A Walk in the Forest

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)


I walk in the darkness.
The only light here is
the moon casting shadows,
both evil and beautiful,
through the denseness of
the imposing trees.
I move swiftly like an arrow
driven to an archers prey,
questioning each footfall
as my steps chase the end;
an escape from this place.
Wait! What is this? Ahead in
a patch of luminance, my eyes
are drawn to a single flower
on the forest floor. She, for
surely with such grace and
poise she must be a she, stands
proud, a low tower of beauty
shocking back the darkness.
file2.jpg
IMAGE SOURCE
I am attracted to her and at
once my journey seems less
terrifying. I stare at her for
several moments, saving her
to my soul before I travel
onward, tranquil and reserved.

Sort:  

Very nice poem friend.

I like your poem @japhofin8or! Thanks for your entry to Poetry Dice 3000!

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out about it here where there is also a poetry dice challenge!

Thank you. I appreciate that.

I could really picture the scene you painted with your words in my imagination. I could just see that figure suddenly pausing and being totally entranced by this beautiful flower. thanks for sharing, I enjoyed it!

Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Such a nice piece. It is really soothing and flawless. Thanks for calming me down this morning with such touching words.Hope to hear more from you.

I really appreciate authentic posts like this and I look forward to seeing more of your content in the future. I think you’d really enjoy a recent post of mine...take a quick read and let me know what you think - https://steemit.com/life/@tayken/this-is-my-life-via-gifs
Oh, and remember, be yourself, because nobody else does it better -- Full #Steem ahead :)

Much ❤
@Tayken

Great post. Unique, creative, and personal without being overly specific. The animated GIFs are perfect for the stages. Excellent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67