My 'Eureka' Moment: How I Found Self-determination & Freedom in the Age of Corporate PowersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

I recently had a 'eureka moment' which brought me to the blockchain.

For years I fought hard on the digital battlefield for political ideals that I held dearly. I wanted fairness in economics, politics and...well, that's pretty much all that matters at this point, right? I was steeped in the disparity that ravaged my community, a stagnating inner-city decimated by the myopic policy prescriptions of corrupt neoliberal business-owners.

The problems in society run deep and the solutions seemed obvious to me. At the time, Bernie Sanders came to the fore, a name I was familiar with. At the time I was a self-professed political geek, listening to radio shows from the left and the right on a daily basis. I've heard Bernie speak eloquently about these problems we face. He took a no-bullshit plain language approach that speaks directly to the heart of us Nor'Easterners.

I put every single ounce of energy and used what little resources I had to getting this man the Democratic nomination. My social media accounts were converted into Bernie HQs and I spent every single day pushing his populist message while taking swipes at the crooked crone. I saw in real-time that what we were doing was working. But ultimately the reality of the corrupt political system reared its ugly head. No matter how much political activism we did, we were never going to win because the process was rigged from the start.

Now that all of that is said and done we find ourselves falling down a rabbit hole, pushed in by the globalists, multinational corporate interests who so desperately seek to control our minds. I believe that desperation will become their downfall.

Then the light bulb in my head went off. I still have the power to fight back. No matter how many advertising dollars the think-tanks spend, we still have self-determination. We have freedom. The only way we can defeat the centralized power structures is to come to this collective realization.

That's why I'm here, on Steemit. That's why I call myself a Steemian now.

Are you on Gab? Follow me http://gab.ai/nikommen

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Dead Dwarf from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @nikommen, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

this is very good and welcome to steemit... you will find many will agree with your thoughts and why the future for us is bright! People are waking up!!!

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

It’s great to have you on board the Steem ship.

That unique situation, where a whole platform can unite. Only we have to realize that Steem can actually invert the power from the elites and return it back to us - the minute everyone on the planet becomes a holder of at least 1 Steem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61358.50
ETH 3378.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52