My response to @eazyh, and the notion "Democrats Exploit Puerto Rico Victims To Bash Trump!" with a challenge to prove it...

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

This post started off as a comment / response to @easyh, and his assertion that the democrats are somehow responsible for the failures in Puerto Rico - not the Republican President, the Republican controlled House of Representatives, or the Republican controlled Senate - somehow the Democrats are at fault...

Read the @easyh post here:
https://steemit.com/life/@eazyh/democrats-exploit-puerto-rico-victims-to-bash-trump

I obviously disagree and have decided to propose a challenge for him or anyone else who believes the same thing. The following is my reply and the challenge to prove me wrong...

I will respectfully disagree with you on basically every point you make. Unfortunately you appear to be echoing the White House talking points almost perfectly, and it appears you have not done your own homework to really find out the truth of whats going on in Puerto Rico.

Now in the spirit of full disclosure, I have absolutely NO love for our "orange clown in chief", and I have a very hard time relating to people who will support him regardless of overwhelming evidence contrary to their belief in him. Facts are facts, no matter where you are politically, and the apparent "genocide" (as it is being called) in Puerto Rico should not at all be a political issue.

With that being said I would like to propose a challenge to you and anyone else interested. Challenge may not be the best word to use here - but im going with it regardless, and my hope is that I can possibly bridge the gap between what you "know to be true", and what I "know to be true" - maybe even finding common ground... Maybe...

My challenge is this - Provide me with actual verifiable evidence to support the proposition that "Democrats Exploit Puerto Rico Victims To Bash Trump". Show me any genuine accounts, from real people, that either give credit for, or assign blame for the delayed response, and the disaster that followed.

Please no white house talking points, no Shawn Hannity, Rush Limbaugh, Ann Coulter, or Sarah Sanders. I would like for anyone interested to perform their due diligence and dig up real information relating to this crisis, and make an informed determination based on facts, not some talking head who has an agenda that may or may not align with yours.

Now for my part I will do this - I will take any and all information that you provide, and do my due diligence to either confirm or deny its validity with people on the ground in 5 separate locations in Puerto Rico. I have direct contacts in San Juan, Ponce, Aguacate, Mayaguez, and Guayanilla - I visited all of these cities and towns this past July so provided I am able to get through to my friends and family on the island, I should have no trouble getting answers to any questions, or confirmation to any claims being made.

I will do my best to record any phone or Skype call and share them with everyone in a follow up to this post. Maybe if we both take a little time to understand the others viewpoint, and ask the relevant questions, we may just end up with an understanding of the facts neither one of us was expecting...

Thanks for reading and I hope everyone takes an interest in this topic...

MDG...

Sort:  

Thanks... This one hits home and I cant stand to see people "tow the party line" without first getting the facts...

Doesn't the government just get it's ass in gear and send aid along with some folks to help distribute it? I heard there was some aid coming in but it is getting bottlenecked in the ports. Seem pretty simple to me. How are democrats the prob here. First I've heard of this.

You are absolutely right... As far as I can tell, with the information I have (coming directly from San Juan and Ponce), I can say with relative confidence that (and it pains me to say this) the problems in Puerto Rico are not entirely the result of incompetence from our president. Trump's obvious disregard for the people advising him to take preemptive actions, and his blatant contempt for "brown" people in general, undoubtedly played a major part in worsening the crisis - and as much as my dislike for him wishes it so, I can't place all the blame at his feet. "All" and "Entirely" being key words, and relative on their own...
BTW - Thanks for the boost, it is much appreciated...

Turning a disaster like this into a political argument seems to be the worst offence to me. These people are trying to recover. The pic of the mayor wading in the water is not a publicity stunt as they say. It is one picture of many. To think that the mayor of a town, just devastated by a hurricane would forcibly stop aid distribution to citizens in order to make Trump look bad is just ridiculous.
Holy freekin Bajebus!

That truly does show the extremes some will go to in order to "support" Trump. Facts are a mere inconveniences to be dismissed outright - replaced with whatever data seemingly fits the narrative they are attempting to convey. Regardless of how factually incorrect, and outrageous the claim is, you can count on uninformed people to spread the lie(s) and defend them to the bitter end...

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @doctorcrypto

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Resteemed by @steemvote - send only 0.5 SBD to get your post resteemed to 1,8K follower and receive Bonus-Upvotes

This post has received a 2.61 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drdave.

This Post was resteemed by @saadijaz

|| POST RESTEEMED + UPVOTED ||

How to use this service

Introduction Post How to use

Just send 0.050-0.10 SBD NOW

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @doctorcrypto

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44