Poetry Dice Entry: Everything Transforms

in #poetrydice7 years ago

Everything Transforms.

We all wear masks.
When we realize this,
And begin finding the courage to take the masks off…
This is when we begin to truly transform.
You see the whole time you keep the mask on,
Covering up who you are,
You are just like the sheep…
You follow the herd.
You go with the grain,
And your voice is never heard.
Why not try re-rolling the dice of life and try something new.
Try your best to just be…
You.
Because there’s a big question mark behind that too…
It follows the big life question of…
Who…
Are..
You?
Sunlight can transform rain into something visually spectacular.
Even on the greyest of days, rainbows can chase the sadness away.
They transform the scene just by simply being present.
They are a present.
A gift.
If you remove your mask you may be surprised at the true beauty that lies beneath when you finally look in the mirror and begin to see who you truly are.
When you give yourself the gift of being seen.
See most people are just sleeping.
Seemingly peacefully slumbering as they fumble through life,
Dependent upon the walking stick that is their ego to lean on,
To help get them through each day.
Letting their ego be the one to tell them what to do or what to say.
No calculator can really calculate the damage that we do to ourselves in this way.
Lies,
Made-up stories,
Self-sabotage,
Self-abuse,
Self-doubt.
The damage we do to ourselves is absurd.
We have to try our best to break free from just…
Following the herd.
Seriously.
Don’t follow the herd.
Because you have your own path to walk.
Apples will always fall to the ground.
So it follows that,
Sometimes we will all fall down.
But apples always get picked up again too.
Go back in time a little.
Those apples transformed from a seed,
We know this is true.
From a seed,
To a tree,
To a flower,
And eventually,
They transform into you.
Everything changes.
Energy only ever changes form.
The fruits that you eat become the body you inhabit.
So form good habits.
Look after yourself well.
Love yourself.
Care for yourself.
Only then may you truly care for others,
And be part of the transformations in their lives too,
As they see the beauty that shines in your eyes,
And are reminded to remove their mask,
So they can finally enjoy the view.

===

My entry to the #poetrydice contest. Thanks so much to @robyneggs and @rensoul17 for creating this awesome contest and getting me inspired to write something completely different that I would never have come up with otherwise!

If you want to take part in this too then go check out the original post HERE.

Thanks for reading!

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Sort:  

I quite like the image of the ego as a walking stick ... in our youth it certainly can bolster us up but as we age the walking stick gets shorter and we find ourselves bent over and crooked. Best not to become dependent on it. Great write, Hart.

Thank you so much for reading and commenting... Yeah it can be useful at times, especially in earlier life, but more often than not in adult life becomes our biggest hinderance.

Definitely don't wanna be bent over and crooked myself!

Thanks so much for your insight, I appreciate you reading and commenting <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

It was my pleasure, Hart. I have some haiku on my blog. I invite you over:)

Such a beautiful piece... I'm glad to see you picked up the poetry dice challenge. It is so important to remove the masks, it took me many years to show my bare face. I'll never go back! Beautiful poetry.

Ah Im so glad to hear you've removed your own mask - we all wear them - we all try to hide or deny who we truly are! But... it's time to reveal the beauty behind each of our masks :)

Love you sister and so grateful for your continued support, reading and comments <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Yes! Life without a mask is a very different life. To be your genuine self to be able to write freely and share without censorship is priceless.

It really is! I am so glad we are both there ;) Thanks always for your ongoing support and friendship! You rock <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

My pleasure! I support you! Thank you for your kindness.

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

I liked this. There is so much potential to this, that I feel, may have gotten lost in the words. There are a lot of words that try to explain your message when the images speak so well on their own. Good job nonetheless. It takes talent to use all those prompts and convey them in a structured way that makes sense.

Thank you very much! Yeah it was a new thing for me, weaving all these prompts together with a theme... but I had fun doing it and still, it flowed pretty easily.

I really appreciate your constructive feedback - A recurring theme in my creative endeavors is that I tend to add too much in and then find it hard to go back and slim it down.

I feel a part of the art of any creative endeavor is often to deliver the message using the least amount of words / brush strokes / music notes etc as possible... to make it easier to hear!

I'll keep working on that :)

Thanks for taking the time to read and let me know your thoughts, I really appreciate it :)

With love
Hart Floe
<3

I had a very similar problem recently. I am so used to academic writing and having a page full of words, that my poetry was similar to this. When I went back to edit previous poetry (just a few months back), I found myself cutting off stanzas at once go, because they were saying nothing new, and just diluting the emotional content.

Especially in poetry, less can be more. And yeah, my first time at this prompt, I was so confused and disheartened! Then, I won with my second try! Amongst many other poets who have been writing for a longer period! So, I am sure you can get there as well ;)

Thanks for your belief brother! I appreciate it and it goes a long way :)

Less is more - that's definitely an art form in itself! Being willing to let go of stuff you've written or created in any sense can definitely be difficult, but a valuable skill to hone!

Thanks again for reading and adding your valuable insights :)

With love
Hart Floe
<3

this is so amazing. what a nice piece. :)

Awww thanks! I'm really happy you came here to read it and enjoyed it too... thank you!!! <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Love it. Glad you entered!

Aww thanks man! I appreciate you reading and commenting... I'm really glad you enjoyed it! I look forward to reading more from you too! Yours was definite a fav of mine... and I read all of them in the end!

Thanks again my friend :)

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Great entry this week!

Thank you for checking it out and hope you enjoyed it :) Will be sure to enter in future contests too! Love this community and feel honored to be a part of it <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Hmmn! To discover your true self try taking off the mask. I like the flow!!!

Yeah... it's important life work we all have to do... because we all learn to put on masks and hide who we really are from a young age! Time to change that :)

Thanks a lot for reading and commenting... means a lot! <3

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Nicely done! I really enjoyed your dice rendition!

Good luck!

Thank you my friend! I really appreciate you taking the time to come here, read and comment!

Hope you won't be a stranger :)

With love
Hart Floe
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56