Old and Alone - Poetry Dice Challenge Entry

in #poetrydice6 years ago

For those that don't know, @robyneggs runs a weekly poetry competition using these dice with images on them that serve as prompts.
Here is the latest edition with the following dice:


The setting is a formerly married life transformed into a sad and alone one. Age reveals to an old man that fun and personal gratification lose their luster, and ill choices leave one alone with no one to love or to be loved back.

Old and Alone

Manic.... depression.... is not any fun.
So much rain and not enough sun.

After each shower I look to the skies,
hoping those colors will grace these eyes.

But nothing.

Only gloom.

This wintery blight.
Makes me wonder......?....about wrong....about right.

So I take up my cane,
And walk back....to my house.
Where I sit in silence.
Sans clock .....or mouse.

I eat an old apple.
I iron my clothes.
I play Yahtzee alone.
And arrange these prose.

Till I nod off to sleep;
with an eye on the master.
No need to count sheep.
My life's a disaster.

I'll wake in the morning,
and stare off in space.

Knowing, worse than other,
I've really botched this race.

When I abandoned my loved ones,
Chasing fun for myself.

And not knowing that sacrifice....
CAN BE good for one's health.
fantasy-2861107_640.jpg
Pixabay


There were no families harmed in the making of this poem. It is merely how the dice transformed into this prose.

But remember out there, you ballers and bros....
better care for yo family
and ditch the booze and ho's.

Thx

Sort:  

Wow. Yeah. This is actually probably more real and common than some people realize. I am hessitant to ask if or how much real life inspired this?

Nicely done! Thanks for sharing!

Wooow, those words were deliciously prepared. I have to say, I enjoyed every bit of it. Its a nice poem and thanks for sharing @public-eye

I noticed your comment on one of my posts and felt the need to set the record straight:
My comment might not have been very specific to your poem but I never comment on a post without understanding or at least reading it first. I might be new on this platform but I am definitely not desperate. I do my own thing the best I can and hope for the best in return.
From what I gathered, the theme of your poem was centered around a life of regret and loneliness that has resulted from the neglect of one's relations in the past, I stand to be corrected though. And personally, I thought that the author had put the words beautifully together to convey the message. That's why I left that comment behind.
Thanks for your tips anyway, I believe we all learn something new each day we spend on this platform.

Thank you SOOO much for your comments and the clarification! I appreciate it truly!

Hope you are well!
Thx

Yeah, I am doing great. How is it going at your end?

Thank you for this entry.

Man... this is really good. A harrowing reflection for many I am sure!

Great advice at the end... after quite a heavy piece it brought a smile to my face and made me laugh :)

Great work and wishing you luck!

If you fancy reading mine feel free, the link is below!

Keep up the great work!!

--> Everything Transforms

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51