"SteemitPoetryContest #6:steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrycontest7 years ago (edited)

I have been enjoying writing different poetries while here on steemit - it is something that I can do to rest my mind after a long day of project management or sustainable development - or whatever it is I do all day!

So I actively latch onto different fun challenges here - and this is one of them. Three quatrains of any scheme about hero or heroes.

bronze-sculpture-939770_1280.jpg
Greek heroes have great abs

Here it goes!

In all of life, across all time,
the epic power of verse and rhyme
has been spent on those who've climbed
to the peak of all humanity

Songs have been sung, fools laid to rest,
even those who've tried their best,
eventually die their three deaths
and fade out from existence.

Only the heroes, truth be told,
live on forever, enshrined in gold,
their stories spoken by young and old -
they'll never truly die.


Thanks for stopping by - wish me a hero's luck in the Poetry Contest #6, and check out @chrisroberts Revenge of the Words Poetry Contest - I submitted something there I will not be posting on my blog - but it may be the poem that has made me laugh more than any other I have ever written! It is based on real events - and real frustration - but perhaps exaggerated in parts ;p

Love and Light to All!

Sort:  

Your poem in @chrisrobert's contest is AMAZING.

I read it out loud and we laughed and laughed.😂🤣😂
And now I feel I need to write the one floating around my brain about our neighbors....
But know, you have it much worse with fireworks! 😳

Also, this poem is great! What are these three deaths you speak of???

Thank you! My brain is like that too! I get motivated and things come out of it!

The three deaths of a person is some thing philosophical I heard once, although I found that link as the top result searching google, my brain remembers - 1 - actual death - 2 - the death of the last person that can conjure your memory - and 3 - the last time the name is spoken.

For example, I can remember my grandfather in actual memory, which is a certain kind of life for him, but I only know George Washington's name, which is a lesser kind of 'life'.

Carrie and I are thrilled that with our combined powers we could reward this post a tenth of a dollar!! LOL we've come a long way.

Thanks for the contest shoutout!

As for your poem... it's awesome. Reminds me of some of the songs in Tolkien. I'll bet it's just the kind of thing he's looking for.

Can you elaborate on the three deaths? I'm super intrigued, and I feel like I should know what you're talking about.

I have friends that comment on my poetry!!!!

Explained above, I'm happy to reveal a new philosophical factoid to you!

By your powers combined - I am Happy Camper!
captainplanet.gif

Carrie's sitting right next to me, but we just realized we both asked you about the three deaths... Crazy.

that is an awesome poem ! Perfect rhyming and perfect construction of thought ! Brings to mind great people from all the ages gone by. Love it , @ecoinstant . I am a big fan of poems :)

Thank you Neha! Great to hear from you ;p I'm going to go see what you've been up too.

My pleasure and my honour 😊😊.

I like it a lot. Although my upvote is not worth much, I hit you at 100%. Now I'm worried it is better than my poem for the contest. It's all good though. Competition is good.

Thank you very much John, I know how valuable a 100%er is, I'm trying desperately to get my voting power up again, but I keep seeing things that I want to upvote!

Thanks for stopping in - Yours was the first poem from the contest I read - thank you for being such a hero ;)

YOU amaze me every day!

You are pretty amazing yourself!

Good job! Thanks to @dearjyoce you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14371.61. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

@ecoinstant dear you are good in everything not just selfie lol. More poems please!

I think I am the only one not hitting the great rhymes here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44