(EN) A TATTOOED VIKING POEM

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

10534076_10152576229694640_3148491821114633266_n.jpg

photo by Christian Mamoun Sarges

Hello Steemians! Here is an English translation of the poem I have tattooed on my back. It is about poetry, composed in Old Norse, respecting the traditional pace and metaphors, and written in Icelandic Runes. I hope you'll enjoy it. :)

They threw me on the Sea of Beasts
Where I have wandered and fed on wounded shadows,

At night, only enlightened by the moon of my forehead,
My heart weeps, right next to the ruined temple.

I came back from the hail of bows,
And the Big Wave trembles before my furious tongue,
I am Savitar, who drinks the blood of Kvasir,

And I finally hear, hissing, the comfort of snakes.

S.C.R.I.B.E.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by chaosreignstv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh man, this is so hardcore! I once contemplated a tattoo on my ankle but chickened out at the last second haha.

Are they your words? I googled it but couldn't find anything. They've got such an epic sweep to them, I'd be hard pressed to find anything better to commit to skin. The fact it's in icelandic runes just makes it doubly cool.

Hey man! Yeah it hurts ahah, hopefully I was kind of wasted ahah, it's my first and only tattoo, I don't know what happened in my head but I wanted this and nothing else. I wrote the text myself, studying the language with the help of a icelandic friend. I've respected the viking rules of how to write a poem so it has indeed this epic vibe. I'm glad you like it. The head tattoo is a bit painful but convenient, if I have long hair, no one sees it, and if I shave I look bad ass :)

Kudos, it really is magnificent :D

This is so incredibly cool! Not to mention that you wrote the poem yourself! Really awesome! These are strong words full of power, indeed. Really cool that you did!

I want to have a tattoo (or more) too, but I am kind of not sure if I dare to.

Thanks very much @vuds! If I were you, I would not get a tattoo unless it feels like the right thing to do, well, at least that's my conception of it. I felt like the needle was revealing my true nature.

Congratulations @chaosreignstv! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @chaosreignstv! You received a personal award!

Happy Steem Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80