SPU Poetry Contest #1: A Preoccupied Death

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the new Poets United contest recently posted by @poetrybyjeremy. You can find out more information about this contest here.

This contest gives three prompts to choose from. You are supposed to write a poem based around the prompt. I chose prompt #3.

for life's wind in my head
it refuses to play dead
and keeps resisting the forces of changing

You can find the full poem by @madevi here.

A Preoccupied Death.jpg

Lingering thoughts,
Refuse to vacate the depths of my mind,
Time forces its hands upon me,
Squeezing the life from my bones,
Piercing me with the pain of age,
As death draws closer,
Sending my head into a vicious rage.

Each day brings it near,
The last day is uncertain,
Without life we would not face death,
Its mood is like a foul stench,
One that cannot be covered,
It can only be tamed,
Keeping the mind preoccupied.

Footer2.png

Sort:  

I enjoyed how you said that "it can only be tamed". It's unstoppable and it cannot be covered - we should not be trying to hide it or run away.

Time forces its hands upon me,
Squeezing the life from my bones,
Piercing me with the pain of age,

These lines were intense; I could picture the imagery.

Thanks for this! I love seeing people's thoughts on the inevitability of mortality. In my own life, death and loss has been a great teacher. It is true that we cannot know the value of a thing, or person, until it is subtracted from the sum of our existence. Lovely! Great post! I was just stopping by to say hi, thanks for your recent support, and leave you a little upvote and comment. Stop by for more stories and contests any time! @markrmorrisjr

Thanks @markrmorrisjr for checking in! Yes I will be stopping by soon. Unfortunately our internet is acting up so I haven't been on much to avoid high data costs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32