a gun owner, but derive no source of power or pride in my ownership. It's just there and to be honest I was more interested to see how the process worked (and big surprise, it wasn't hard at all. It was actually easier to purchase a gun (and with less paperwork) than to buy a car. The entire process, from when I walked in the door to walking out with a legally purchased firearm, last about an hour in total and that was because the background check system where I live was slow that day.

I do not claim to know the answer to any of this. And in all honesty, I can not guarantee that if guns were more heavily regulated, or banned altogether, they wouldn't still exist and be used to hurt others. The black markets of this world are powerful forces and determined consumers will ALWAYS find a way around things.

But the argument of regulating ammunition is one that I think is more ripe for debate. I personally do not see why lethal force is ever a good solution to any problem no matter how extreme. If someone was assaulting me, I would want them to stop doing that for sure. But I would much rather have them face a court system for their behaviors than getting shot and killed or maimed in any way. I personally think there isn't much justice in that. I understand how the threat is mitigated, but there are so many other ways to to do that.

So in the end I believe the debate will come to a head soon in the sense that as our technology improves we will be able to create equally forceful but less lethal forms of ammunition in order to mitigate threats instead of the drastic consequences associated with shooting another human being.

I believe we live in a day and age where the technology to create less lethal weaponry is within our grasp and would really like to see some more discussion on this.

Personally, and in the end though, I think there is a much more powerful weapon that can be used to solve problems. Chocolate!

steemit122.jpg

What are your thoughts on this topic? I am especially interested to understand what others outside of the US think about this part of American culture. Needless to say, it is very controversial to discuss here in the States for the most part and most of the time the entire discussion is framed around whether one is "pro second amendment" or not.

I think a time is coming where we are going to have to collectively analyze our issues as a country from an entirely different perspective; hence my intention to take a look at the ammunition side of the debate.

steemit52.png

Thanks for reading this blog everyone. If you like it please upvote and share and follow me if you want to go for the full trifecta! And have a great, and safe, day out there.

Sort:  

An underrated post. Over time, you should do well here. I shall be keeping an eye on your work!

Here in Australia most of my friends and family believe Americans are crazy and irresponsible for allowing civilian firearm ownership.
They point to all the 'gun deaths' as proof.
In India, a lot of people think Australians are crazy for letting people choose their own spouses.
They point to the high divorce rate as proof.
Ultimately, every human freedom sounds irresponsible to those raised without it.

That, my friend, is a tight bit of rhetoric which I may well repeat from time to time...

I love getting quoted. Larken Rose quoted me on facebook the other day, and I was giddy as a schoolgirl :)

Congratulations @polysteemer! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70287.75
ETH 3955.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66